We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maison Des Lys is incredible” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison Des Lys

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Maison Des Lys to your Saves list
Maison Des Lys
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Akrotiri, Akrotiri 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Akrotiri
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Maison Des Lys is incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Wow, what a place. Would definitely go again and again. The views were amazing. The rooms are brilliantly finished although they had literally just finished building so it took a little while for the jacuzzi to get going but what a view from it when you are in. Food was brilliant and reasonable for such an audacious setting. Go there for an amazing experience you'll never forget and struggle to beat.

Room Tip: the luxury superior suite with the jacuzzi overlooking the ancient volcanic crater is unbeatable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    15
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
66
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

After 6 years of visiting Santorini, we discovered 'Maison Des Lys' quite by chance last year and stayed for 3 nights. We returned this year for 7 nights and found the experience more special than before.
Maison Des Lys is situated on a peaceful side of the island overlooking the Caldera; it is a quiet, calming and relaxing experience with excellent staff (Claudia and Jason) who are able to sense your needs should it be a need to chat and be sociable or simply to be left alone to enjoy the facilities, food and of course the sun.
Good food is served at the Hotel if required and there is also a local Taverna across the road (within 3 minutes walk) where you can enjoy traditional food and wine whilst watching the sunset.
Discovering the island requires a car which can be arranged for you or should you need to take trip by boat to many of the sights, the staff will arrange whatever is required and provide sound and reliable advice.
The place is great, we forgot all about work and chilled completely; other residents were equally friendly and all had the same intention in mind, to relax and enjoy the unique calmness of Maison Des Lys.
We are already looking forward to our return there next year.

Room Tip: All suites provide the same high class standard and have their own outside area where our breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed at Maison Des Lys in August, and it is the perfect place to stay during a holiday in Santorini. Beautiful suites, amazing view and superb service pretty much sums up this hotel. You wont be disappointed! Thanks to Claudia and Jason for their service and hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed here for the last four nights of our trip to Santorini , having spent a less than pleasant time in Perissa. What a difference. This hotel is a gem , situated on top of the cliffs overlooking the Caldera the views are spectacular. Our Junior suite was well appointed , lovely bathroom , nice comfy bed and very spacious. The winner tho was the view from your private terrace , fantastic. The hotel serves you your breakfast on the terrace at a time to suit yourselves , it turned up on time every morning and was everything a good breakfast should be. The hotel itself does not have a dining room but they will cook from a limited menu for you , we had dinner there the first night overlooking the Caldera with the spectacular sunset ( the sunset was better than the meal it has to be said) . There are a couple of small taverna's within walking distance and we eat in the nearest one for the rest of the holiday , the food was ok and reasonably priced. The pool area is well laid out with a clifftop beach bar where you could order drinks and snacks. The staff were friendly and helpful , tho to be honest we didn't have much for them to sort out. The Hotel itself is very much out of the way and you really need a car or an ATV to get around , you wouldn't want to walk down to Akrotiri and back up the hill too often. We were shown around the other suites available , next door to us had their own private pool , these sleep 4 as do several other rooms if you need the extra beds. WiFi worked in the room and around the pool if you must check up on whats happening at home. We just relaxed around the pool all day and it was just perfect for us to end our stay in Santorini here. Would would definitely stay here again if we return..

Room Tip: Rosemary or Elia , nice rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Mason Des Lys (the hose of Lillies) is a fantastic hotel. My husband and I stayed at four locations on the island of Santorini for our honeymoon. This was our last stop on the island, and it was so relaxing and confortable. I do agree that the style was a little different than the typical island hotels, but the style is beautiful. We had a junior suite, which was amazing. We didn't have our own pool, but the regular pool is wonderful and we weren't dissapointed. The staff is very dedicated to making your stay relaxing, which is fantastic for a honeymoon. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, it is pricey, but we felt you got what you paid for on the island (we stayed, at a 2star, 3star, 5star and volcano view villa) We enjoyed our stay the most at this hotel. The breakfast was amazing. We did rent a car for one of the days (which I really recommend) and we drove to Oia (pronounced EEa). It was a little intimidating to drive at first, but it was so exciting to see everything at our pace. We love Santorini, and we would like to return to Maison Des Lys for our anniversary one year.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

We never knew about this place until our original hotel, the Veggera in Pissarra had overbooked and had to move us here. What a lucky break for us! The view is stunning, the hotel is brand new and the staff bent over backwards to make us comfortable and happy. These suites are GORGEOUS, the location is quiet except for the enchanting wind and the breakfast was all too yummy and brought into our room with white linens each morning. Very relaxing and serene, I would love to go back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

The hotel is located on the edge of the caldera which offers stunning views. There was no need to go to Oia to catch the sunset because it could be seen - unobstructed - from our terrace. During our stay, it was very quiet as there were only a couple of other hotel guests. As there were three in our party, we stayed in the senior suite which had three beds. If you have trouble with stairs, the senior suite may not be a good option as the only way to the room is via stairs and the room itself had stairs that led up to a loft where the two beds are. Breakfast was served in the room and with the option of having it out on the terrace. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. However, when asked about how to get to places (as we did not have a car), there seemed to be a lack of general knowledge about some of the basics of how to get around. It would be nice if the hotel provided a binder with information on where to catch the bus, the bus schedule, general information about the area, etc. The hotel does not have a restaurant (you can order room service with advance notice) but there is a hotel a few meters down the road that was affordable and also offered a great seat for viewing the sunset. If you don't have a car or motorbike, be prepared to walk downhill to get to the town of Akrotiri. I'd say that it took about 20 minutes to get down there. And remember, if you had to walk downhill on the way out, you'll have to walk uphill on the way back. We did it once (learned our lesson) and afterwards decided to split a cab back to the hotel from Fira (between 15 and 18 Euro). This allowed us some flexibility as we weren't tied to the bus schedule (bus ran every hour) and we were able to avoid that very steep climb back up to the edge of the caldera.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maison Des Lys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Des Lys

Address: Akrotiri, Akrotiri 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Akrotiri
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Akrotiri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Des Lys 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Maison Des Lys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Des Lys Hotel Santorini
Maison Des Lys Santorini/Akrotiri, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison Des Lys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.