We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Dreamlike Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cotommatae 1810 Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cotommatae 1810 Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Cotommatae 1810 Boutique Hotel
Andrea Rafalia str, Hydra Town 15234, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hydra Town
5.0 of 5 stars 51 Reviews
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Dreamlike Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We felt very fortunate to stay at this special little hotel on Hydra recently. Beautifully and elegantly restored, this old Mansion house is still warm and welcoming, with many thoughtful little touches, everywhere you turn, like quality toiletries, homemade biscuits with tea, comfortable daybeds piled with plump colourful cushions, and sparkling outdoor lanterns lining the many beautiful terraces. The staff, led by the charming, friendly and professional Yiannis, we're caring,helpful, responsive and efficient. Our lovely spacious room, the mezzanined The Sponge Room, was full of character and comfort and perfect for a four night break away. Thank you for a wonderful stay and we hope to stay with you again one day.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
25
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

The photos represent this boutique hotel well. Location is good up a bit from waterfront, but still reasonable to take your luggage on your ownOur family of 4 stayed two nights in one of the cellar rooms. A split level. Very pleasing decor. Unlike many our our accommodations in Greece which were either very practical or a bit of a hodgepodge, this hotel appeared intentionally composed to be pleasing to the eye. Very quiet. With shutters closed, the room is very dark and our kids slept until the unheard of hour of 9am. Late sleepers could easily have slept longer in this peaceful setting with breakfast served until noon. Friendly staff. Very nice and generous breakfast spread.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frosso Z, Διευθυντής at Cotommatae 1810 Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our Boutique hotel for your holiday accommodation. Thank you also for publishing your opinion on the Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your points about photos that are in accordance with reality, short distance to the port and the aknowledgement of the pleasant and relaxing setting.
Receiving our guests’ compliments encourages and motivates us to keep up with our efforts to offer a pleasant, relaxing and unforgettable stay. Our greatest reward is to obtain the positive feedback from our clientele as our aim is to exceed our guests’ expectations.
We will be looking forward to welcoming again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed just for one night and wish it had been many more. Beautifully restored mansion house, straight out the pages of Elle Décor. My room was The Cellar, a split-level room with three beds. Great linen, water pressure, Korres toiletries and outside space. Lovely staff who couldn't have been more helpful. Hyra is stunning - we were lucky with the weather in October and were able to pop down for a morning swim in the Aegen and later enjoy freshly caught calamari.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frosso Z, Διευθυντής at Cotommatae 1810 Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We express our gratitude at your visit at our Boutique Hotel and your online review.

We could not be happier to read that you had an enjoyable holiday at our hotel, and you liked the setting of our property, our decoration and restoration which was the outcome of love to our family history. We are glad that you spent nice and relaxing holiday in idyllic Hydra, very close to Ahens with a unique beauty that can be enjoyed all year round more over that you note our friendly, helpful and efficient staff.

We will be glad to welcome you again at Cotommatae1810.

Faithfully yours,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at Cotommatae 1810 for 9 nights. The house itself is full of history and quite stunning. It has been renovated to a very high standard, whilst the charm of the old building can still be seen and felt. The staff are very welcoming and hospitable to the guests. The B&B is situated a few minutes from the main Hydra port. Hydra itself is a very charming with it's quirky back streets, with a surprise around every corner. No vehicle traffic which is a plus, just donkeys. We highly recommend Cotommatae, it is a very special place to stay. Beds are very spacious and comfortable. We stayed in Pigeons Suite with the Jacuzzi, perfect. This is definitely a gem and I am so glad a did my research. A huge thank you to Giannis and Ilianna :0)

Room Tip: Suite Pigeons
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at Cotommatae for just one night and had the most fantastic time. The house itself is full of history and quite stunning. It has been renovated and has a very modern aesthetic but the structure of the old mansion is still very visible. The staff are very welcoming and hospitable to the guests. Iliana is the best, going the extra mile always (thanks Iliana from Grace!). The B&B is situated a few minutes from the main Hydra port. Hydra itself is a very charming destination, no vehicle traffic which is a plus. We highly recommend Cotommatae, it is one of the most special B&B's we've experienced in our travels! P.S. Cotommatae has been featured in travel magazines a number of times which in itself says a lot!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Very enjoyable stay in small family owned hotel. Beautifully decorated and staff very helpful. Breakfasts were good with homemade dishes. Lots of good nearby restaurants for dinner. Without traffic and garish development Hydra is a delight and probably even more so in the off-season.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Not only was the hotel romantic and perfectly settled, but also its people made us feel like unique guests. Small details that made ​​the difference, as the homemade and rich breakfast, the courtesy of all staff, mini luxuries in the room and the excellent aesthetics of the space.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cotommatae 1810 Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotommatae 1810 Boutique Hotel

Address: Andrea Rafalia str, Hydra Town 15234, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Saronic Gulf Islands > Hydra > Hydra Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hydra Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotommatae 1810 Boutique HotelIn the centre of the historical town of Hydra Cotommatae 1810 is a traditional Hydrian Mansion which was restarted with much care and respect, and after 4 years of arduous work has started functioning like a Boutique Hotel.Cotommatae 1810 Boutique Hotel is within easy access from the seashore of the town, without having to climb up steps, its situated only 200 m from the port, the cafes, restaurants, bars and the terminus of the sea – taxis for excursions to the island’s seaside and beaches. At the same time the Guest House is situated in a quiet district and its lofty stone – walls surround the yards, the garden and the verandas.Cotommatae 1810 Boutique Hotel has achieved the balanced harmony, comfort, luxury and true style.The Mansion has 5 suites and two double bed rooms. Three suites can sleep up to 4 persons, one suite can put up to 5 persons, one suite can sleep 3 persons and the two romantic double – bed rooms are available for couples.Every room its name from the use the Family used to apply in the old times. Atmosphere and comfortable furniture can grant amiable surroundings which come in harmony with the character of the Mansion but also the authentic and unique character of Hydra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cotommatae 1810 Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotommatae 1810 Boutique Hotel Hydra, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cotommatae 1810 Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.