We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Parador as usual” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parador de Argomaniz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Parador de Argomaniz to your Saves list
Parador de Argomaniz
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ctra. N-1. km. 363, Alava, 01192 Argomaniz, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Argomaniz
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Henstridge, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Parador as usual”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

As usual you cant fault the rooms, service and food. But it would be nice to have internet in the rooms. The restaurant is stunning but was a little chilly. Argomaniz has nothing as a village so it is basically a stop over en route to somewhere, but a very good one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    107
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
27
150
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This perfect stopover is beautiful BUT Argomaniz consists of the Parador (which is very old) and a couple of dozen houses (which are very new). The Parador is spotlessly clean as usual, the staff friendly and helpful, and overall very friendly. Best to eat in and if you want dinner as well as breakfast best to join the Amigos (Friends) of the ParAdores first to get a deal. You can save quite a bit by doing this.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, Scotland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Argomaniz is a small village near Vitoria in the Rioja and consequently many of the people are tri-lingual in English and Basque as well as Castillian. This doesn't make road signs any easier to read! Nevertheless the place is easy to find and has a good outlook across the plain, although we were unfortunate in that it was overcast or raining throughout our one night stay.
The hotel has been much extended in excellent taste and exudes a harmonious and relaxing ambience. Our room was of adequate size but with a window onto an enclosed grass area above which a minor road passed and shut out a certain amount of light. As we discovered when we walked there, pedestrians had a view down into the rooms thus explaining the heavy net curtains; however we never saw a pedestrian - and only a few vehicles; this is a quiet village.
The hotel is surrounded by lawns and trees and the terraces would be pleasant on a fine day. Food was better than average parador, no doubt the Basque influence, and the dining room itself was in the attic of the original building, with a heavy timbered dark wooden ceiling creating an intimate atmosphere in quite a grand space. Unfortunately the small low-set windows afforded few diners the benefit of what must have been extensive views.
This is one of these less-favoured paradors that offer very good value, and an ideal place for an overnight stop. I would have liked the opportunity to explore the region and its wine production. Maybe another time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Enjoyed my stay here. It is located in a very small village and it is only 10 minutes drive from Vitoria and about an hour drive from Bilbao. The room was spacious opening to the back of the building. I ate in the dining room on 2 occasions - a very good set menu all inclusive for € 30 and a la carte menu 2 courses including wine and water € 39.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Great Parador and easy to find. Rooms were large and comfortable and a lift goes to all floors. Restaurant is in the old building on the top floor, it has a magnificent roof. Evening meal was very good and breakfast had enough choice to keep anyone happy. The menus are either in Spanish, French or English. All staff spoke English. The only down side was early evening in the bar, service was non existent at one point and several customers walked away after 15 minutes because there was no service or bar staff. Apart from that small hiccup a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Maybe we didn't see Vitoria in it's best light but it wasn't our cup of tea at all. The hotel was very good and, once again we managed to get our room for a good price. The staff we encountered were unfailingly polite and spoke good English. The restaurant menu was unappealing and we went off to Vitoria to try to find somewhere to eat but were unsuccessful. It looked like an eastern block city and was really unwelcoming. We won't be going back there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

After a delay in the arrival of our ferry at Bilboa I was pleased that we chose this Parador which is only about a 50 minute drive. The hotel is isolated with only a few houses nearby. I didn’t see any shops or restaurants near. Very peaceful and the surrounding countryside is very pleasant. The rooms are spacious and the double bed was huge. Even though the rooms are large they do not allow a third person to stay in one room so we had to book a second room to accommodate my 12year old child. This makes the stay very expensive. We had rooms to the back of the hotel and there was no view, just a small garden area and a wall. This didn’t bother me as it was only an overnight stop. The evening meal was excellent, the best I have had in a Parador (we have stayed in about 10; food is normally expensive and not very good). I had salmon and my husband had oxtail which was very good, even my son who is fussy enjoyed his pork. We had local beer which again was good. I would defiantly stay again just for the quality of the food. Breakfast was good with the normal buffet choice for a Parador, fruit, cold meats, cheese, cooked items etc. You can always ask for eggs which are cooked to order. Tip ask for a room with a view and don’t forget Paradors never have tea or coffee making facilities in the bedroom, so pack a travel kettle.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and e mail the request in Spanish, so they know what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parador de Argomaniz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Argomaniz

Address: Ctra. N-1. km. 363, Alava, 01192 Argomaniz, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Alava Province > Argomaniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Argomaniz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Argomaniz 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance ornaments preserve the nobility of the Parador, where Napoleon regained strength before attacking the town of Vitoria/Gasteiz. It is located in a vantage point overlooking the most beautiful parts of the plain of Alava, the Gorbea mountains and the Ullibarri Gamboa reservoir. The remarkable rooms feature wooden chests, furniture and floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Escapio and TripOnline SA so you can book your Parador de Argomaniz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Hotel Argomaniz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador de Argomaniz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.