We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel. Brilliant family holiday experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Orquidea Bahia Feliz

Save Saved
You added Hotel Orquidea Bahia Feliz to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Orquidea Bahia Feliz
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viejos Tendereteros s/n, 35107 Bahia Feliz, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Bahia Feliz
Preston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel. Brilliant family holiday experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from our holiday at the Hotel Orquidea and we are going on the Internet tomorrow to book our next holiday there. I'm not going to write an essay but I feel the need to say that having read some of the reviews that have rated badly, I can only say to the writers of those reviews that you have either been stopping in a different hotel to us or you must be used to 5 star, silver spoon service. However, I suppose everyone's entitled to their own opinion. Here's ours:

Room: Clean and spacious. The rooms were cleaned daily and fresh towels and sheets were provided whenever we wanted them. The view from our balcony on the 7th floor was stunning. All floors are well serviced by 3 lifts. The only slight critism I have is the 3 steps in the room (every room is split-level) are not ideal if you have children of crawling / toddling age and the adults bed was two singles pushed together, other than that, fantastic.

Food: I am quite a fussy eater and I manged to find something different to eat every day and night. There are a number of restaurants on site and a fantasic snack bar. Yes, a lot of the food is the same but there are also different specialities on too. There is something for everyone, even down to the kids having their own food bar to choose from.

Pool area: Three pools, all clean. Plenty of sunbeds to go around.

Entertainment: I cannot speak highly enough of the entertainments team at the Orquidea especially Rossy Essex, Silly Millie and Aston Powers whose energy levels and enthusiasm were astounding. Our son is 3 and he could wait to see them every day. However they didnt stop at entertaining the kids. Everybody was made to feel part of the activities and nothing was too much trouble for them.
In addition to those 3, the whole team led by Big Daddy was superb. Danni, Sam and everyone else helped make our holiday fantastic.

In closing I'd say if you want 5 star accommodation and peace and quiet then this isn't for you. If you want a family holiday with something for everybody to do where you will be well looked after and entertained then the Orquidea is to the place to go.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    307
    266
    145
    51
    33
See reviews for
526
120
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haverhill, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Orquidea during the last two weeks of May and were a little worried about going after reading the poor reviews on tripadvisor, they couldn't be more wrong!

This is our first family holiday abroad with three children 6, 9 and 12 and we wanted a holiday where they could have fun and be amused all the time, they absolutely loved it and have already asked that we book to go back. Rossy Essex, Silly Millie and Big Daddy were amazing, they work really hard and the children loved all the activities - especially the aquafit and teatime live with Thomson the Dog - they keep you amused all day and evening.

The kids clubs were brilliant, the children loved Hyper Hayden, Bonkers Becky, Barny Bex and lovin it Laura - all I can say is thank you, they work so hard and the chocolate party was their favourite.

Also I can't forget the lifeguard, he was brilliant, always looking out for the children and making sure they are not running near the edge of the pool - I don't think he ever has a day off!!!. My little boy loved giving him a high five when they passed each other.

Our room was a suite on the second floor and was lovely, clean and very spacious, we had two bedrooms and a sofa bed in the lounge and the balcony was huge with four sunbeds on it!!

The food was amazing, we couldn't fault it, there was a lovely selection for both us and the children and being all inclusive was great, whenever the children wanted a drink or icecream they just helped themselves.

All in all it was a brilliant holiday, the weather was great, the rooms were clean, the food was lovely and the entertainment was brilliant. Thank you very much to all the team at the hotel for making our first holiday abroad a special one to remember.

The Clarke Family xxx

Room Tip: If you want a nice spacious room, book a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The hotel itself is fantastic, the Thompson Holiday reps are amazing and they will keep you entertained all day and night every day. The children's holiday club is the best we have ever used. The only downside to the actual holiday was that you are slightly out for trips and places to visit. Whilst taxis and buses are not that much it does add up. We had a brilliant time, found the excursions very pricey compared to other countries we have stayed at but overall if you have a child/ren then they will love it and so will you

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I'm a bit late in writing this review but with 3 children to keep me busy I have my excuse ;)

We came to this hotel beginning of May with my 7,5 & 2 year old, they absolutely loved it!
Entertainment for them was superb especially Rossy Essex, Millie and big Daddy. They couldn't be more helpful especially with the children wanting a turn in going onto the stage.
Kids club is the best my elder two went to a chocolate party and the other to a mad hatters tea party they had a brilliant time.

Food was amazing so much choice.

Swimming pools were great although a little cold but think that's due to it being overcast a couple of days. The life guard was excellent always on the ball as we witnessed a few mishaps there with some children :( he defiantly needs a pay rise!

Hotel was clean, staff were friendly and Thompson team were great and always happy to help.
Beach was the only disappointing thing as was black and horrible!
Also if you are happy just to stay in the hotel all the time then this is for you otherwise if you like to go out and about to do stuff this wouldn't be the right location as it has nothing around.

This is a great Family Hotel, I wouldn't say it is worth couples venturing to it to be honest though.

We would definitely consider going back as we all had a great time :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Just came back from a another lovely stay at the orquidea, room was lovely and we always have the English telly, weather was 30 every day, food was brilliant and plenty and the people are so helpful,it was busy though.the entertainment team were the best especialy big daddy :))))

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We have been to the Orquidea twice in the last 8 years as a couple and loved it. This time, as it is now a family resort hotel, we went back for 2 weeks with our Son who is 3 and half.

The hotel certainly didn't disappoint and most of it has had a makeover since we had last been (none of our rooms had AC the last time we were there in 40 degree heat so that was a welcome change this year). We had a really lovely junior suite which we could not fault where our son had his own bed rather than having to sleep on a sofabed. The reception area was lovely and clean, the hotel areas had a lovely fresh smell, and you always saw how hard the cleaners work every day cleaning all the areas.

Kids pool was fantastic, our son absolutely loved it and was in it practically all day. It only came up to his waist so very safe enough that we could sit on a sunbed next to the pool and watch him. It was very good to see a lifeguard on duty all day long, and not only was he there to supervise in case of accidents, he made sure all kids were safe by stopping them from running or doing dangerous things in the pool, plus he was great with all the kids, always giving them high fives.

The food was lovely (just as we had thought it was all those years ago) but now as it is All Inclusive we got to have a taste of lunchtime meals too, which were so varied and really very nice. In the main restaurant in the evening they had lots of variety. If you were there for 2 weeks then they do repeat the evening food theme each week, but they always have so much to choose from so you always have something different to choose from. The snack bar by the pool wasn't the best, but then we stuck to the other restaurant for our lunches.

The entertainment team are great in this hotel, and always have been. They are so good, they always have so many of the guests jump up to join in, they never have to persuade anyone. Their poolside entertainment is hilarious, as well as the entertainment in the evening which is great. Yes, as someone said, if you don't ask for a quiet room if you have young kids then you do hear all the noise from the evening entertainment when in your room, but my son managed to fall asleep straight away even with the noise, so it didn't bother us.

The kids club was brilliant. Our son loved going. He didn't go every day but when he did he had a great time. He won certificates, came out with his face painted and even came out one day having decorated cookies and cakes. The kids reps are brilliant and do an amazing job. They work so hard all day long with the three aged clubs, then most nights they do a kids party for 3 hours in the evening. They are all brilliant.

Yes it was very windy at times and in our first week we had a lot of days with lots of cloud, but then you can't change the weather, you just have to make the best of your holiday.

Our son thoroughly enjoyed himself in everything we did and loved everything about his holiday.

We would definitely recommend this hotel to a family with children. We would most certainly consider returning in the future.

Room Tip: Junior suites are great for families with 1 or 2 children. They have a separate main bedroom for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I would not normally review holidays however we had such a good time at this hotel that I thought I would put down my thoughts. The hotel itself was extremely clean and well maintained, the pool areas were excellent with plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas for all guests. We were quite concerned about going all inclusive as we had tried this before and had been extremely disappointed with the quality of the food, on this occasion the food was excellent, it was always fresh and plenty of it and there was lots of choice to suit everyone's taste. The hotel staff were welcoming and very friendly. However what made our holiday so much fun was the Thomson entertainment team located at the hotel, I cannot praise ALL of them highly enough, nothing was too much trouble for them - I do feel that I need to mention two in particular - Rossie Essex and Silly Millie - you went above and beyond as far as I am concerned - it was quite clear that all the entertainment team enjoyed their work - it definately showed. We do not usually enjoy this type of entertainment but I would have no hestitation in recommending this hotel and this team to anyone (I particularly enjoyed the pirate evening and the team -v- guests evening - you made my five year old son's holiday (particularly when he was called up on stage to receive his certificate). I would given this holiday 5 stars and wouldn't hestitate in recommending it to anyone if they want a good family experience - I would definately return in the future.

Room Tip: Higher level for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Orquidea Bahia Feliz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orquidea Bahia Feliz

Address: Viejos Tendereteros s/n, 35107 Bahia Feliz, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Bahia Feliz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Bahia Feliz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Orquidea Bahia Feliz 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Hotel Orquidea Bahia Feliz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Orquidea Bahia Feliz Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Orquidea Bahia Feliz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.