We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oaps” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grupotel Mar de Menorca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Grupotel Mar de Menorca to your Saves list
Grupotel Mar de Menorca
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cala Canutells s/n | Mahon, 07712 Cala Canutells, Minorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cala Canutells
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“oaps”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

was told that this hotel was suitable for all ages. lovely for families that don't mind being by the pool day after day. went down a very steep hill to the beach, worth going down for but a real slog on a hot day to get back up. buses to Mahon were only four times daily so your timetable had to be worked out very carefully, no buses in the night. went on two very expensive trips one to the dancing horses of Menorca which was brilliant. the next was a catamaran trip which was a shambles from start to finish. it cost us 74euros for a trip on a small catamaran which started with us having to sit on the side of the dock and sliding down into a four seat dinghy ,then scrambling on to the cat .lunch included was crisps breadsticks and cheese. the dinghy we were towing filled up with water and had to be heaved on to the front nets. on the way back they stopped to take us to shore and the motor on the dinghy wouldn't work so they had to paddle us back to shore. then heave the dinghy up steps onto the minibus, never been so glad to finish a trip in my life. around the hotel is one restaurant, one spar, two gift shops and that is it. we will have a try at anything but this is not a holiday for old age pensioners. complained to Thomsons who said they were sorry we were disappointed . end of story

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    303
    167
    77
    97
See reviews for
540
128
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

we have just arrived back from this hotel, and didn't think it was that bad, after reading some of the reviews we were a little worried. what is true is that its very remote,theres no town to walk around you have to get the bus to the nearest town which is mahon,we new this before we went, but what nobody has said anything about are the beautiful walks that are near,we found one just down the hill near the beach that went into the countryside where we found tortoises a praying mantis and gekos, and another round the cliffs with ancient tombs in the side of the cliffs, all very interesting to us.The hotel itself is abit dated but spotlessly clean we stayed in a studio which was very spacious, but we were next to a generater that could probally annoy some people, it didn't really bother us. The token system for the drinks works really well , as theres no glasses left around.The food was fine, plenty of choice except breakfast, bacon and eggs were overcooked but the omlettes were very nice,staff were very friendly and everything was tidied away quickly and cleanly. I have to say the beds were not very comfortable, very lumpy!!Loads of sunbeds and a lovely pool, but it was freezing, we had amazing weather so it was easy to find something to do.Cant really comment on the entertainment as we only saw one act which was 3 guys dancing and doing gymnastics, it started very poorly but did get slightly better towards the end. The hotel was not that busy but still quite a few kids, but you can find nice quiet spots away from them! Thomson are taking this hotel over and doing a full refurb in the winter.Its mainly geered up for kids , and we wouldn't have liked to have gone in the summer months,We didn't like the beach very much, and the sea was a bit rough to swim, but even so we had a nice relaxing week, we wouldn't return just because it is so remote

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Went from 7 Sep to 21st for two weeks. Had read reviews before I went and thought that it sounded good value and that so long as we had a pool and beach it wouldn't matter about being remote. Arrived late on a Saturday night and given map from reception but no-one really explained about what was in the hotel. Reps friendly enough and did explain about trips at first meeting. Weather terrible the first Sunday and discovered that there wasn't really much to do with a 2 year old when the weather isn't very good. play area a bit of health and safetly nightmare. old rotting wood equipment and falling to bits. crazy golf ok outside our window, pay to hire equipment.
liked the token system as meant no drinks left lying around but a bit of a pain if you wanted to have a drink in your room when the little one had gone to bed. Would have been nice to have tea and coffee in room.
kids mini club said from 3 year to 7 so didn't put her in but she did enjoy the mini disco and face painting every night. Thought we'd chance putting her in on the last day as flight late evening and they said we could have put her in every day as it didn't matter she was under 3!
Food lovely, we don't eat meat but eat fish and there was loads of stuff to eat and 2 year old ate plenty.
Hotel needs updating but room was fine if a bit basic.
Went on the menorca zoo trip which was expensive at 60 euro's for two adults and a 2 year old. took an hour to get there after picking up everybody else from other resorts and we were last to be dropped off after another hour, mostly german and tour leader was german who apologised that her english wasn't good. When we hired a car later it would have taken us 20 mins to get there and only cost 20 euro's for all of us so felt a bit ripped off.
Car hire is a definite must. got cabin fever after a week but don't know if that's just me. drove all over the island for 3 days and that was great.
Went down to the beach a couple of times in the resort and sand isn't great but water lovely and 2 year old loved the ducks. The beach is down loads of steps which i think would but people off.
Enjoyed holiday but wouldn't go back. Would go to cala en porter instead.

Room Tip: away from the pool if you want any peace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Transfer from airport is only about 10 minutes which was excellent. first glimpse of hotel was also great and the hotel looked clean and the pool area well maintained. Check In was simple and our room was ready for us although some of the other rooms were not ready and others had to wait.

Our room was in Aries block which is the nearest to the pool and bar area. This was perfect for us as i have a 12 year old and 8 year old and could easily watch them in the pool from our terrace. We had a ground floor one bed apartment that was clean and perfectly acceptable condition. Not the ritz but fine for our needs. it also had a fridge and a safety Deposit Box which cost me 30 euros for 12 days.

Room was cleaned 5 days a week and bedding changed twice a week.

The pool area was great and the new kids slide pool was great for young children. The token for a drink system worked really well and meant there werent glasses left lying around the pool which was a great bonus.

The location of the hotel is very remote. I knew this from trip advisor before we travelled and i didnt think it would bother me, But unfortunately it dd. Theres only so much of sitting by a pool you can do before slowly going potty! There is a tiny fishing cove at the bottom of the hill 5 mins away but the climb back up makes it inaccessable for some has it is a hike and also so small that you cant really use it as a beach but its pretty enough. Apart from that theres nothing but a spar shop and a car hire shop.

CAR HIRE

If you can drive hire a car it was cheap at this time of year 65 euros for 3 days and it was easy to drive in menorca as there arent many cars about. We loved it and it was essential really as its the best and easiest way to escape the hotel for awhile. We managed to see most the island and im not the most confident driver but coped fine. We hired the car from the car hire shop under the hotel. it was great, you need to leave a 100 euro deposit but this was returned with no quibble or fuss.

HOTEL ENTERTAINMENT

Daytime it was practically non existant. evening there was a mini disco. same songs every night and then a quiz or similar and professional show twice a weeks. It wasnt great but it was ok. The entertainment staff were lovely and really did try hard on an evening.

MiNI Club

Was a kids club ran by Gemma who is fantastic with the kids and my 8 year old really enjoyed going.

Food was great the first week and not great the second as i think it was just so close to the end of the season and there werent many guests.

ILLNESS

I was unfortunately ill with a chest infection and was advised by the reps to see a doctor. I didnt as it would have cost me 100 excess on my insurance so i instead visited the hospital in MAHON which provided free treatment as i have a EHIC Card, This treatment was equall to any i have recieved in the uk if not better and the hospital was spottlessly clean.

Thomson Excursions.

We went on the trips Treasures of Menorca and Coast to Coast. They were very expensive at 92 euros for an adult and 2 kids per trip but they were very good and i am glad i paid the money and went as we all enjoyed them.

They hotel is closing in a weeks time for a major refit and will be 90% used by Thomson guests next year. It will become a 4 star hotel and the facilities will improve. Unfortunately for me it will still be in the smae location and its just too remote for me to return.

All in all we had a lovely holiday there but i would prefer a hotel in a resort.

Room Tip: ARIES 12 was fantastic ground floor right by pool and entertainment. Not for those who dont like noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We went on holiday in mid sept with an open view upon reading mixed reviews. We are both experienced holiday reps (22yrs) dealing with holiday satisfaction and customer care and deal with complaints and H & Safety (FTO). Here's our views good points and bad. All tour operators brochure descriptions are misleading about the location and resort. Isolated it certainly is,in fact with only 4 bus pick up all day.Nearest town 4km. Car hire essential. Its not really a resort, but more of a residential area with a hotel complex plonked there.. No facilities except an on site shop,car rental and a privately owned 'English type pub'A nice bar down the hill overlooking the small port with a small beach.As to comment made by others on the quality etc. It is advertised as a 3 star 'Spanish'. It is basic, a little shabby and in need of modernisation with very friendly informative staff. The food was excellent with very good mixed cuisine and met all standards of hygene with very good food rotation. Top class service served in a rather gloomy 80,s green decor.The rooms are all basic needing bits done but excellent maid service. Hardly any kitchen utensilsl (worse than Greece). Dont expect a quiet holiday as the position of all the rooms have an ampitheatre effect with loud music until 11pm This accom needs attention. Not the worst holiday but definately bordered on it. We wasn't the only ones with negative feelings. The guests either grumbled or praised hence conflicting comments.We didnt use open bar as the drinks were poor quality and the bar was scruffy. Our description would be more like a 80's site Butlins camp with few facilities. Holiday reps should do pre season and continued checks.Evidently they are not.. What about the 'Poo in the pool' comment. Rusty fire extinguishers,Non of the rooms with fire/gas alarms Trip hazards, Pool sinage If anyone want advice go to FTO web site. Ps There was signage to stop people reserving sunbeds with towels but disgruntled UK guests ripped them down. Still had good time at extra expense of car rental. Its a lovely island. Dont go to Canutells go to somewhere you can walk out of an evening and enjoy the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Apt blocks in star signs. Virgo is furthest away from noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a week at this hotel. My first impression on entering the unwelcoming reception at 10.00am and told we would have to wait for our room until 12.00 was, oh dear, what have we booked. Fortunately, we were able to have breakfast and explore the hotel and surroundings and our room was available at 12 as promised. If you want a busy resort with a large selection of bars and shops, don't come here. If you want a relaxing, quiet resort, this is perfect.
Our good points: restaurant provided a variety of food for all tastes. Never felt the need to look for another restaurant. The layout of the complex is well spread out and never felt crowded. Cleanliness throughout the hotel is fairly high standard. The resort is quite hilly which is good because it gives it character, although I can see it may not suit some. We are over 60 but fairly fit and enjoyed the walk up from the beach.
Bad points: there is no free wifi which seemed strange being the hotel and resort was so isolated and really annoyed us. There is a pay as you Internet PC at 1€ for 10 minutes which was never used. The rooms need some updating Our studio apartment's kitchenette was falling apart and the fridge door wouldn't close fully so the light was on all night. The staff are very hardworking and most are friendly but there's not enough of them. The entertainment staff do their best but found it difficult to stay cheerful off stage.

In general, this has the makings of being a very nice hotel in a quiet, attractive resort, but is let down by rundown rooms, not keeping up with modern expectations and a poor entertainments programme. We gave it a very good rating because, despite the negatives, we had a very enjoyable week and will probably will go back.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Having read the mixed reviews we were pleasantly surprised about the hotel. A slightly slow check in process but the staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are fine and not especially dated as some seem to say. What exactly are people expecting, a Jasper Conran design? The rooms are clean and well maintained.

The food in the restaurant is really very good. I cannot understand some of the comments about it lacking variety. I would really like to see the menus that these people have at home, because they must be amazing! A lot of the main items are cooked in the restaurant and therefore is fresh and can be cooked to your taste. There is always plenty of food and the variety and quality is really very good. Being in Minorca there was a good range of fish, but also plenty of meat dishes. The hotel also makes a real effort in the restaurant to cater for children on holiday.

The pool area is quite reasonable with plenty of sunbeds. The area is kept very tidy and clean by the hard working staff. The token system for drinks is an excellent idea and reduces the debris around the hotel and pool.

The location is a little remote but Mahon is only 20 minutes away on the local bus. A worthwhile visit. However there is a lovely fishing cove just down thd hill with warn and safe water which you will share with a couple of families of ducks and a variety of small fish. An interesting area for snorkling.

The hotel staff were all really hard working and friendly from the management down and they were all very helpful. Unfortunately our Thompson reps (who were supposed to be there to assist us and make our holiday a relaxing and wonderful time) were terrible. When we first arrived from the Thompson transfer coach you would havd expected to be welcomed by Sam the rep, but he just sat at his table in the corner of the reception area and ignored the group of 25 or so guests who had just arrived after their long journey from the UK.

The next day he was rather rude about the hotel and its facilities and also chose to be extremely rude to us. We had two small children in our party and even they observed and were upset by the attitude of the rep. Quite shocking. Needless to say this matter has been raised with the holiday company.

We really liked the hotel, the staff and the area. It is a great pity that the reps effectively ruined our holiday by their poor attitude. However this review relates to the excellent hotel and its quality of service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grupotel Mar de Menorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grupotel Mar de Menorca

Address: Cala Canutells s/n | Mahon, 07712 Cala Canutells, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Cala Canutells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cala Canutells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grupotel Mar de Menorca 3*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southeastern part of Menorca, 200m from Cala Canutells beach, 13 km from Mahon. Well equipped terraced rooms, excellent views. Low-rise buildings, surrounded by extensive gardens. Particularly attractive for families. Studios & Apartments: kitchen, sat-TV, terrace or balcony, living room with sofas bed. Sport & Leisure: Swimming pool, children´s pool. tennis courts. Gym. Minigolf. Miniclub. Evening shows. Gastronomy: Breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet. Lounge & Pool bar with terrace. Services: Babysitting service. Car rental. Bicycles. Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grupotel Mar de Menorca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grupotel Mar De Menorca Hotel Cala Canutells
Grupotel Mar De Menorca Cala Canutells, Spain - Minorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grupotel Mar de Menorca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.