We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive service, food and stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ca Na Xini

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ca Na Xini to your Saves list
Ca Na Xini
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cami Sant Patrici s/n | Hort Sant Patrici, 07750 Ferreries, Minorca, Spain   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ferreries
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Impressive service, food and stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We just returned from four nights at Ca Na Xini to celebrate our 6th anniversary and we were not disappointed! We chose Menorca because we wanted some time to relax, enjoy the beaches (although from afar as the weather was fairly cool), and have some alone time away from the kids.

We arrived at Ca Na Xini fairly late at night and were warmly greated by Luis who let us know that we had been upgraded to the Moore room. The hotel is quite stylish and modern (think white on white) and our room smelled fantastic (maybe the laundry detergent?). We couldn't have been happier with the service and our stay--some things that set this place apart and make it a 5 star review were:

Service - Everyone was extremely helpful and accomodating. We wanted to take a tour of the cheese factory onsite, but were told by David that they only had Spanish tours. Since my Spanish is a bit lacking, he gave us a private tour on our first full day in English and graciously answered my (many) questions. And two days later, for breakfast we ate the very same cheese we saw them making! They also had great restaurant recommendations.

Food - Breakfasts were delicious with local fruit, cheese made onsite, pastries, and fresh orange juice. We also had dinner onsite, which they offer 3 times per week. Excellent food and service. We opted for their wine with the meal and it was fantastic.

Surroundings - The hotel has well-maintained and very peaceful grounds, and a sculpture garden that was relaxing to walk through. It is located in the center of the island so everything is very accessible. I would highly recommend that guests rent a car, though. One comment for runners - there aren't many paths leading directly from the hotel for runs longer than 5k so plan on driving to a different location if you want something with more distance.

Overall, it really was a great place to spend a romantic getaway and I would recommend both the island and the hotel without any reservations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Second time in two years we stay in this fantastic hotel. Kids not allowed which gives the property calm and serenity. Breakfast made mostly of local produce is outstanding , dinner (once every other night) is top class with wines produced in the property. The swimming pool, mimiquing the coastline is delightful and the owners (Mini and Luis) make your stay unforgettable.
Having stayed in dozens of design hotels in the world this one stays on top of the list.
Coming back again next year!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united states
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

My sister and I stayed at Ca Na Xini for four days in July and were absolutely blown away. We arrived much earlier than we thought we would (~10am vs 5pm), but when we arrived they immediately offered to give us some breakfast and coffee, then they took us to our beautiful, spotless, modern room. The hotel and its grounds are perfectly set up (WiFi everywhere, great amenities, climate control, slick key/entry systems, etc) and gorgeous- lounging by the side of their pool with a bottle of wine was the perfect way to relax on the afternoon that we took off from exploring. At night, it was perfectly quiet, and the other guests were all people looking for peace and tranquility too. As far as seeing Menorca, you couldn't position yourself better than at this hotel. The roads in Menorca kind of spider out from the center instead of having any long roads along the coasts, and this hotel is basically smack in the middle of the island, so it was the easiest place to use as a home base (we were able to come and go multiple times a day while criss-crossing the island)

Other than how wonderful the hotel and its location are, the staff are what really make it special. We had a few logistical "hiccups" during our stay in terms of rental cars, ferry schedule, etc. and David took care of ALL of them for us, calling the appropriate people to resolve our issues. Their food is spectacular (make sure you have at least one dinner here!!), and again the personal service was amazing. The owners certainly aren't in your face all the time, but they are available and more than willing to help with anything, whether it's a restaurant recommendation or an extra bottle of wine from the honesty bar.

We loved our stay here and would never consider staying anywhere else when traveling to Menorca.

Room Tip: The double room on the second floor has GREAT light and space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

This is an unusual family run hotel in an amazing location, namely a working farm where they produce excellent wine and cheese (you can go on the tour which is both fascinating and excellent, though it will help if you speak Spanish!). We went home laden with both as a nice lasting reminder of the trip !

The small hotel is super modern inside, and we had a large comfortable rooms with a terrace on the first floor.

If I was being picky, there was some noise bleed from the corridor in to the room as they have wood floors through out the property, but its not a busy place and it wasn't a problem for us.

The pool and gardens are lovely and its a tranquil oasis of green set at the edge of the hills yet only 3 minutes drive from the main road that links Mahon to Ciutadella through the middle of the island.

If you want a traditional hotel that provides for loads of attentive service and in room minibars, as one reviewer did, then I can see why they were disappointed (Spanish review about price versus value) . However, to me, that's not what you are buying here, or even what this hotel it about. The reality is that you are renting access to a slice of paradise, with a uber cool minimalist interior set in a traditional working family farm, which gives you quite literally the best of both worlds and is also a great base from which to explore the whole of Menorca as its literally in the middle of the island and far from no-where.

I found the staff accomodating and friendly and happy to help with restaurant recommendations and bookings.

To my mind, there is no similar property on the island of this standard and I would go back in a heartbeat, and that says it all.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

If there is one reason to go to Menorca, Ca Na Xini is it. Without a doubt this is an amazing hotel. Granted my partner and I were looking for peace, quiet and relaxation and that is exactly what we found. More than that we were looking for a stylish and well designed boutique hotel, one with an aesthetic modern palette, and we were so pleased to find precisely that. Being design and interior aficionados, my partner and I have a keen eye for difference and detail. David - one of the hotel proprietors - has done an excellent job of designing the hotel and has obviously made a concerted effort to ensure guests feel inspired, relaxed and at home. And that is one key difference with Ca Na Xini - David and his Mum & Dad make you feel welcome and at home, but they don't overstep the mark. They respect their guests privacy and strive to do as much as they can to ensure guests are comfortable and have a fantastic stay.

We loved the food - both breakfast and dinner. We loved the fact that Ca Na Xini produces its own wine, olive oil and cheese. We loved the setting - our room, the views, the ambience and style.

We would rate Ca Na Xini as one of our favourite design hotels and highly recommend a stay there.

G&Dxx

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

We stayed at Canaxini for 5 nights this August and had an amazing experience.

The hotel is in a converted mansion in the grounds of the Hort Sant Patrici farm and is run by a very talented father and son team.

The farm is apparently well known on Menorca for its excellent cheeses and wine and has a farm shop open most days.

We had no clear expectations when we arrived and were blown away by a number of things:
- amazing modern interior architecture and design, everything inside is sleek, white, well-designed and built to last
- fabulous pool in the gardens, which wasn’t clear from the website
- great room with a wonderful large (ie as big as the room!) terrace overlooking the farm’s gardens

Canaxini is run by a small tight-knit team who appear to also help out with running the farm shop. They are a very happy crew and everything runs like clockwork, from the efficient table service at breakfast to the room maid who left our room immaculate every day.

There is a self-serve honesty bar and we particularly enjoyed having a cocktail on our terrace as the sun went down, listening to the various animals in the area bedding down – peacocks, donkeys, owls, woodpigeons… There is a sculpture garden which is great for a stroll and the theme extends inside where all the rooms are named after sculptors (ours was Chillida).

Evening meals are offered 3 nights a week and they are quite grand affairs, 3 fine courses served outside on private tables under the stars – excellent fresh local food prepared and served in a very imaginative way. On our first night we enjoyed the local farm’s wine with our meal and were very impressed by it.

Breakfast is a buffet plus prepared dishes on request with everything you’d expect. Particularly good at breakfast are the local pastries which change daily and the Hort Sant Patrici farm cheeses.

The hotel is in a great location for exploring the island – you can get to the beautiful wild beaches in the north in about 20 mins and likewise the popular southern beaches in about 20 mins.

We strongly recommend any guest to take advantage of the guest picnic option – simple but delicious and very handy, with its own little chill bag.

David and his father run the hotel with a personal and professional touch. As an example, we needed a plug adaptor to recharge our toothbrush. David’s father said “I’ll have a look for one” and (it later turned out) went the following morning into the nearby town before breakfast to get us one at the local electrical shop.

Of course, it’s worth being aware that Canaxini is inland, not on the coast. Also, despite the farm and great pool, we can’t really imagine kids having a great time here – it doesn’t really have a kids vibe.

That being said, there is literally nothing that we could think of to improve Canaxini or the guest experience there. It came as no surprise to see that it has been selected as one of the Conde Nast Traveller “hot 100 global hotels” in 2010. Having stayed on the same trip in two 5* Relais & Chateau properties (Mirador Dalt Vila on Ibiza and Son Brull on Mallorca) we can very heartily recommend Canaxini and will certainly be returning there on our next trip to Menorca.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ca Na Xini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca Na Xini

Address: Cami Sant Patrici s/n | Hort Sant Patrici, 07750 Ferreries, Minorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Ferreries
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ferreries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ca Na Xini 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ca Na Xini is peace, unspoilt nature, and traditional country activities - the farms neighbouring the rural hotel, in Hort Sant Patrici, wine-growing, cheese-making with the Mahon-Menorca Appellation, and a small output of extra virgin olive oil. Ca Na Xini is a charming hotel designed for an adult audience. 'Adults Only' In short, a unique rural hotel in Menorca with a family atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Ca Na Xini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ca Na Xini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.