We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating once you find it!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Akrotiri Archaeological Site

Akrotiri Archaeological Site
Akrotiri 84700, Greece
GPS N36.35 E25.40
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Akrotiri Archaeological Site like an insider
Top Rated
$142*
and up
Ancient Akrotiri and Santorini Wineries Tour
Ranked #2 of 13 things to do in Akrotiri
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This ancient city was covered in a heap of volcanic ash in the late 17th century B.C., preserving it for present-day archaeologists and interested tourists. The site is so well preserved that it is often referred to as the Pompeii of the Aegean.
Wychbold
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fascinating once you find it!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Having decided on a slightly rainy day that we would take a drive to Akrotiri to visit the archaeological site, our adventure began. Just finding it can be an experience as the road signage in Santorini is minimal at best. But when you have good company in the car, it doesn't matter whether you take a few wrong turns.
Having finally found the site, we paid our €5 each (children free) and entered a covered area approx 200 square foot. It houses a site that is 3500 years old & is still undergoing excavation.
Just like Pompeii, it gives a true insight into life for ancient Greeks with a number of houses still fairly intact, pots, bedsteads etc. you are able to walk amongst the ruins via a series of raised walkways getting you up close & personal with the stories of old. We chose not to take a guided tour as, for an 8 yr old, it may have been overly detailed in content. Had I visited alone, or with other adults only, I may have chosen a tour as there is limited information once inside as to everything you are looking at.
Nevertheless, I enjoyed the site & would recommend a visit.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    675
    423
    162
    40
    28
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Compared to other sites we have visited it was very small and all the artefacts and paintings had been removed

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Glimpse of the past”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We traveled to the site on the ATV we had rented and it took us probably less than 20 minutes. The ruins are open until 5pm and we had missed the correct turn at first to the site. Make sure to look for a left turn onto a side road that says I believe for buses only, but if you miss the turn the road leads into the town of Akrotiri so not sure if there was another way down but we turned around. There is a big gravel parking lot across from the excavation site but you have to pay for it depending on your vehicle (we paid 2 euros). But the red beach is just around the corner of the site and there is free parking up there where you can climb down a path to the beach so you can walk from that parking lot to the site if you don't want to pay.
The site itself is housed in a huge enclosed building so make sure you have your ticket ( which can be purchased when first entering the site 5 euros a person and cash only). You can either do the longer route around the outside of the ruins or the short route through the middle, your choice, but we did both as it is a self guided tour.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Akrotiri”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Interesting archaeological site of city embedded in volcanic ash (like Pompei). Be aware that it closes right at 3 PM.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing, limited info and no frescoes!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is a potentially interesting site as quite a large area has been excavated but as many other people have said, the information is so limited that is does little to engage you. They have removed the frescoes to another museum in Fira. I guess you have to go while you are on Santorini but don't expect too much.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akrotiri Archaeological Site also viewed

 

Been to Akrotiri Archaeological Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akrotiri Archaeological Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.