We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views...shame about the food. ...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mare Nostrum Thalasso Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mare Nostrum Thalasso Hotel to your Saves list
Mare Nostrum Thalasso Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vravronas Ave, Vravrona 19003, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vravrona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic views...shame about the food. ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is beautiful. ..views are fantastic and staff helpful.
Food was not spectacular if you are looking for local delights...go into the city...
Whilst rooms are clean. ..the bathrooms are dated and don't feel very clean .... rusty taps...

overall its a nice big hotel ... lousy Internet connection. ...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    141
    100
    63
    44
See reviews for
115
154
30
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
athens
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

First of all i would like to talk about the very friendly and poite service.The people who works there do their best.
Its a nice and clean hotel located in a wonderfull place.Nice and tasty food and excelent breakfast.
Don't forget to use the SPA center,its simply perfect experience!!

On the other hand the hotel needs renovation at all areas.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night because it was close to the airport. We had a car so there was no trouble finding it. It is about 20 minutes from the airport so if you are using transit or taxi it might not be very convenient. Found the views to be amazing especially from the very nice roof top patio and restaurant. The place is dated and shows it ( peeling paint, etc.) but it is clean. The large pool is nice and the breakfast buffet was excellent. There was a buffet in the evening which was very good but expensive and since there is nothing else in the area you are kind of forced to eat there. My family enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farum, Denmark
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed one Night at this hotel, we picked it due to the close location to the airport. It was not as close as we expected.
We didnt use any activity facilities, so we cannot comment on Them.

The hotel decorations reminded me of the 80ties....

The room was clean, ok bed, ok chair. Toilet very small.

The dinner buffet was ok, fine variety of salads but the warm food was not fantastic.
Breakfast boring if you prefer fresh fruit. If you like Bread it could be ok.

I would say this could be a good hotel if you had planned a holiday in Athens and wanted a hotel with a swimming pool for afternoon relaxation.

There is notning in the neighbourhood to see or do.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We booked this hotel because of its close proximity to the airport. We arranged for the shuttle to collect us which was free and a great service. We arrived at this resort which is very big and got given two bungalows which were clean and comfortable. The staff went out of their way to assist us and satisfy our needs. The hotel is slightly outdated but at one point this resort must have been awesome. The views are incredible and it is on the beach. The night we were there they had live entertainment and it was very festive. On the downside it is not a luxury hotel but at the price we paid we did not expect it to be. In fact it exceeded our expectations for what we paid. It is very basic. We were on a dinner bed and breakfast and both meals were buffet. One did not go hungry and there was enough choice for everyone's needs to be fulfilled although the food is simple for instance a choice of salads a veg, fish, meat, and chicken to choose from plus a pasta dish. Breakfast was similar. From what I saw all their rooms are see facing. There is a golf cart to take guest to their rooms. There is a large pool with deck hairs and a beach with deck hairs. There was kayaking available, two tennis courts and a sectioned off kiddies playground with jungle gyms and the like. There is a lovely terrace with a great view. The hotel is also near historical sites in the area. There is also town about 10 mins by taxi with many shops, coffee shops and restaurants. All in all it was a fine experience and not bad at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Booked this hotel for 1 night on Expedia as we were coming in from Munich at 10:55pm and leaving the next morning on the 8:25am flight to Santorini. We paid significantly more for this hotel as we were lured by the "proximity" to the airport and the free shuttle pickup and drop off. Both were inaccurate!!! The hotel is advertised as 3 miles from the airport on Expedia. It is actially 12km out, in the middle of nowhere.

So here is what happened - we provided flight arrival and departure times 3 weeks in advance via Expedia, requesting the shuttle both ways. When we didn't hear back, we emailed the hotel directly. In both cases, no response. We landed at the airport and found no sign of a shuttle. After waiting 1 hour, we were able to call the hotel and the manager said their last shuttle was at 10pm and that we would need to take a taxi and pay 40 Euros! With a 4 and 6 year old, we had no choice but to lug our heavy bags, 2 sleeping kids, and board a taxi at midnight to try and locate this hotel. As things turned out, the address provided online is wrong and the taxi driver said it was "in the middle of the jungle". Needless to say, we felt extremely unsafe and anything could have happened as we found through shady neighborhoods and hilly areas on the outskirts of Athens.

Upon arrival at the hotel, the manager acknowledged receipt of my communications and failure on part of the hotel to respond. To make matters worse, he then told me the 6:30am shuttle was full the next morning as I had not made a shuttle reservation!! Again? Note, my initial communication to them 3 weeks prior to our trip had all the details and the request. Obviously nobody bothered to read it! We ended up paying 30 Euros to the airport.

Net-net, we waited an hour at the airport, paid $208/night for the hotel, got 4 hours of sleep (which ruined our next day in Santorini), and paid 70 Euros more for a "free shuttle"!! The manager refused to pay for the taxi rides.

We travel all the time and haven't ever been more disappointed. Visit at your own risk!!!! Better yet, stay away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vravrona hotels

Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Pick up from Athens airport as arranged when booking was made, taken to hotel after a short wait for more guests. Room clean, comfortable and quiet, with a stunning view from balcony. Buffet breakfast - everything you could possibly want! Lift back to airport as arranged on time the following day - a very pleasant experience after a long haul flight - no complaints at all!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mare Nostrum Thalasso Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mare Nostrum Thalasso Hotel

Address: Vravronas Ave, Vravrona 19003, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Vravrona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vravrona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mare Nostrum Thalasso Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Mare Nostrum Thalasso Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mare Nostrum Thalasso Vravrona
Hotel Mare Nostrum Thalasso
Mare Nostrum Thalasso Hotel Greece/Vravrona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mare Nostrum Thalasso Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.