We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel but nothing more” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Palms Hotel to your Saves list
The Palms Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Moragalla, Beruwala 0034, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Beruwala
Kfar Saba, Israel
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A nice hotel but nothing more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The location and design are beautiful, right on the beach.
The pool is very big but pretty shallow and full of many many dead bugs in it all day long.
The food is pretty great and varied.
The shower in the room got flooded during showers and didn't dry for a long time.
The hotel was very noisy at night because of the loud music played in the lobby area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    115
    65
    26
    23
See reviews for
104
182
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Me n my friend checked in to the Palms on the 11th JAN 2013 for 2 nights.We were doing a market research in Sri Lanka about the beach resorts as I'm running my own travel company and I hand pick hotels for my clients.
I must say from the time we entered the hotel we received VIP treatments but the hotel staff did not know that we were travel researchers and we did not mention it either as we really wanted to feel how they are gonna treat us.
This isnt a Luxury hotel but the property is very eco friendly,peaceful and very relaxing and the staff was amazing.
I have to say that the Front Office Manager Ruchira Karunarathne was a great lady with excellent public relations skills and made sure that we are comfortable.Even the General Manager was going around and assisting guests and even asking them how has everything been so far which is something rare to see these days.
The front office staff was extremely courteous,specially the guys at the reception and the guys who was attending in room services.
The rooms were extremely clean and comfortable.The breakfast buffet was plentiful and the dinner too had a good choice.Overall great staff and the service,not forgetting to mention about the band who plays on SAT nights.Excellent!And we thoroughly enjoyed that.
This property is on the beach and is a clean nice sandy beach that you will enjoy.
We would stay here again without hesitation and without a doubt I recommend this hotel to all my clients.
Even our driver was looked after very well which does not happen in most of the hotels in Sri Lanka.
P;S A Big Thank you to the hotel higher management as I'm sure they look after their staff no matter whether they're junior or senior members in the hotel as they all sound happy to work there.Most of the staff are working there for over 6 years which is a pleasant thing to hear..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The entry to this hotel is pretty spectacular: a tranquil, shaded walkway lined by palm trees and water features. The foyer maintains this standard: there is an island bar in the middle and tropical indoor plants. You then progress to the pool area - and beyond that, the beach. Basically everywhere you go is nice; the hotel fits seemlessly in with the beautiful surrounds.

Cons: The service was frankly strange. There was a noticeably grumpy bellboy, and a bar waiter who brought me a really awful lassi when I ordered tea. He said it was made specially for me and I said that's nice but not what I ordered. I think the bar was trying to palm of spare drinks and save on tea..? Who knows. Strange.

Internet only worked if you stood with your phone right by reception.

Every evening local performers would perform in the foyer...this would be good if they weren't so extremely bad. Picture a guy and an electric keyboard doing awful renditions of western songs from the 80s, in a Sri Lankan accent. Amusing, maybe, until you go to bed and can still hear him, even though your on level 3.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

made a booking through agoda, it was a very busy day but the front of the staff welcomed us very warmly and very efficiently handed our reservation. first day we had our meals at their sea food restaurant. its was a nice meal and prices were very reasonable. room was clean large garden well maintained. because of their service we extended our stay for 2 more nights.. we will come back again with our friends.....

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms are good for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

When you try to access the hotel from the gall road, you will think twice to use the road but when you reach the hotel , you will not mind taking this road. The staff are very friendly and will go out of the way to make your holiday a joyful one. the rooms are ok. The sea front is one of the best to have a sea swim with your family. the choice of food is great. The Food & Beverage team is very helpful and just tell them what you like & they will do the needful. the rates are very reasonable. If you are in the hotel , dont miss to talk to Dilani the guests relations & Zameer the restaurant manager who will really make all your dream wisher a reality.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Nice Location directly on the beach - but to go out is very difficult, because there are many beachboys and they only want to get a "white lady" - any age :-) The hotelmanagement is not happy to get complains from ladies, they dont take care for the beachboy-problem - so I never was swimming in the ocean!
The personal in the rezeption is very unfriendly, and also dont like to accept orders from an "allone-travelling" lady!!!
Very sad, so when the management would do their work correctly, this would be a nice hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I am really surprised by some of the reviews for this hotel.

We stayed here over the Christmas/New Year period and we cannot praise the hotel and it's staff highly enough.

On our arrival, our luggage was collected by the hotel porters and we were lead inside through wonderful manicured gardens where we were greeted with drinks and our luggage was taken up to our room. Reception staff and porters were very friendly and helpful.

Our room overlooked the beach/garden area and was a good size room on the second floor. It was maintained by a young boy named Upul who was an absolute delight. Very polite and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. He decorated our bed with flowers every day and made our room a joy to return to each day.

The pool (which was a great size and fantastic for children) and surrounding grounds were spotless and the boys that looked after the beds were brilliant - friendly and polite. The well-kept grounds look over the beach - a long stretch of golden sand with shallow waters and great waves.

The hotel staff really make you feel special and we were looked after very well, with staff regularly wandering up to us to ask if we would like drinks/snacks without sounding pushy or invasive. A particular mention has to go to Rohan, or Forest as he likes to call himself. A polite friendly young man who joked and laughed with us and who is a great asset to the hotel..

We ate in the dining room a number of times during our stay and the food was of a very good standard with dishes to cater for all tastes, from salads to pasta to curries and stir-frys. We also participated in the Christmas Eve and New Year dinner galas. The food for both occasions was superb and the chefs really excelled themselves. Yet again the staff in the restaurant were friendly and polite and a special mention has to go to the young man, Dinesh, who really looked after us. So polite, friendly and helpful and again a great asset to the hotel, he along with other members of staff made our stay very special.

We had originally booked to leave the hotel on the 2nd of January - taking a trip to Kandy and the hills and then finding somewhere else to stay, but we loved the hotel so much we decided to book it for our remaining duration when we returned from Kandy. What a great reception we got when we got back. Staff greeted us with smiles and drinks, the hotel managed to book us in the same room and our room boy made a lovely 'welcome back' arrangement on our bed.

I don't know what people expect from a hotel but if you want to stay somewhere which is clean and well kept, relaxed and friendly and not too big and whose ethos is to look after you and make your stay one to remember then I can thoroughly recommend The Palms. The hotel and staff made our visit to Sri Lanka one to remember for a very long time and we are so pleased we stayed there.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the gardens away from the Pool area are quieter - the evening entertainment may be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Hotel

Address: Moragalla, Beruwala 0034, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Beruwala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Beruwala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Palms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms Hotel Beruwela
The Palms Hotel Sri Lanka/Beruwala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.