We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay, we felt like royalty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alkionis Beach Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Alkionis Beach Apartments to your Saves list
Alkionis Beach Apartments
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Sfakaki, Crete 74100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Den Haag, Nederland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing stay, we felt like royalty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here for 1 week with a friend, we had low expectations because the rate was very low. But we were treated like royalty, the family who runs the hotel was super kind to us, so helpful, and they provided 5 star service - really, I can say this as a Hotelschool student specialized in 5 star hotels. There were so many little touches, for example: one day we woke up and sat on our balcony chatting. Suddenly there was a knock on our door, and the lady in charge(so sorry I forgot your name) brought us fresh cake and traditional greek breakfast with a big smile; for free! Just because she saw from outside that we were awake.
Also, we got a bigger room than booked (bedroom + living room!, super clean) and we had an amazing stay. Booked through Crete Holidays (super cheap and reliable! Nothing went wrong!!!).
Thank you so much, we will be back and I recommended this to all of my friends and family.

P.s. if you go here, a must-visit is restaurant Eleven (right next to the hotel)!! Best host, great food for a super low price, overlooking the sea.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    7
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at ALKIONIS BEACH for 7 nights mid September.
The people where very friendly. The appartment, the pool and beach were very clean.
We had an amazing view to the pool and the beach.
We look forward to our next visit to this great hotel.
Christine & Peter, Munich - Germany

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed here for a week earlier this year. we looked around for different hotels and resorts in Rethymnon from the very large complexes to the smaller- family run businesses.

Whilst we did not want to be in the city itself, we chose Alkionis because it was in close proximity to Rethymnon and not too far from some great, not crowded beaches.

The prices were good value for money, the food was decent and the service was particularly friendly. I would recommend it for couples or young families.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, we managed to get to many places as it is conveniently located not far off from a decent road network which good links to some interesting places.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

We stayed there last year at the end f August and we will always remeber it because of the amazing scenery and the great treatment from the owners.
We had a nice apartment on the second floor with an amazing view, the beach was grreat because it was secluded and very calm. Its not a luxurious place but for the price payed its magnificent and has a lot of space. Its a family place but very calm.
Would definately recomend it and will come back some day.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beograd
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We are a family with 2 kids, and stayed 10 days in apartment #5 at Alkionis Beach, at the end of June 2011. Our overall experience is positive. Our apartment was on 2nd floor, and we'd recommend taking apartments on the 2nd, or at least 1st floor too. We haven't spent too much time throughout the day in the hotel, as we've been spending the time all over Crete, but Alkionis Apartments are on a sandy beach, which is not much developed, but still nice for occasional swim; there is also a small pool in the complex, which our kids find great for an early morning or late evening bath. Our apartment itself was very spacious, and with 6 beds actually; there is double bed in the bedroom, and 4 more beds in living room - but note these 4 beds are somewhat narrow, and while they served our kids great, these probably would not be comfortable for an adult for longer stay. Depending on weather, mosquitos could be a problem during the night, so be sure to get equipped with electric mosquito repellents, or something alike. Besides bedroom and this huge living room/dining room/kitchen, our apartment had very large terrace, and a bathroom. The bathroom is also rather large, but the problem is that it is not possible to open bathroom window, so the ventilation was only through two round holes in the wall; also, bathroom ground, as well as shower curtain, was not particularly clear. While the apartment is very spacious, there is actually only one wardrobe, which was somewhat of a problem also - several adult persons staying for week or longer certainly would not be able to unpack their clothes there. There is plenty of parking space in the yard of the complex, and in the vicinity of it (just across main Rethymno-Heraklion road) there is good supermarket, great bakery, as well as an excellent tavern, so in these regards Alkionis is good place to stay (also, overall the position of the village of Sfakaki is very good for exploration of Crete). Alkionis owners are unobtrusive and in general OK hosts, however we had sort of negative experience at the end of our stay: There is a piece of plastic, a key pendant, to be inserted into a wall slot to activate electricity in the apartments (hosts in Crete typically go long way towards making it sure that you don't use too much electricity, for example by having air-conditioning turned on while you're out of the apartment), and we were really careful with it - when going out, we'd just put the key into car cassette, but seems like some of previous guests brought it on beach with them, so pieces of plastic would just drop off from this pendant. As we've been typically back in our apartment late, and would leave early, we were using duct tape to keep it in one piece, and thus be able to activate electricity. That was mistake, as wall slot was obviously rather fragile, and eventually our next-to-last day in the apartment, it broke too. We've been able to connect the switch ourselves, and thus activate the electricity, and on the other side owner was also prompt to replace both the wall slot and the plastic pendant; however, eventually he charged us EUR 20 for this. So - be careful with this thing, and report any sort of issues immediately to the owner; on the other side: suggestion to owner to maybe try to fix this (we've seen metal pieces, and much more robust wall slots, used at other places), as well as other issues mentioned above - these are not big deal, but still annoyances, and fixing them would really make Alkionis perfect place to stay on Crete.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

A very warm welcome on arrival.
Friendly and informative family.
Large clean,well equipped and spacious apartment with the option
of air conditioning. Breakfast & snacks available all day. Felt safe, as a lone traveller i had had a bad experience the year before(different hotel) and had viewed this hotel at that time with the intention of using it.

Good size and well maintained swimming pool.
Hotel adjacent to the sea which as lovely.

Numerous shops and tavernas nearby.If looking for a livlier nightlife there is a bus top outside the hotel for nearby Rethymnon.

The family were very helpful,ensured i had a comfortable stay and organised my airport taxis on my behalf.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

The last years we spended our holidays in Alkionis Beach Apartments. Sometimes twice a year. The reason is simple: it has all we need, to have a perfect, relaxed three weeks holiday. First of all, the family. Their Cretan hospitality and friendlyness make us feel at home. The apartments are very good an clean, well kept, for a reasonable price. The location is unique: within a few (literally) steps you're on the (quiet) beach! The view is really marvelous. Because of it's central position on the north coast, it's a perfect starting point to explore Crete. The surrounding area is quiet, and within a few kilometers you find nice villages. To put it briefly: it's the best you can get. We'll be back!!! Bart & Linda

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alkionis Beach Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alkionis Beach Apartments

Address: Sfakaki, Crete 74100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Sfakaki
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Sfakaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alkionis Beach Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These well maintained, pleasantly sited spacious apartments are right by the sandy beach at Sfakaki, set within large grounds (6500 sqm), 11 km to the east of Rethymno. They are recently built to a high standard with modern furniture and fittings. They are ideal for families with children as the beach area is not only alongside the property but is also safe. Sun beds and umbrellas are available in pool area free - on the beach at an extra charge. Facilities include a swimming pool (95 sqm), reception with satellite TV, home cinema, video games, internet, snack bar and a children's playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Alkionis Beach Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alkionis Beach Apartments Crete/Sfakaki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alkionis Beach Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.