We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Santorini” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Astarte Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Astarte Suites to your Saves list
Astarte Suites
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Caldera | Akrotiri, Akrotiri 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Akrotiri B&B and Inns
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
“Best hotel in Santorini”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is the most amazing hotel I've ever been.And believe me,I've been all over the world.That part of Santorini is quiet and is best for couples!The interior and everything is pretty awesome.The brothers are nice,helpful and friendly!I recommend this hotel to everybody.It's totally worth it!Greetings from Bulgaria!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    13
    1
    5
    1
See reviews for
4
191
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

1. I love the Location: Astarte is at the other end of the island which basically means peace, quiet and a whole lot of space. Akrotiri is close to a lot of interesting places like the red beach (a must-you have to brave the trek though), Akrotiri historical site, the black beach and basically all the nice beaches are really close.
2. I love the service/hospitality: Everyone at Astarte is simply amazing. From George, Kostas, their father and mother, Xarkos. Everyone of these people love Astarte and want all their guests to fall in love with astarte as well. So service and hospitality will not disappoint you.
3. I love the room: We started in the astarte suite and it was SWEET! The bed was comfortable, the indoor Jacuzzi kept us warm during the breezy evenings, the dip pool by our veranda was great for the day and the day bed allowed us to watch movies and sleep under the stars at night. The room is just magical.
4. I love the people: I will say again, the level of dedication to service and excellence of everyone is better than any five star hotel we've ever stayed, it's just genuine.
5. I love the recommendations: Ask George about places to go and things to do and he will give you the Perfect recommendation for whatever you are in the mood for that day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

My fiancé and I stayed in this amazing little piece of paradise end of July 2012 for 9 nights and had an absolutely wonderful time. It was our first time on the island and we were more then happy with our choice of hotel.
It is in a stunning and very peaceful location away from all the tourists. Perfect for a proper holiday break with unbelievable views that you enjoy from the comfort of your own balcony and the most amazing pool side, which looks like something out of a dream. In fact everything about this place is like something out of a dream, it really exceeded our expectations.

The hotel staff were extremely welcoming making us feel at home with their warm and wonderful service. They really enriched our stay in Santorini and went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and truly enjoy our stay on the island.
The Rooms were immaculately clean and room service wonderful.
Food was beyond delicious and five star rated in our opinion. Everything on the menu was just amazing especial the dessert we order 3 times called Bannofy.

We would absolutely love and hope to, one day return to this wonderful hotel and island. It’s needless to say more, we truly had the time of our lives.

To the entire staff once again a big thank-you for our experience and we would rate this hotel a 10 out of 5 if we could, so definitely recommended if you are after your own little sanctuary with first class service with the warm and homey feeling.

Olja and Sash

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Thanks to the trip advisor reviews with such high remarks and positive comments, we were convinced that Astarte Suites was the hotel for us. But we were more than surprised and equally as impressed by the facility and the treatment we received from the moment we arrived. This family of owners takes great pride in your comfort and ensuring your needs are met, before you even realize you need something.

Upon arrival, once you figure out that the hotel is perched over the edge of the cliff and has unmatched and uninterrupted views of the caldera, you proceed down the steps to a warm greeting by George or Kostas as if you are a member of the family.

Our room was one of the new suites, with great modern touches and Greek style. But we couldn't wait to get to the pool and just soak in the sun and fresh air. Little did we know what a great poolside meal of Baked Feta and Tomato Balls we'd have sitting peacefully poolside before a quick discussion with Kostas, who with one flick of his magic wand had coordinated our rental car delivery and restaurant reservation for the evening. Truly like magic.

We had great food on the island, but nothing was better than what we had at Astarte - breakfast, lunch (by the pool) and dinner. They had shown us upon arrival that it was possible to access a private beach below the hotel with a bit of a steep hike. I think that if they could, they would have carried us down on their backs if it made us happy. Lucky for them we are adventurous and hiked down one afternoon (without assistance) and enjoyed the beach and a swim all alone. They should consider access to the private beach a feature of the hotel!

There really is no reason to leave the hotel, but if you do - they will make great recommendations and make sure you have everything you need to have a wonderful experience.

Couple of notables: Astarte is not in one of the island cities. It's remote, which we considered a plus, and has amazing views back across the caldera toward Fira and Oia. It's a short drive or walk to sites for watching the sunset. And do not refuse the "surprise pastries" in the morning. They would make the best French pastry chefs jealous.

We will absolutely go back - no doubts.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We spent our Wedding Anniversary at Astarte Suites Santorini early July 2012. The staff was really warm and welcoming. The hotel is run by a family, and they really DO care about you having the best holiday of your life at their hotel!
Everything was perfect during our stay. The room was spacious, and with a private jacuzzi. The pool was crystal clear, the views unbelievable!
We usually do not eat in the premises of the hotels we are visiting. But once we tasted the Chef's specialties, we never ate out again! Everything was soooo delicious!!
The staff make you feel at home, fulfilling every need!
We were having our breakfast everyday in our room! At any time that we liked!
The quality of the Hotel is superb! Everything is clean, new, well decorated, and classy!
The location also is quite unique! In contrast with other places of Santorini, like Fira, or Oia, at Akrotiri, you have the feeling that you are enjoying this magical island all by your self!! Sooo relaxing!!
Santorini Astarte Suites!! A must-visit while on Santorini!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We were really delightful by the great service offered in this hotel. The staff is really sensistive to all the requests we were making, ranging from searching for a nice restaurant in the town to allowing us to stay in the room even after the check out time due to our late departure. The hotel has a very nice view on the caldera. The pool and jacuzzi are perfectly maintained. Also, we found the menu very healthy, fresh and tastefull with a great choice of Greek traditional food. The only negative thing is the long stairs that you have to climb in order to get out from the hotel. But fortunatelly they always are ready to bring your luggage :)

Room Tip: take the one with outdoor jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

If you are looking for a romantic, boutique hotel experience that WILL EXCEED your expectations, you have found it here at Astarte Suites! It is a paradise w angels to host:) George and Kosta and staff, warm and genuine people.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Astarte Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astarte Suites

Address: Caldera | Akrotiri, Akrotiri 84700, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Akrotiri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Akrotiri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Astarte Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Astarte Suites is a 9-suite luxurious boutique hotel literally hanging from a cliff in Akrotiri's Caldera. The breathtaking view of the Aegean Sea and the Volcano will dazzle you from every corner of this amphitheatrically built hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Astarte Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astarte Hotel Akrotiri
Astarte Suites Santorini/Akrotiri, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astarte Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.