We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avant Garde Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Avant Garde Suites to your Saves list
Avant Garde Suites
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Akrotiri 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Akrotiri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We made our first visit to Santorini earlier this year and chose the Avant Garde based purely on the Trip Advisor recommendations - I'm very pleased to say we were not disappointed. The island is beautiful and the apartments at Avant Garde are excellent - good location, breathtaking views, great amenities and exceptional staff. It's a must for any Santorini-bound holiday makers, we will definitely make a return.

Room Tip: The extra for the hot tub is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    22
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
80
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Avant Garde is a really great resort for the price. We arrived on the ferry from Mykonos and there was a shuttle waiting to take us to the resort which was a plus.

Check-in was quick and easy. The suites are very modern and spacious and all have a beautiful view of the caldera. I recommend asking for a suite on the far end away from the office. We were placed next to the office and every other guest walks by your door on the way to their room, so it somewhat destroyed the privacy.

I would also suggest not opting for the jacuzzi suite. While the jacuzzi could be a nice feature, we had to ask the staff to turn it on to use it and even then it never got warm enough to enjoy (water was lukewarm at best and Santorini is quite chilly at night, even in summer - around 60 Fahrenheit). The non jacuzzi suites looked just as nice and were also more secluded on the second floor.

Please note that this resort is on the opposite side of the caldera from Thira and Oia, so you will definitely need your own transport to get around. (Thira is around 20-30 minutes, Oia is at least an hour). We opted to rent an ATV, and the resort made this easy. They partner with a reputable, fairly priced company that comes to pick you up at the resort and takes you to the rental location (they even pick it up at the resort after you leave, so you don't have to return it).

My overall experience with this place was very good, though if you want to do a lot of things on Thira or Oia, keep the distance in mind.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The rooms can use a little more renovation; however, the staff are friendly and helpful, the Jacuzzi outside is absolutely lovely and the view from your room is ridiculously beautiful! The hotel is located outside of the popular towns Oia and Fira, but are about ten to twenty minute drives away, and the drives are lovely.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The hotel has one on the best locations in the Santorini Islands. It faces the famous Caldera with the balconies on all the rooms facing the Volcano. Staff are very cooperative. The only drawback is that This hotel doesnt serve anything to eat after 5 pm and to drink after 9 pm. Swimming Pool is operational 24 hours. If you are planning a trip to santorini for 4-5 days, It can be a great hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Location of the hotel was fantastic. Directly position on the Caldera with a beautifully large balcony providing uninterupted views. Hotel is around 15 minutes from main Town Centre of Thira however it meant a very relaxing and quiet stay. We were greeted on arrival by the fantastic staff who provided a complementary bottle of wine which made us immediately feel welcomed. Bed was extremely comfortable which is not easy to come by and breakfast was of a very high standard. The local buses stop outide the hotel and is within a 5 minute ride to the excavation site and the red beach. THe only regret we have is we only spent 1 night in this fantastic hotel. Thank you for a wonderful stay, we would no hesitation in recommending Avant Garde and would love to return one day

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great staff and the lady owner is very helpful and cheerful, excellent breakfast menu which is served in your room or your private verandah. Stunning poolside, beautiful boutique suites, rooms are tastefully done, 10 mins drive away from town.
Basit mukadam

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed there for 3 nights with my girlfriend. The room is very nice and beautifully decorated. My time was during the electricity cut in August, but the staff was very helpful and there was no severe problem. The staff organized for me a beautiful dinner in my veranda. The view is breathtaking!!
There was a problem with the wind, because you couldn't enjoy the pool or stay outdoors.
Also the jacuzzi was too small for 2 persons and with no privacy, so we didn't use it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Avant Garde Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avant Garde Suites

Address: Akrotiri 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Akrotiri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Akrotiri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avant Garde Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the area of Akrotiri, Avant Garde Suites give justice to their name. Offering an amazing view of the caldera and a panoramic view of the island, these nine deluxe suites have a color and style of their own. Ultra modern, chic, attention to detail and clever gadgets take you beyond luxury. Fun colors, funky, signature design furniture give out a sleek, chic and exclusive design led hotel. Most of the suites offer private Jacuzzi for moments of sheer relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Avant Garde Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avant Garde Hotel Akrotiri
Avant Garde Suites Santorini/Akrotiri, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avant Garde Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.