We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good balance between comfort and informality, and the view was fabulous” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fregate Bleue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fregate Bleue to your Saves list
Hotel Fregate Bleue
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fregate Est 4, Le Francois 97240, Martinique   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Le Francois
East Sussex
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“A good balance between comfort and informality, and the view was fabulous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

My husband and I spent three nights at the Fregate Bleue at the end of a two week trip to Martinique and Guadeloupe, so we wanted to relax for a few days before travelling home.

We stayed in Amanda which we think is classified a suite - but all the rooms are slightly different. This one was large with some old furniture (bed, desk, chest, and wardrobe) but no easy chairs. There is a mezzanine with two single beds which was very bare - not sure it would be much fun sleeping up there even for kids. Good quality bed and bed linen. Bathroom OK (but why just shower gel sachets and nothing else?). The kitchenette very basic and a bit tired, but adequate for simple food preparation. Everything was very clean.

On paper we thought it was expensive for the room but we found on this trip that all the accommodation on the islands was relatively expensive - and you do seem to pay a lot extra when you have a bit more space and a sea view. On both counts, we felt this was worth the extra and it was a joy to be able to sleep and enjoy the sea breeze with the window open and not worry about security.

The balcony has a fabulous view and has loungers as well as table and chairs. It was a charming place to sit and drink a beer, have a chat or just snooze and had it enjoyed the sun for a greater part of the day. We had breakfast and only one evening meal at the hotel while we were there. We had looked forward to the dinner but it was actually the least good meal we had on our holiday so our experience was a bit different from others. But if you have had a long day it was great not to have to dress up and get in the car to go eat.

Madame and the staff were very helpful and we found we only had to ask for something for it to be supplied or corrected - a saucepan for example, a salad bowl, and the fact our fan wasn't working. Madame Lucy explained she had had to be absent in France on and off for the last few months and that she was working hard to catch up on maintenance and organisation. She was very helpful with information about where to go, what to do, how long things took etc which meant we were able to make the best use of our time there. We didn't particularly miss beaches as we'd seen a lot of sand over the previous two weeks so we enjoyed the quiet of the swimming pool at the hotel. And we were able to do a late checkout for no charge on our last day which was fantastic. I would say the hotel strikes a nice balance between a luxury/comfort and relaxation without formality.

I would agree with everyone else - you do need a car to make the most of a stay here. But the location is really fantastic as a base to tour Martinique because it is central and beyond the worst of the traffic holdups around Fort de France. Only 30 minutes from the airport too.

We would recommend Salines for the beach (about 45 minutes and wonderful swimming) and Habitation Clement for a visit. Nothing much in Francois, but lots of nice bars and restaurants to try up in the hills. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    23
    5
    1
    4
See reviews for
7
33
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
caribbean
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

A beautiful small hotel, where colonial furnishings blend harmoniously with all modern amenities and where the peace and quiet and warm welcoming ambience has to be experienced to be believed! A really homely atmosphere prevails and being centrally located this an ideal base from which to explore the beautiful island of Martinique.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

I cannot recommend this hotel more highly. My husband and I along with my inlaws rented the appartment. What a joy it was to stay there. The views are magnificent with an covered outdoor kitchen and dining area and massive balcony from which to ppreciate it. Every room is seperated by doors, with its own bathroom and air conditioning. The lounge area can also be converted into extra sleeping space, also with extra bathroom attached should you want to accomodate a large family.

We did not take breakfast as there is a fabulous French supermarket just a short drive down the road, but the evening meals we booked were superb. Basically we were asked what we wanted and it was cooked to order.

It is a definite bonus that the hotel is located in a residential area as it is very quiet. One families dogs were a bit noisy a couple of nights but a pair of ear plugs from the flight resolved the problem.

The owner, Yveline, is a delightful, as are the staff. Everyone is so helpful and always looking for ways to make your stay even more pleasurable

The pool is great to plung into and cool down although a bit too shallow to get a really good swim, but with so few rooms in the hotel, we often had the pool and the terrace to oursleves.

A great place to stay for families with young children or a couple looking for a quiet escape.

There are some wonderful places to visit in Martinique too, wonderful wild beaches or beautuful white sandy shallows and terrific botanical gardens to name just a couple

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF / P
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2008

Hotel Fregate Bleue was a great spot for a quick four day trip to Martinique. It has regional charm and is convenient to the airport, Fort de France and several good beaches (45 min from Salines). It was quiet and our room was large with an expansive ocean view. The couple in charge are very nice and hospitable. We have been to Martinique 11 times and like this place.

  • Liked — Large room with great ocean view
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTLAND
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

We stayed here for 10 days in Jan 07 - been meaning to write a review ever since! We felt it was a lot of money for the standard of accommodation - the room was full of old fashioned furniture and a had a strange mezzanine area used for storage which wasn't very nice. The bathroom needed upgrading - this was annoying, as it isn't expensive to replace rusty soap holders , bins etc.

The balcony was lovely, really big with beautiful views. Breakfast was very poor but served on a lovely terrace overlooking the sea. The "swimming pool" was more like a bath and situated next to the carpark. Nobody was ever in it (I wonder why).

Location was terrible. In the middle of nowhere actually, so don't even think about not hiring a car. And there is no access to the beach. In fact you can't really walk anywhere from the hotel.

Martinique is really beautiful with a perfect climate but a car is definitely needed.

Mme de Lucy was rather false although willing to give suggestions on where to go and what to do. At the time I think we paid around 1200 euros for the 10 nights which was extortionate for the standard of accommodation.

  • Liked — Balcony and views
  • Disliked — Location and price
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2007

We arrived unannounced for a night in early December, and were welcomed with open arms even though the hotel had been putting things to rights after the ravages on Hurrican Dean (we would never have noticed!) All other reviews sum it up - delightful property with homely feel and Mme de Lucy couldn't be more helpful. Her staff were the best we encountered on Martinique, and dinner was one of the best we tasted. Glorious location, but car essential to reach nearby wild and wonderful beaches. A real gem.

  • Liked — Personal touch and feeling of being part of the family
  • Disliked — Lack of direct access to sea
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
389 helpful votes 389 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2007

This is a charming address located at the very end of a bumpy road on south-east coast of Martinique.

Actually this is not really a hotel, but a "home" where Mrs de Lucy personnally greets you every morning, does her best to run this 10 room unit, and makes suggestions for you to discover this island.

Rooms are rather large with old pieces of furniture, those on the upper floor having a nice view over the ocean and the nearby isles. However sound insulation is not always perfect...

Breakfast and dinners on the terrace were very nice moments.
Breakfast choice may be a bit limited, but dinner quality and service were fine.

  • Liked — Wonderful view, excellent welcome by the owner and staff.
  • Disliked — Poor sound insulation.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fregate Bleue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fregate Bleue

Address: Fregate Est 4, Le Francois 97240, Martinique
Location: Caribbean > Martinique > Arrondissement of Le Marin > Le Francois
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Le Francois
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fregate Bleue 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming hotel on the heart of Martinique, has been able to stay authentic, serene and friendly. It is in fact furnished and decorated in a typical Creole style. The tropical garden and the view of the Atlantic Ocean and the François’s islets are dazzling. An outdoor swimming pool allows you to relax with a punch. The size of the property allows a warm welcome and quality service. The dedicated staff will give you the best tips to discover Madinina, the flower island.The hotel is ideal for both business clients and leisure travelers, whether alone, as a couple, with friends or family.Wi-Fi and parking are free during the stay. The hotel has a conference room and a reception room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Fregate Bleue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fregate Bleue Hotel
Hotel Fregate Bleue Martinique/Le Francois

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fregate Bleue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.