We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden of Missing Taste” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Garden of Taste Tavern - CLOSED

Garden of Taste Tavern
Port of Hydra island | Apostolis Matsokos, Hydra Town, Greece
22980 - 53705
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Westfield, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
399 reviews 399 reviews
360 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 164 cities Reviews in 164 cities
306 helpful votes 306 helpful votes
“Garden of Missing Taste”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

It seems everybody's brother or cousin owns or works in a restaurant in Greece. I don't fault the hardworking and generally amiable Greeks who are earning a living in these difficult times. But this place is typical of the forgettable; and sometimes regrettable meals one often endures in the more touristed venues.

A nice garden and pleasant servers. Main course: pork steak-ok, but nothing to write home about. I can, and often do better on my own grill. Tomato and cucumber salad-with 2 olives! Tomatoes and cucumbers were nearly plastic-with no taste. Olives, not Greece's best.

Restaurant had none of the professionally bottled wine on the menu-blamed the ferries. Their house bottled wine was drinkable, and so was the bottled water, but generic tabke wine at best: cabernet sauvignon? Hardly.

There is the annoying Greek habit of reasonably good service breaking down 2/3s of the way through the meal. It is a little early to go off for a cigarette and look for more customers. Some folks might actually want dessert and/or coffee and would prefer not to have to plead for it.

Their walnut pie, more like a gingerbread, was quite tasty By then, all our fellow tourists were gone-probably never to return. I take no pleasure criticizing nice people,
but this place needs major improvements.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    11
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A nice little taverna away from the port”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Great food (loved the braised veal with olives), friendly staff and well patronised by locals and tourists alike.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Just up from the port”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

If you crave authenticity then avoid the port strip and hunt out this place for real Greek food at a reasonable price- their freshly grilled fish and whole char- grilled calamari are amazing. We are there a few times and were rewarded for our loyalty with free dessert!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great ambience, reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The food here is absolutely delicious. Everything we ordered was exceptional. We liked it so much we ate here 5 nights in a row and overhead the statement "this is the best meal we've had on the island" many times from other customers.

The ambience is great as the restaurant has outdoor seating in a beautiful garden setting. I remember looking around one evening at the other customers and everyone looked happy, contented and enjoying a wonderful dining experience.

The owners, Antonio, Sophia and their 13-year-old son are delightful - hardworking, friendly and fun.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very pleasant experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My boyfriend and I ate here last year and then again this year. Both times we were very happy with our meals...and actually the whole experience. The restaurant is located in a quiet spot away from the hustle and bustle of Hydra's harbor. The setting is quite pleasant...like dining in a garden! The service was very friendly...and efficient. We began our meal with an appetizer of their spicey cheese spread. I ordered the sardines for an entree and they were delicious! We found the house wine quite good. We were both happy with our dining experience...for the second time! If we are lucky enough to return to Hydra...I would love to return to the Garden of Taste for a third time!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garden of Taste Tavern also viewed

 
Hydra Town, Hydra
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden of Taste Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.