We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best fish tavern on the island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Delfinia

Delfinia
Akrotiri, Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 25 Restaurants in Akrotiri
Cuisines: Greek
Restaurant details
1 review
“The best fish tavern on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Delicious food, beautiful location, exellent service - my favourite fish tavern in Santorini! And the locals love it too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    3
    1
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Great traditional seafood taverna and stunning location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is my 4th time in Santorini and I never miss a chance to eat at the Dolphins Taverna. A great family owned and run taverna with fresh local fish and lobster every day. And the family are a delight as well. A previous reviewer noted some 'racist' behaviour but I have not witnessed this, although their sense of humour can be somewhat dry and possibly misunderstood.
Patronised by locals and tourists alike, to sit on the wharf in the middle of Akrotiri harbour and witness the slow night fall all around is a work of natural art. To have all this AND a delicious and affordable meal is heavenly for me.
Try the local fish, lobster (if you can afford it), fava beans, octopus and calamari and a Greek salad with none fresher. Be sure to ask for what specials Mama might have that does not appear on the menu. All this, as you watch the charter boats heading for home and the evening sailors mooring for the night.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Service spoiled the entire evening”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Lovely place for a restaurant.... But all though empty made to feel like we were not wanted there... Waiters rude and service very very poor

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Racist”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Rudely turfed us off the best available table on pretext it was for 4 people (we were 2) when restaurant was almost entirely empty, then promptly gave it away to a Greek couple (we are English), luckily before we'd even had time to order, so we took our business elsewhere. Don't bother, unless you're Greek.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wine Country, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“'THE BEST FISH ON THE ISLAND'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

a bit out of the way, but totally worth it. It's the Greek locals' favorite too.......

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delfinia also viewed

Akrotiri, Santorini
 
Akrotiri, Santorini
Akrotiri, Santorini
 

Been to Delfinia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delfinia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.