We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay on Hydra, superb customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Piteoussa Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Piteoussa Guest House to your Saves list
Piteoussa Guest House
18040 Hydra, Hydra Town 18040, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hydra Town B&B and Inns
London
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay on Hydra, superb customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed five nights at the Piteoussa over the new year, and had a wonderful time. From arrival the owner, Yiannis, could not have been any more helpful and accommodating, from showing us around the various rooms he had available, to giving us directions and information about the island (including about the otherwise unknown opening of the suberb Omilos restaurant on New Year's Eve).

We were in the superior room, which has its own little private garden and is somewhat larger than the rooms upstairs, though obviously has no view. The room's standard was high and it was very clean, and is clearly well-looked after. The guest house is in a great spot - only a few minutes walk from the port, but still secluded and extremely quiet. The only thing to note is that during the winter the room can get a little cold until the air-conditioning kicks in, but that's something to do with the stone houses of Hydra. Not a problem in the summer though!

So, in summary: a really lovely place, great value, and a welcoming and unfailingly lovely owner. If we visit Hydra again, we'll be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony if you would like one. The taverna a few yards further up the hill is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    19
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
18
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

I dont know what happens, but the room what i had was extra small, AC was not working, the wather was only cold, strange stuff, no TV, bad beds, bad towels. I will never return. Let say only the location was fine.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Our room was rustic but had everything we wanted. The mini-fridge was a nice touch and we were pleased to find a nice, quiet place. The walk from the port is short (but can feel long dragging suitcases across the cobblestones). BUT.... the jewel of this stay was the customer service. When high winds forced all sea taxis and Flying Dolphins to stop running we were in a panic. Only hours before my husband was supposed to run the Athens marathon, we couldn't find our way off the island. Not only did the owner come down to the port with us (despite a crippling back injury the day before), he also spoke to the captains of boats to find us a way out. We took a boat to the mainland and Yannis had already ordered taxis to take us to the next ferry so we were whisked away and made the 12:50 ferry out of Poros. A lot of places have great customer service, but this man was kind to his core. He helped 3 other groups of people off the island as well even though they were not his customers. He grouped us together so we could share the price of taxis, etc, and found the fastest, most economical way for us to get back to Athens. A true gem. I will return again just to know that the uncertain seas will not hinder my travel plans with Yannis on my side!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I chose this place based on previous reviews on TripAdvisor, and because I could see on a map that it was just a short walk away from the busy port of Hydra. I has a very pleasant stay. The owner (Yannis) was extremely friendly and helpful, assisting me in finding alternate methods of transportation off the island when the ferries went on strike. While this is not a five-star resort, the accommodations were more than adequate considering the budget-friendly price. I dragged my heavy suitcase on the cobblestones from the port to Piteoussa, and was grateful that there are NO steps between the port and the guesthouse.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a room with a balcony if you think you would enjoy such a feature.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011 via mobile

This little guest house is very romantic just a 5 minute walk from the harbour. Rooms are tidy and the guesthouse has a romantic admosfere. There is not much to do at the hydra island but for a few nights this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

The guesthouse is situated just 5 minutes from the port away from the hussle and bussle. The rooms were very clean and you get the added benefit of a fridge and tea/coffee making facilities. Your can request a room with a double bed which we were lucky to get and the owners are very friendly and recommend many things to do and see whilst on the island. Outside the rooms is a cortyard where you can sit and have breakfast or just relax after a days sightseeing with a book and a glass of wine.

Hydra is not cheap so this was a really good find, it was prefect for my requirments as a base to explore the islands whilst not being too hard on the pocket.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

The guest house was only a 3 min walk from the harbour although there were no views of the harbour itself. The owner Yannis was very friendy and advised us of the best restaurants and the ones where we could get a discount. The room was lovely, very pretty and there was even our own private courtyard with chairs and tables for us to sit at. We were impressed at the ipod docking station and the flatscreen tv. There was even lots of DVDs and books to read! The only complaint we would have is that the bed was extremely hard and not comfortable at all. We did struggle to get a good nights sleep. Also the towels were very small and very hard like sand paper so I would definately advise that people should take their own if stayin here! The bathroom was clean however quite dated and the shower head holder was broken so had to hold it over our heads to shower which was a little annoying. As with most hotels that have fixed bathroom hair dryers this one was pretty useless and took forever to dry my hair so I would advise girls to take thier own as well. Otherwise a perfectly good place to stay at a reasonable price. We loved Hydra and will hopefully be back in the future.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Piteoussa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piteoussa Guest House

Address: 18040 Hydra, Hydra Town 18040, Greece
Location: Greece > Saronic Gulf Islands > Hydra > Hydra Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Hydra Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Piteoussa Guest House on the beautiful Greek island of Hydra, the most exclusive and unique of the Saronic islands of Greece.Situated in a quiet area of Hydra Town, only a gentle five minutes from the harbour, you will find the Piteoussa Guest House offering a superb standard of accommodation for your holiday on Hydra Island Greece.His internal spaces maintain the traditional style and in combination with the all modern comforts make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Piteoussa Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piteoussa Guest House Hydra, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piteoussa Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.