We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute place, lovely staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hydra Icons Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hydra Icons Guest House to your Saves list
Hydra Icons Guest House
Hydra Port, Hydra Town 18040, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hydra Town B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cute place, lovely staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My partner and I stayed several nights here and loved it. Yiannis the owner was very kind and had great information on the island. The other staff we very lovely too.
The rooms had traditional charm with a modern twist and were clean.
The location is great its close to the port with a position up on the hill which gave you a lovely view from the roof top area. It means you have to climb steps to get here but to be honest, if you don't like steps Hydra probably isn't the island for you.
Overall, for a guest house, the price and style is spot on.
Thanks for a lovely stay! Tom and Justine

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Good, central location. You need to climb a few steps to reach it (no disabled access).

Average size, very clean room, with comfortable bed. No view.

Small, slightly uncomfortable shower, with just a curtain separating you from the toilet.

Very polite and friendly host. He gave us tips for the whole island, what to visit, what to avoid, how to get to the beaches. He also suggested we could call him at his cellphone at any time, and constantly queried us throughout our stay about whether we were having a good time or if we had any problems.

There is a small terrace where you can sit and enjoy an amazing view of the whole town.

The price is good given that no breakfast is included. It is definitely good value for the price and would definitely suggest it and stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We were placed in a room next to the reception. Unfortunately we didnt get a balcony or a window overlooking the sea or the city but I guess this would be available on a higher room rate (we paid 180€ for 3 nights). Our window faced on a building next door. So we didn't bother opening it. Thus, we did not experience the sea breeze in our room (only a/c)! The Icons guest house is the renovated version of an older guest house. The room was ok, it could have been cleaner though. Also, the old lady living on the ground floor was a bit talkative in the morning with neighbours passing by while we were sleeping (around 8am). The owner was polite and helpful. He gave us a map and directions of places to eat or drink. All in all, a positive experience. However, I would search more accommodation options next time I visit Hydra. It is a lovely island! Worths the visit!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

we stayed for 3 night during July 2013.The owner - extremely helpful - informed us pretty much about everything on the island, (although we didn't had time to go everywhere) and we felt really good and safe when he gave us his mobile phone number and told us that we could call him 24/7 if we needed anything. Icons is a very clean guesthouse, value for money and elegantly decorated.The 360 terrace view is beyond words (an umbrella would be helpful). Such small details kept me from giving the guesthouse 5 points, but the whole picture still was great.Keep it up John!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torino
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

spent a week in this nice guest house.
rooms may vary in price and dimensions but every room is really comfortable and clean - air conditioning, frigo, wifi, and everything to have a great rest!
the guest house has a wonderful terrace where to stop by for staring at the sunset or at the moon, reading a book or just relaxing before going to bed.
coffee machine at the reception is free (wow!)
the owner is very nice, always ready to help his guests providing very wise suggestions on place for eating, beaches, bars...all
Location is pretty good, only 5 minute walking from the port.
Only cons I found is the number of stairs to climb to get to the hostel entrance and then to get to the rooms - very steep and unfortunately too many...but don't worry, the owner will certainly help you with your luggage!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed here December in the "Sophia Loren " room. It was a really nice room, very bright, comfortable bed, and nice bathroom. The manager John was a very nice guy who was very helpful when it came to recommending things to see and places to eat. We were provided a discount at many of the local restaurants/bars on the island.
The rooms could have been cleaned a little more thorough, but at least the bed linens were spotless.
Located a short (less than 5 minutes) walk from the port.

Overall good place and I will stay there again next time I visit.

Room Tip: The Sophia Loren room has the best view of any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Αθήνα, Ελλάδα
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We spent two great days there during April. Very cozy and clean room, as the hotel is new. Very close in the center of Hydra. The hotel provided us with a discount card, so we used it in many restaurants and bars. The only negative is that the hotel does not offer breakfast. Otherwise it is a great choise for weekend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hydra Icons Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hydra Icons Guest House

Address: Hydra Port, Hydra Town 18040, Greece
Location: Greece > Saronic Gulf Islands > Hydra > Hydra Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Hydra Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hydra Icons Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hydra Icons Guest House Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hydra Icons Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.