We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and fabulous owners” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mathios Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mathios Village to your Saves list
Hotel Mathios Village
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Akrotiri | Akrotiriou Road, Akrotiri 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Akrotiri
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Great hotel and fabulous owners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We were on a three week vacation hopping the islands in Greece and wanted to have a fantastic place to stay for the Santorini portion. We were turned on to the Mathios Village by the owners brother when we rented a car.
The place is fantastic. Two pools great rooms and it's quite - view of the ocean and outside of Fira but with great views of the caldera.
The owner is also a great guy - gregarious and extremely helpful. He not only was a gracious host, he also helped us plan and book our Athens trip with hotel, travel, and a dedicated guide that picked us up at the ferry late and night and drove us to all the sites (definitely the way to do it since there are so many strikes). We definitely recommend this hotel and plan on staying there again when we get back to Santorini.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    125
    36
    33
    39
See reviews for
128
290
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

This was our second visit and we loved it as much as the first time! The service is excellent, all the staff is extremely friendly and kind. We enjoyed our stay and we have only the best to say about the fantastic swimming pools, the fact that the room was sparkling clean every day, the magnificent food (Tania makes miracles in the kitchen) and off course Kostas, our very kind host! We plan to visti them again as many times as possible!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Hotel Mathios Village is superbly run and managed by Kostas and his wonderful family and very pleasant and friendly staff. Please say a BIG thank you to your Mum, father and Vasilias from us all.
Our experience 2 Adults & 2 Children all started when Kostas kindly agreed to collect us from the Airport which he timed perfectly, the service that we received from everyone involved in Hotel Mathios Village continued in the way which it started until Kostas again kindly agreed to return us to the Airport for our departure.
The accommodation is ideally priced and well presented and cleaned on a daily basis, we had our room next to the Church and our view was sensational, looking over vineyards down to the sea!!! What a View...
We stayed Half Board and you receive a Continental Breakfast which is more than substantial and the Evening Meal what can I say other than a GREAT BIG THANK YOU to MAMA (Kostas' Mother) who prepared a great array of fine home cooked Greek food of 3 courses every night, the kids even enjoyed the food it was that good.
Caldera Beach, is approximately 5 minutes walk to the front of the hotel which is very quiet and lunch can be had at Remezzo, which is great home cooked Greek food, please be patient there's no rush and the view is superb.
The Red Beach is approximately 20 minutes walk and there are a selection of restaurants on the way to the beach, however it is very busy and we actually preferred Caldera Beach.
Akrotiri is only a short 5 minute walk to the left of the hotel with around 3 restaurants and a supermarket/local store which provides everything you would require.
You can hire bikes/cars from Kostas at very reasonable rates if you so wish, however we chose not to hire any vehicles as we wanted a nice quiet relaxing holiday away from the masses which we received in abundance. There is a bus stop outside the hotel and the bus service to Fira is very reliable and costs around 1.80 Euro to Fira and the buses run every hour.
We would recommend anyone to Hotel Mathios Village as we are seasoned travellers and the service that is provided is 1st class and would highly recommend staying half board, would also suggest that you pay a little extra for a Superior Room rather than Standard Room as we did, the slight price increase is well worth it.
We would think that it would be hard for anyone to complain about the hotel or staff or the services that they provide and please remember that you are staying in Greece in a superb location for a very reasonable cost, if you want 5 Star accommodation with 5 Star Facilities then you should book your accommodation with Raffles in Singapore.. There is a saying where we come from "You Pay For What You Get".
Hotel Mathios Village in our opinion is a Very Good 3 + Star Hotel.
Hope to see you again soon my friend.

Room Tip: Pay for the Superior Rooms you wont be dissapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kostasp, Manager at Hotel Mathios Village, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
Am working in tourism 26 years, we love our work and I will continue to do it better every year , we are all day ready to help our guest in any ways , with great meals , snacks , drinks, renting from simply rooms up to Vip accommodation , we also have cars bikes we sell boat trips , scuba , tours so many possibilities in mathios we also sell packages all over Greece , many guest use our services every year , for every customer we do the some service and we try to do more and more for every one , I have to say that few guest are not easy to please , the found car with 5 Euros more economical from our office , for them we are not good agency no good hotel ( but the forget what is included if there is one accident what it will happen ) they book standard room and want suites , they want for breakfast with strawberries , we hear often so many stories that not exist , this summer it was 30% more guest from 2011 so many happy guest , and always the happy persons forget to add one good review the difficult guest first think they add one bad review at TripAdvisor see all the hotels one customer love and the next not , I will like to thanks so much that wonderful family that experience a holiday in my hotel & every night try our meals experience our services , and spend time to add that wonderful letter at the site , we continue to do our job we can never change the world we smile and go on ,
I hope to have guest with good energy kostas and the family !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town,South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

We have travelled abroad extensively and to date this was the worst ever. Dont be fooled by the internet pictures!! The towels on checking in had bad stains on it. The breakfast is shocking, there is no bath and the shower is very small. The bedding is full of old stains and the duvets doesnt even have covers over them. First hotel where you have to pay for stained beach towels which I would not even use on my animals. You cannot stay there without renting a car as its not centrally located. The reception closes at 22h30 at night and open at 8am in the morning, so if anybody tries to contact you between those hours, tough luck! If your ferry is earlier than 8 am you have to wait for your transfer to the port outside in the street like us.. NEVER AGAIN!!!! In South Africa a hotel of this standard would definately have no star ratings. The only highlight was the receptionist,Mary, who tried her best to make the most of this incredible awful situation.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kostasp, Manager at Hotel Mathios Village, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
pictures of the web , but any ways every one is free to add what ever he wants on the web , Our towels are in perfect condition but the water is hard in SANTORINI , We offer free breakfast with many possibilities and a great bar by the pool if you wish to have something more , you never try our restaurant , am never been in south Africa , we are in Greece very safe country to travel and we do the best to help every one , if you book one economy double , you can not have towels to go the beach ,there is a small fee for washing ,
You forget to mention that you change your booking and we were keeping 2 superior rooms , and you arrive next day ( no info ) with new booking 2 standard rooms and of course we didn’t charge you the first night , in your country that not exist you have to pay the first night , we also give you rooms frond of the pool with out any extra charge , any ways if you want to have larger bathrooms you need to book suites or superiors , you also use our business CENTER so many time so many hours my receptionist wanted to close the business centrer and she was waiting for you until late in the night , ( for that reason she is good for you ) and we didn’t charge you , we also help you with a car rental and you were so happy with my ideas , pay in September 60 Euros double room with breakfast free and all that service to you we were expected one thank you but that’s life thank you agai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Kostas, the manager did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable. We had no pricing issues like the other posts have mentioned. Kostas arranged our rental car, and the price was as discussed.
I think communication and understanding is necessary before booking any service, that goes for any place any were.
We chose this hotel based on the positive reviews and were not disappointed. The rooms were clean and all the staff was VERY pleasant.
Kostas even sent me to his personal doctor when I had a health issue (not related to the hotel in any way)… would a dirty guy do that… NO. !
The Island is small and we got every were we wanted to go with no problem. Don’t forget to drive up the road to the most beautiful sunset on the planet… wow
And most of all relax and enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kostasp, Manager at Hotel Mathios Village, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
It was so nice to have you in the Hotel , and so happy to hear from you , we try hard day by day and i wish to see you back in mathios - my best regards from busy santorini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

The hotel is located in Akrotiri, a small and quiet village in the south-west part of Santorini.
We reserved a standard room but we were immediately upgraded to a superior one.
The owner, Mr. Kostas, has been very available and kind with us, and the personnel working there too.
For easier reasons we reserved the quad though his travel agency and the service has been good.
There is also a good restaurant where you can eat Greek style food in front of the 2 swimming pools.
Our review about Mathios village is very good, and we recommend this accomodation if you want to stay in a nice place outside the crowd at a good price.
We want to thank Mr. Kostas, Mrs. Mary, Mr. Vassili and all the staff of Mathios Village Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kostasp, Manager at Hotel Mathios Village, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Thank you so much !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasto
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed in Mathios Village for five days and everything was good from our arrive, the owner Mr Kostas was very kind and he gave us useful information for our journey. Our room was as we expected, very clean, good space and in front of one of the pools. The hotel is very nice and the food prepared by Kostas mother was greet and truly greek, we enjoyed a lot of local recipes every night. The breakfast was good too and so the service, they were always helpful with us and very kind.
The position of the hotel is perfect, the caldera beach is near also by foot, the red beach is ten minutes with scooter and so the city center of Thira and Perissa. We spent a lovely stay there, the place was quiet and relaxing, and we sure come back and recommend this hotel to everyone!

Vittorio and Lorella

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kostasp, Manager at Hotel Mathios Village, responded to this review, September 10, 2011
thank you very much for the wonderfoul letter !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mathios Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mathios Village

Address: Akrotiri | Akrotiriou Road, Akrotiri 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Akrotiri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Akrotiri
#2 Romantic Hotel in Akrotiri
#3 Family Hotel in Akrotiri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mathios Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Hotel with a swimming pools in the historical akrotiri near the famous red white and caldera beach with , restaurant , pool bar , travel agency we offer rooms , suites , family rooms special offers and packages ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mathios Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mathios Village Hotel
Mathios Village Akrotiri
Hotel Mathios Village Santorini/Akrotiri, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mathios Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.