We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Speechless in Santorini!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apanemo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Apanemo to your Saves list
Apanemo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Akrotiri, Akrotiri 84700, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Akrotiri
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Speechless in Santorini!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

Santorini was our third stop after Mykonos and Paros. Spiros, the hotel manager, was kind enough to offer my friends and I complimentary pick up and drop off at the port which we were very grateful for as the hotel's location is not exactly (though this was not a problem at all). Spiros suggested a car rental for our 4 days stay in Santorini and he set us up with a car rental company near our hotel. At first, we were a bit apprehensive about driving around in Santorini but it ended up being really safe, fun and very convenient. It is also very easy to get around Santorini. This way, we were able to visit 4 beaches, go to Fira at night for supper and nightlife (10-15 min. drive from Apanemo) and on our last day, visit Oia which is on the complete opposite end of the island from Akrotiri and it's only about a half hour drive (well worth the visit to watch the sunset and it's a nice drive down). Spiros also gave very good restaurant recommendations!

The room was spacious and very clean with 2 double beds (one on an upper floor) and a very nice, modern bathroom. Breakfast in the morning was satisfying. There was free wifi, though it didn't work in the room but on the balcony and in the lobby, it did work. The hotel pool was just indescribable. The view is breathtaking! It's like we were looking at the brochure of the hotel... looked exactly as in pictures and even better! We had booked until June 4th but our ferry was leaving on June 5th at 12:40 am so we were a bit worried about how it would work after check-out on the 4th but Spiros told us we could stay in the room until we had to leave to get our ferry without charge! We were able to stay almost 12 hours after the scheduled check-out time. He then accompanied us to the port. We were very grateful and our experience with the management at Apanemo was simply amazing.

Definitely worth the value! Many have recommended this hotel for couples but we were 4 girls around the age of 20-21 and it was perfect! I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    60
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
63
194
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

We loved the Apanemo--the lovely rooms, pretty architecture and gardens, the substantial breakfasts and last, but not least THE VIEW! Spiros was very friendly, helpful --a wonderful host. Akrotiri is the quieter end of Santorini and with this location you will need a car. The sight is stunning!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

We stayed 2 nights at Apanemo, and the experience was wonderful. The manager Spiros is a very friendly and helpful person, and the rooms are beautiful with beautiful views. You should rent a car or scooter to get back and forth from the hotel, but do stay there!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

John and I stayed here for 4 days and I celebrated my birthday on Santorini - Apanemo Hotel was a sanctuary away from the hustle and bustle of Fira and Oia which are nice to visit but a holiday should also be a time for rest and relaxation and this is exactly what Apanemo provided.... a haven to savour the incredible view, soak up the sun, swim in the beautiful rim flow pool and escape to the cool and airy bedrooms when siesta time called.
The gracious hosts were always there to provide handy information when needed, and were even kind enough to offer tea and coffee at odd times of the day and very early mornings!
I would recommend this hotel to ANYONE wanting to visit Santorini, and who enjoys the smaller boutique hotel atmosphere.
We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

We stayed 4 nights and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. The warmth of Spiros and his family makes this a very special place to stay. The hotel is perfect and you have a fantastic view above the caldera and the volcano. The rooms are spotless and If you want to stay in a quiet place don't hesitate and book a room at Apanemo. Special thanks for Spiros and his staff.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

I booked the Apanemo apartment online and the process was very easy. The photos on the hotel web site were true - the place is incredible. You need to have a car or rent a scooter or 4 wheel buggy as this place is toward the southwest part of the island. We had a hard time finding it; the web site map was no help but we called and were given good directions. The apartment was more than adequate and since there were 3 of us we needed a large space. There was a loft upstairs with a double bed and a couch downstairs, a small kitchen with few utensils (but who wants to cook on vacation anyway) and a small bathroom. All was immaculately clean and was kept clean during our 4 night stay. The loft could be an issue for older people (climbing a ladder in the middle of the night to use the bathroom) but we had a flashlight and were very careful. The couch was comfortable after putting an extra layer of blankets over the mattress. The air conditioning was more than adequate. There were plenty of places to eat nearby but you would need a car in order to have a good selection. Spiros and his extended family were wonderful. Spiros suggested many places to eat and see plus he allowed us a very late check out (4:00) as our boat had been delayed back to Athens. The pool is incredible - other people posted that it was cold but it was also refreshing and beautiful. The breakfast was terrific - lots of choice and home made items, like cakes and donuts. The views from the hotel as stunningly beautiful and it is the reason to be at the Apanemo! We loved our stay and we felt that we were treated very well.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

A good place to visit again and again. Here you ca have greek feeling and
a maximum of "philoxenia".
See the pool and feel the caldera look... this picture give you the best
information
cu DH

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apanemo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apanemo

Address: Akrotiri, Akrotiri 84700, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Akrotiri
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Akrotiri
#1 Family Hotel in Akrotiri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apanemo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apanemo is a traditional village style complex of independent and fully equipped studios and apartments with excellent view to the volcano and to the famous Caldera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Apanemo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apanemo Hotel Akrotiri
Apanemo Hotel Santorini
Apanemo Santorini/Akrotiri, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apanemo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.