We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be back... Paradise with an amazing service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Palms Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Palms Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Moragalla, Beruwala 0034, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Beruwala
Union, Washington
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Will be back... Paradise with an amazing service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We spent only one night at palms. We should have book for more. The room was enormous. The furnishing lavish and the view spectacular. A breath taking location with a large public area. Over looking the sea. Thank you and good luck

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    184
    106
    56
    20
    19
See reviews for
90
163
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were moved to this hotel following a bad experience at another!!.we were greeted with a warm welcome and have to stay that this group of hotels is by far the best alongside jetting in Sri Lanka from what we have seen.the rooms were clean, the communal areas were clean and smelt lovely.the staff were extremely friendly.the pool was always clean and lounger available.we had a great time here.we caught the local train as the station is close to galle that is definitely an experience .we were impressed by the food and entertainment .we would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: "2nd floor view is more clear".
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombo Sri Lanka
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Jet wing travels made our reservation at Palms, we selected palms out of ten Hotels in Beruwela,
Superb Selection , Lovely pool , well maintained ,garden , Very specious bed rooms, cean lobby ,very efficent staff ,delicious food , lovely souronding What else we accept from hotel , it was like a heven , we enjoyed lot.........

Room Tip: Upper Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galle, Sri Lanka
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

It was our first wedding anniversary, i just put date on registration card. Woow it was amazing durring the dinner time hotel staff arrange lovely cake on a decorative table. And our room was arranged with beautiful flowers. Never foget our first wediing anniversary experience at The Palms. Big thanks for everyone. Will be there for our second anniversary.

Room Tip: All rooms are sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This was our family's second stay at the Palms; we returned this year because we felt it was a good value for the area based upon our experiences last year. We could not have been more wrong. First of all, there were a number of drinking-related incidences perpetrated by other (intoxicated) guests at the hotel, that were not managed / mitigated by the hotel staff. I will not go into details, but I am not faint-hearted, but I was absolutely disgusted by the vulgarity of the goings-on. Secondly, my husband and I were the victims of a scam whereby food and beverage charges paid in cash were double-billed against our room. It seems that the wait staff are pocketing the cash - management did nothing to resolve the situation. Personally, at a beach resort, I prefer not to have to collect receipts (never mind keep them intact and dry). However, if you stay at the Palms, you either have to charge everything to your room (and double-check with other members of your party, so that they're not being charged for the same services, as you have) or collect all of your receipts, and be prepared to give yourself plenty of time at check-out to audit your bill. Ours was only one experience, so a single data point. My advice is to look elsewhere - there are plenty of options in the Bentota area, and if you elect to stay at the Palms, buyer beware to avoid falling victim to a scam. I would seriously advise anyone with children to avoid this facility as it is inappropriate for minors due to the behavior of main clientele of this resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My Wife and I spent 2 nights 3 days last weekend (11~13th October 13'). It was a total relax holiday. Hotel was very accomodative and obliged our early check-in request. Not only that we were upgraded to a suit as we came to celebrate our 20th Wedding Anniversary. Room was specious and the bathroom was very clean. The white sandy beach was the main attraction at this location where spent all 3 morning. the beach is very clean and can walk about 1km or so which we walked every morning and evening. The Hotel staff was very helpful. Mr. Ranjith from the restuarnt was very kind. he always came and spoke to us at meal times and offered his assistance. Only drawback we could mention is that the food choice was average. yet still it was tasety. All in all we both enjoyed our stay very much.

Room Tip: get a room overlooking the pool and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

I must thanks to everyone was at the hotel as they made myself comfortable. Food was great with many different types of Currys and fresh fruits for dessert. Room was beautiful and everyday the house keeping boys clean the room. Nice view from my balcony. Reception people are very helpful and they receive a very good comments from my partner. Thank you so much for a wonderful week.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Hotel

Address: Moragalla, Beruwala 0034, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Beruwala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Beruwala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Palms Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your The Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms Hotel Beruwela
The Palms Hotel Sri Lanka/Beruwala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.