We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good and friendly stay in Rhodes island” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ampelia Beach

Save Saved
You added Ampelia Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ampelia Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apolakkias-Gennadiou 1, Gennadi 85109, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Gennadi
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“a good and friendly stay in Rhodes island”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

we came to the hotel 2 nights..the staff was very friendly. and helpful. eventhough hotel is not perfect but with the budget they offered, they had an overrated friendly approach to the guests..very nice..and very good people work here..thanks them.for the short vacation in rodos island.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    3
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
6
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

I travelled to Rhodes with my extended family ranging from 71 to 15 to attend the wedding of my nephew. We chose Ampelia Beach as the price and location were right. Before we even travelled we had a problem as two members of our family were told by the website we booked through that they had overbooked and they were being moved to the other side of the island!! After a very quick phone call to the manager at Ampelia Beach we were told to all go as intended, they would fit us all in. After this and also reading some other reviews we went with mixed feelings,
We arrived very early in the morning and were greeted by two very friendly, efficient young men who got us to our rooms very quickly. They had re-arranged our rooms so that some of us were 3 to a room so that a room was freed up to accommodate the couple who had been overbooked by the website. This was not a problem as we were all family. I was put in with my two grown up daughters and our room was huge, could have fitted 4 adults easily. It was spotless everywhere with clean sheets and plenty of pillows (commented on in another review). The only thing that was strange was that the shower had no curtain around it and my daughters managed to soak the floor every day!
The next day we explored after eating a plentiful delicious breakfast. The hotel is run by hungarians and they do provide a mixture of both hungarian and local food, all of it to a very high standard and enough choice to please most people. The pool was lovely, we spent at least some of each day there and it was also spotless, The bar is outside and very comfortable and run by a very friendly lady. Everywhere is very relaxed, safety standards are maintained but not at the expense of enjoyment!! There are no lifeguards which is not unusual.
The staff are very friendly and efficient and cannot do enough for you. They will use their own vehicles to fetch and carry you at a cost vastly reduced from the local taxi service and at any time of the day and night.
Prior to my holiday I read the other reviews for this hotel and I cannot stress enough what a lovely place this is, remember it is a 3 star hotel not The Ritz and it is in quite a remote area but if you want fun and relaxation in a quiet area at a decent price this is the place to go.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

With 20-30 minutes to the famous Prasonisi-beach this hotel i an OK place to stay. With no nightlife, not a very good beach and bit hostile poolboy this hotel is barely worth its money. But I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stromness
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

midnight arrival, transfer to hotel was by taxi, took less than 1 hr, being tired gave b/fast a miss. the hotel has 40 rooms 2 blocks of ten one of 5 and the rest in the main building. the people who run the hotel are from hungry and lease the hotel from the greek owner, and are into their third year, all the staff employed there are from hungry or surrounding countries, but were all nice. Work is being done to freshen up the hotel, a new kiichen and new rooms have been fitted to the main building, we had a large room upstairs with a lovely pool and sea view, and 2 balconies airconditioning at no extra cost unlike some hotels, our room was cleaned reguarly toilet bin emptied every day. B/fast was your usual for greece, sliced cheese, meat, boiled egg, yogurt, fruit olives , if you wanted a omelette or something different it was just a case of asking and you got it, snacks at midday , evening meal was a choice of several european dishes, not a lot of greek dishes served at night. .Being all-inclusive drinks were served from 9 in the morning to when ever , and all the drinks supplied , spirits beer and wine were all brand names, first night there there was no vodka, so we spoke to the marta who ran the place with her husband, no problem nipped up to the local supermarked and came back with a couple of bottles of absolute vodka, none of your rubbish, unlike some incusive hotels who only supply inferior drinks to their guests. Beach was close by, but very pebbley, but certainly not overcrowded, , 3 restaurants nearby served some lovely fish dishes. A 10 min walk took you into the village of gedanni with its small bars and tavernas , fruit shop and local baker and supermarket, being a typical greek village these were open all year round. We liked this hotel because it was small and friendly, and a quiet location, you won't see many brits at this hotel, mostly poles and hungarians, germans and french, We did a tour to lindos to visit the acropolis, be prepared to queue to get to the top, but worth it once you get there. We would definately go back to gedanni again and maybe the same hotel again, but there is plenty of property to rent in the surrounding area for those wanting to go self catering. On our departure day we had a 0140 flight in the morning, we asked could we keep our room until 9 at night, and they only charged us €10, that was cheap, 3 years ago in zante we were charged €30. Our 2 wks in ampelia beach was a last minute booking , certainly worth it. And finally while waiting for our bus to pick us up at 10, two of the girls who worked there agi who did the bar, and ade who did our room, came to say goodby with a bottle of hungarian snapps and 2 small glasses insisting we have a farewell drink with them , how nice. we found out ade was fond of ballantines and coke, so we bought her a bottle so she and her friends could have drink on us

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

This is a charming area of Rhodes if your thing is a quiet holiday near beautiful beaches, nice tavernas by the sea and beautiful nature. However, this very poor value hotel almost spoiled our holiday. It was not that staff were rude, they are mostly young hungarians and well meaning, but they and the management do not know much about running a hotel. The place is nice but run down, no renovation work has been done recently and cleanliness is variable. There were hordes of mosquitoes in the room (which was also cockroach infested) and I think this was linked to a problem with the cenrral sewage which was near the room. Incredibly basic breakfast, consisting of very poor quality salamis and cheese, grapes that have seen better days, sugary yogurt and a coffee machine that produced more noise than any cafeine related liquid. The towels and sheets that were in the room when we moved in were not clean and we had to ask for replacements. There was one small pillow (30X30 cms) on every bed and when we asked for another pillow we were told there were no extras. The room needed renovation as the frame of the balcony door was falling off and there was lots of rust in the bathroom. A snooker table was a centrepiece of the space before the swimming pool and it was used noisily by the Hungarian staff throughout the time we were there, once until 3:45am.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
city2utd1
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

This hotel is awful, unless you are backpacking and are expecting a rough and ready place to doss down do not go, I went with my family having booked a two week all inclusive break, we were expecting a nice little family run hotel, in reality the hotel was filthy the swiming pool was filthy and the food was dire, we actually lasted less than 24 hours before we decided to cut our losses and move on, we went on to find a nice hotel and had a decent holiday however I am sure if we had stayed we would have all been ill and not just my youngest Daugter (13).I cannot explain how bad this place is.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

Food excellent, rooms basic but clean with sea view balcony, free air
> con, family run very friendly staff, good size pool always with sun beds >
available, close to crystal clear water & pebble beach, there is also a
> hot-tub/spa bath to use next to the pool. The village
> supermarket is 5 minute walk, bus to Lindos & Rhodes Town close by.
> ( 2 Euro to Lindos 40 mins and 5.5 Euro to rhodos 1hr 45 mins Usually
> 8am, 9am & 10.30am be warned we found the buses turned up 5 mins early!)
> We stayed for 2 weeks A/I. Breakfast consisted of cheese,
> hams , salami, bread , salads, yoghurt, croissants, jams, cereal,
> eggs, tea, coffee, machine apple & orange drink. You can also ask for
> for Bacon & egg. ( If out for day ask for packed lunch - usually
> sandwiches - very expensive to eat out!)
> The chef husband and wife team are from Hungary as are the owners of the
> hotel, the food was excellent and over the two weeks they managed to
> produce different menu choices every night from the self-service buffet.
> A/I lunch can be ordered your choice if you did not want
> the standed snacks available throughout the day from the pool bar.
> (Chips, hamburger, toasted sandwich, greek salad!
> We ate A/I lunch and it was cooked fresh and you landed up with
> additional plates including starters and dessert - truly excellent and
> very tasty!
> The A/I bar was open after breakfast until very late evening. Draft beer,
> spirits,, bottled coke, diet coke, 7up, carton fruit drinks, Liptons
> Ice tea, & Frappe (iced coffee). Carton red and white wine. You could
> ask for bottles of water for room or when you go out. You only paid for
> crisp snacks and Icecreams which could be added on your room bill and
> paid at the end of you holiday
> We took a laptop as there is wireless internet that works in the
> reception and bar areas and on your balcony if close to transmitting
> device - we were charged 10 Euro for the 2 weeks.
> You can hire a safety box for 10Euro per week, also a Fridge at 15 Euro
> per week
> The hotel does look a bit tired in places but we really enjoyed our stay
> made special by the extremley obliging and friendly staff who will make
> every effort for you.
> It is in a very quiet part of the Island, so car hire may be something
> you might like to consider

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ampelia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ampelia Beach

Address: Apolakkias-Gennadiou 1, Gennadi 85109, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Gennadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Gennadi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ampelia Beach 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Ampelia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ampelia Beach Gennadi, Rhodes, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ampelia Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.