We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no words.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante La Aquarela

Restaurante La Aquarela
Apartamentos Aquamarina | Barranco de la Verga, 35120 Patalavaca, Gran Canaria, Spain
(0034) 928 735 891
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 restaurants in Patalavaca
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The restaurant “La Aquarela” is located in front of the ocean in Patalavaca, in the south of Gran Canaria. It opened more than 20 years ago with one goal, to offer the pleasure of tasting a refined cuisine in a privileged environment.After several years of an excellent reputation, it was actually from 1994 the restaurant La Aquarela rounded it qualities with the arrival of its new owner, Gregorio Fernández.Gregorio not only continues with the reputation of the restaurant on the island, but also rather consolidates its name, making it a reference.In its constant evolution, the restaurant knows how to combine the quality and consistency, offering its distinguished clientele a place to return, a place to enjoy self-indulgent moments.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“no words.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I am a chef for last 10 years, and i'm hard to please special when I pay more then average for food, but this place has it all, very nice food and service. far the best restaurant on the island

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    83
    10
    9
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stevns
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Heaven Can Wait,“Amazing restaurant - truly deserving of a Michelin star””
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We have experienced many Michelin star restaurants, and I couldn't rate Restaurante La Aquarela highly enough. Everything was perfect, from the dinner to the decor to the service, and the pricetag was incredibly reasonable too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food, but not excellent, definitely let down by service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

For the most expensive meal we had on the island (by a fair margin) the food and especially the service was was simply not up to standard. While some dishes were excellent, others were decidedly lack lustre or that they had over reached themselves (in terms of their ability). The service at times was almost shambolic since they brought the service tray stand to our table twice before we were actually served our food! At a lesser restaurant this could be forgiven, but for something clearly aiming to be michelin star, it's simply unforgivable.

The tables by the pool seemed very nice, however we were sat inside, as despite booking long in advance, they couldn't find our booking in their ledger. This meant we were sat in a stuffy room with little to no atmosphere, and definitely no view.

PS Ummm...the entries seem to have changed from when we looked last many of the reviews have magically disappeared!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Not all Canarian restaurants serve chicken and chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

In the gatronomic desert of the Canaries you find a restaurant like this with real gratitude. The cooking is imaginative with the balance of textures and flavours carefully thought out. The service is efficient and helpful and the total experience creates a strong desire to return and try the other dishes on the menu.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim. Norway
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Maybe the New Year Eves dinner is a little special. But we had a 5 course dinner New year eve of 2012. It was fantastic. The restaurant was crowded. The food was excellent. Tasty, rich and beautifully arranged.

The atmosphere of the restaurant is overwhelming - with the view over the pool and over the sunset and the sea at night!

For us this was a once ina a life time experience!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante La Aquarela also viewed

Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria
Patalavaca, Gran Canaria
 
Patalavaca, Gran Canaria
Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria
 

Been to Restaurante La Aquarela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante La Aquarela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.