We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Quality/Dreadful Quality” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Aeginitiko Archontiko

Aeginitiko Archontiko
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Aeginitiko Archontiko to your Saves list
Aeginitiko Archontiko
Ag Nikolaou & Thomaidou 1 Str, Aegina Town 18010, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Aegina Town
Scotland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“High Quality/Dreadful Quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Beautiful bed linen in pension quality, pokey, poor rooms and primitive bathrooms. Dead cockroach on the bedroom floor and lovely breakfast.Beautiful courtyard and bedroom windows you cannot open if you want privacy. The list of contrasts can go on relentlessly. It was advertised at €48 a night that we payed with a €50 note, the change never came and the receipt we got as we left showed the bill now as €50.
The manageress is indeed entertaining but you get the feeling that she is an "entertainer".
There is much, much better quality around and the price here is no way justified, sorry.

Room Tip: Open the window to see what is outside. If a window opens to the breakfast courtyard you will be awo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    8
    4
    5
    4
See reviews for
5
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Ive just come back from a 4 night stay at this hotel with my mother and we had the most wonderful time. As the previou review states its a little slice of paradise indeed. We had the most peaceful and relaxing stay and were able to switch off from the outside world. Aegina itself is stunning and this hotel is in a great location. Its minutes walk from the port and from lots of bars and restaurants, we never felt unsafe walking around even late at night. Kia Rena is a wonderful hostess, so lovely and friendly and her hoem cooked breakfasts are amazing!! She was very helpful when the ferry company went on strike and she arranged for a water taxi to get us back to the mainland for our flight home - although i would have happily have stayed on the island. I would definitely stay here again if i find myself in Aegina again... good value for money, clean rooms, sheets changed daily, great location, amazing breakfast. I felt very much at home.

Room Tip: We had a room upstairs which was lovely in the morning as you could sit outside and get teh morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

We found this hotel/Bed & Breakfast by accident as we wandered around Aegina. Ms. Rina, the hostess, is wonderful and really loves meeting people. Our room was very clean and charming. Ms. Rina cooks a great Greek breakfast. The food is fresh and wholesome. The hotel is over 200 years old and has a suite of rooms with the most beautiful painted ceilings. The verandas are beautifully decorated and are a lovely place to sit in the sunshine and drink your coffee. Ms. Rina is very knowledgeable about Aegina and the sites to see.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

We stayed there for 2 nights last summer (July) after visiting its website. We found that the common areas and the yard with the beautifully arranged flowers/vegetation were very attractive indeed. However, our room was very small, extremely basic (yet surprisingly clean) and totally incompatible with the gorgeous common areas. We paid 80 Euros per night – definitely not value for money – where it should have been 50-60 Euros max!!

Thumbs up: website, politeness of staff, cleaning room service, common areas such as breakfast yard

Thumbs down: the actual room, the uncomfortable bed, the old and dated decor of our room, the price

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

Really enjoyed the two nights we spent here recently. This place has bags of character and a great host in Mrs Rena, who lays out a breakfast spread worth the stay alone - the homemade cakes and marmalade are particularly good. Rooms are simple but pretty and clean, the communal areas are lovely, and the plumbing sings a bit in the morning but it all adds to the character of the place!

Aegina town also lovely, and a couple of tips we thought passing on: DO eat at To Monistaraki for cheap but very tasty souvlaki served by a friendly proprietor; and DON'T order cocktails at the Yacht Club Bar opposite the marina, as they don't seem to put any booze in them.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

Have been meaning to write this review for the last year... better late than never!

We booked the suite at Aeginitiko Archontiko for our wedding night. My husband met with the owner in person and paid for the room in full the week before the wedding (we both have family who live on the island and knew the hotel well, though we had never stayed there).

We showed up late at night, only to find the door to the hotel locked.... After ringing the bell for several minutes (mind you all of this with me in a wedding gown, my husband in a suit, and it pouring rain outside!!), someone showed up very confused as to why we were waking her up. After we explained that we had a reservation and had paid for the room, etc etc she told us we couldnt have the room, someone else was staying in it. She said because we hadnt showed up earlier they thought we werent coming and gave it to someone else....!!! We protested, showed her in her own reservation book where our name was written with a big "Paid in Full" and she apologized, said she hadnt known, and she didn't know what to do. Finally she went and checked and came back to tell us they had one small room they could offer us. We took the room, more out of desperation than anything. It was tiny, with one tiny window, and the "wall" between our room and the next was actually french doors that had been painted over and locked, with the headboard of the bed up against it to hide the handle. A mini-fridge was the bedside table.

Needless to say, we were furious! The whole situation was so ridiculous it was almost funny (almost...). In the end, they refunded our money and apologized.

The hotel itself could be quite nice (if a bit dated), and the location is great. But the management is so fantastically terrible that I would never, ever recommend this hotel to anyone (we have guests on the island quite often and I will most definitely continue to send them elsewhere).

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

My partner and I were very charmed by this little guesthouse and recommend it whole-heartedly.  It is around 200 years old but very well kept and has great character.  I think we were very lucky to stay in one of the most special rooms.  It was very charming and had a lovely painted ceiling.  The bathroom was basic but clean.  We had plenty of space and felt very relaxed there.  I would like to think that all the rooms are of similar standards.  The location is excellent, 5 mins walk from the port but at a quiet little street.  The lady that runs it (kiria Rena) is very pleasant, friendly, and hospitable and seems honest.  She takes great pride in her home cooking and prepares all the pies, cakes and jams that she serves for breakfast.  Everything we tried was delicious so it's worth opting for breakfast which was optional.   All the other guests seemed comfortable and happy and there was a nice sociable atmosphere.    If you are looking for a clean, safe place to stay, that is good value for money but is also quirky and authentic, you will love this little guest house!  PS: Look for the webiste, it's quite accurate and has photos.

Sofia, Greece & James, UK

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aeginitiko Archontiko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aeginitiko Archontiko

Address: Ag Nikolaou & Thomaidou 1 Str, Aegina Town 18010, Greece
Location: Greece > Saronic Gulf Islands > Aegina > Aegina Town
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Aegina Town
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Aeginitiko Archontiko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aeginitiko Archontiko Aegina/Aegina Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aeginitiko Archontiko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.