We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel excellent – staff friendly and helpful – Cyril the perfectly host” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tropical Villas to your Saves list
Tropical Villas
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   Moragalla, Beruwala 12070, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Yorkshire England
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Hotel excellent – staff friendly and helpful – Cyril the perfectly host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

Hotel excellent – staff friendly and helpful – Cyril the perfectly host
The stay at the Tropical Villas was the perfect relaxing break in an oasis of calm
The hotel is small and set in own grounds with an excellent pool and five minute walk from the beach where you can expect to be pestered by the beach boys
Cyril the manager is the perfect host leading his team to ensure that you enjoy your stay with them
Talking to the staff they have all be there for some time and go the extra mile to ensure you enjoy the stay for example flowers on the pillow when they have set the Mosie net in the evening
Food is always freshly prepared and good with a wide variety all of which are available in generous portions
To escape the hotel I would recommend Darma for a taxi – Darma may be found at the gates of the Palm Hotel or on 034 227 4578 // M 077 519 60 63 – a full day tour to Galle and Weligama (the stick Fishermen) ---8000 Rupee – Darma also recommended a lunch stop an Coffee stop at very reasonable prices
Alternately by Tut Tut (Percy located at the front of the hotel ) will take you to Alutgama (200 Rupee) , Beruwala (300 Rupee) or the Brief Gardens (1000 Rupee) – entrance 1000 Rupee each – but well worth a visit
You can also walk to the Big Buddha (20 minutes) turn right out of the hotel then left once over the river – inside is the tsunami memorial – moving
The Cargills (Food City) supermarket in either Alutgama or Beruwala is set price (no haggle) for the tea and spices essential as gifts for home
There is talk of re development of the hotel which is now part of a group that includes both the Palm and the Riveria hotel – watch for what may happen – I hope that they don’t spoil paradise
WiFi available 60 mins 200 rupee – we used a Skype video link to show our daughter round the hotel and ground s – the staff were either delighted to be able to say hello to London or thought us to be mad

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
10
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Doha
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

Arrived late at night on 16 Nov and although we had a printed confirmation from Agoda which a travelling companion had made. The hotel stated that they had no record of our booking. They offered to put us up in another hotel for 'one night only' which we reluctantly accepted given that it was midnight and we had nowhere else to go after flying and driving for hours to get there.

The one-night sister hotel reminded me of a benidorm package deal establishment with very dated appeal (cracked tiles, faded linen and curtains, you get the picture...) and constant pneumatic hammerdrills next to our room clattering from early morning till late at night. Two single beds, no lounge area no coffee making facilities in the room, and facilities that would have been great if I were a member of the 18-30 eastern european or aging German crowd (being the main clientelle). The hotel had neither the double bed, or the spa that we had booked into Tropical Villas for.

The next day we tried then to recheck-in at Tropical Villas and were told that they could not accomodate us, and refused to compensate for not having the same accomodation that we'd booked. We felt cheated, but again, had nowhere else to go after flying half way round the world.

After the hotel staff refused to call agoda to sort the problem on the night we arrived, I tried to call Agoda on their 24/7 help line on my mobile (international roaming rates...) navigating through the call centre options and receiving no option to actually speak to a human. I then emailed Agoda on the same night (mobile roaming data rates...) and received an automated email response that we would be contacted shortly. I have now returned home and am still waiting for Agoda to get back to me. Shocking treatment.

It had me wondering if they deliberately overbook so thay can filter customers off to their flagging neighbour.

I will neither return to Sri Lanka, or trust a booking through Agoda again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

me and my mum stayed here in september,we had an absolutely fabulous time made all the more so by the ever attentive and lovely staff, the restaurant manager was kind enough to send us afteernoon tea every, which was a real nice touch. the rooms were kept spotless by our young man who left beautiful floral displays each day. the hotel itself had excellent facilities, the pool was a treat as were the cocktails at the bar! my mother not being able to walk too far on arrival was loaned a wheel chair made available to us by Cyril the hotel manager a charming man. the food was delicious and varied and beautifully presented ( dare i say this was the first ever holiday i didnt suffer tummy trouble, a big positive). I definetely will return here again and wish to keep in touch with the staff as i know changes are in the midst, however i hope this excellent team will remain together, it was a real nice holiday Thank you x x x x x x x

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perthshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

I arrived at Tropical Villas, located on the busy Colombo-Galle road, not sure what to expect behind the unpretentious facade of this 'hotel'. Once inside away from the noisy and chaotic traffic, I soon succumbed to a warm welcome by the staff at Reception, enjoyed a refreshing drink, and after quick completion of registration formalities was shown to my 'villa'.
The room was spacious, with a sitting area; clean & simply and comfortably furnished - twin beds. Efficient airconditioning & fan provided. In the evenings a mosquito net was put down over the beds and the room & bathroom sprayed with insecticide.....a must in this tropical climate.
At times I sat out on the verandah and enjoyed a cup of tea and watched the wildlife- birds, palm squirrels, mongoose, grass lizards and a large water monitor- coming and going.
The grounds were full of tropical vegetation -trees, shrubs, creepers and coconut palms. The resident Naturalist was a great source of information on the flora and fauna. Hidden amongst all this was the Ayurvedic Spa ( I can recommend a herbal oil massage amongst other treatments offered by the friendly personnel). Also in the quadrangle was the well maintained swimming pool and a pool-bar.
In the open sided dining area, food served was varied in choice and of excellent standard. I took to the buffalo curd & coconut honey for dessert - very soothing especially after the curries! Sometimes a 4 course menu (with choice of main course and dessert) or buffet. The Exec Chef was often present at meals and provided ready answers to my queries about unusual dishes.
After the evening meal I would go up to the airconditioned bar and enjoy a night cap.
A short walk through the grounds of a neighbouring hotel takes one to the beach. At this time of the year the beach was uncrowded. It was such a pleasure to swim in the warm Indian Ocean.
Overall I had a wonderful holiday at Tropical villas. The buildings/rooms could do with some refurbishment to enhance appearance and an already quite special atmosphere.
Without exception all the staff & management were extremely hospitable and friendly...Service with a Smile! and certainly I am encouraged to visit Sri Lanka again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

This is a small excellent, secluded, well run, organised & reasonably priced hotel with a great Ayurveda Spa (Personally recommend you have a massage) My wife and I stayed there for 3 nights, from arrival to departure they couldnt do enough to make sure we were comfortable and felt valued. Food choice was great and well presented. Manager came to talk to us daily to ensure we were completely satisfied and staff were extremely polite friendly and helpful. Will definately visit again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

what a wonderfull hotel small around 52 rooms, but what a place a tropical heaven, lovely rooms the gardens and the wild animals which roam around the grounds makes this a hotel not to miss.
The staff are so attentive they are friendly and such lovely people,the food is of a very high standard.We stayed for two weeks 11oct 2010 onwards.could not find find anything to complain about. if your going to this area please make sure you stay here.
THE ONLY BAD THING ABOUT THIS WAS TIME WENT SO QUICK.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

We had a 3 week all-inclusive holiday based at this hotel. Arriving at 6 o'clock in the morning we were offered a very welcome cup of tea before being taken to our room. Unlike many hotels in the area it is low rise and low-impact being built around a tropical garden full of wildlife and I liked the way that in the public areas you moved from inside to outside without having to go through doors. The staff are wonderful - the manager Cyril takes time to learn the names of the guests and makes a point of talking to you every day; the Ex(cellent) Chef produces a wide range of food - particular favourites were the vegetable pakoras, the herb porridges with jaggery and the lemon mousse - and is always keen to talk about it; the maitre d' also comes to check that everything is to your liking and the other staff in the dining room are very friendly and helpful.
Our room boy Lallith had very high standards of cleanliness and tidiness and kept our room beautifully. We had a 6 day trip away from the hotel and when we got back he had made a "welcome home" card and put flowers in the room.
All of the other staff were equally friendly and helpful.
Having to go through another hotel to get to the beach wasn't a great hardship - it gave us the chance to look at the buildings and layout of a more "standard" hotel type and made us appreciate the setting of the Tropical Villas even more.
There are a lot of things to see and do locally - Aluthgama market, the Brief Gardens, the buddhist temple, Beruwala harbour and fish market - all accessible by tuktuk. We ventured farther afield and visited a lot of cultural things in the interior as well as Hortons Plain and World's End and saw wildlife in Kaudulla and Yala National Parks. For an adventure I would recommend the goods train from Oyia to Ella through the most amazing scenery imaginable and, if you haven't got a bad back, the train from Colombo Fort to Kandy.
All in all we had an amazing and varied holiday - relaxing by the pool, watching the torrential rain from the balcony, listening to the cicadas, watching the fireflies, eating some wonderful curries....I want to go back!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropical Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Villas

Address: Moragalla, Beruwala 12070, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Beruwala
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Beruwala
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropical Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Also Known As:
Tropical Villas Hotel Beruwala
Tropical Villas Sri Lanka/Beruwala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.