We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Holiday in Majorca” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Bay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Blue Bay Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino Vecinal Genova, San Agustin 30, 07015 Cala Major, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Cala Major
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Holiday in Majorca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

I've stayed in Blue Bay in June for a week. It was a lovely holiday experience for a small price. Much better than I expected. To start with: hotel staff was lovely, everyone was working hard to make our stay perfect. Reception staff always helpful (swapped our room on first night from small mountain view to big sea view room on top floor without no problems or extra charge also provided with all extra stuff without charge), bar and kitchen staff always smiley and helpful made sure that we had enough food and nice cocktails every night. For all inclusive deal there was plenty of food and drinks all day long. Hotel clean and safe. Always enough space at the pool no need to rush to get your sun bed in the morning. Very close to the beach, no need to complain about walking up and down the hill for lazy ones there is a private bus that take guests to the beach few times a day. There wasn't much entertainment in the evening but you can always find something to do in the area or take a bus or taxi (cheap) to get to Palma where there is plenty of bars and clubs. Would recommend this place to couples or friends looking for quiet beach holidays. Was really nicely surprised with this hotel, much better than I expected. Big thank you to all the staff that worked so hard to make it all perfect, Definitely will be back and will recommend to friends.

Room Tip: ask for sea view room if you want to wake up to sun and sea every day
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    164
    101
    28
    18
See reviews for
57
179
27
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

Wanted a cheap little getaway for a few nights and discovered this hotel. All inclusive cost us just £30 per night each. We still ate out in the evenings but the buffet lunch was quite superb, the house wine good and the local spirits were ok. You can always pay for brands if you're fussy.
The staff were amongst the friendliest I've ever encountered in a Spanish hotel.
The pool area was neat and tidy but I would imagine in high season it would be a bit tight for space.
Word of warning - this hotel is up a steep hill or if you prefer steps, theres around 100 !

Room Tip: Lower floor rooms over the main entrance could be a bit noisy in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

Stayed here with my husband for four nights at the end of October. We were in a double room on the first floor, which was fairly small but big enough for two, although the bathroom was tiny. The air con was fine but it wasn't over warm at night, but we ended up turning it off most nights. Food wasn't great. We were on a half-board basis, breakfast was bacon, tiny sausages or other sausage type, very skinned over beans and over cooked eggs. Plenty of cold cheeses and meats, fruit, bread and cereal and endless coffee and juice. Toaster takes forever!

Evening meal was edible but hit and miss, not a great variety but was there was was OK.

Pool area is nice, clean and loads of beds, never a problem finding somewhere to lie. Pool was pretty cold but again, you could have it to yourself most of the time. We never had any problems with the guy in the pool bar, in fact, he was pretty pleasant while we were there, as were almost all of the other staff.

The view from our room looked over the pool and to the sea but was largely obscured by several trees outside the window, which was a shame as it's a gorgeous view.

Maid service daily but they don't do much of a clean, but rooms tidied, beds made, clean towels.

There was entertainment on one evening but can't comment as didn't see it.

It's a fairly long walk down a very steep hill to the shops, bars and restaurants and climbing the hill back up after a few drinks is a challenge - but easier then the steps!! Nice bar on the way down - Martin's - makes you feel very welcome.

Lovely few days away.

Room Tip: Room at the front to overlook the sea, but request a higher floor but a view above the trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

Having just returned from a week at Blue Bay thought this review may be of assistance to others.

Very enjoyable stay, reception staff were very good on arrival and despite us being early for check in, we were issued with our all inclusive band to have a drink while we waited. The hotel is one of the cleanest I have been to for many years but does need a little refurbishment overall no complaints.

The food was very good throughout the week, and plenty of drinks available, restaurant staff were very good, special mentions to Katia, Carmen and Jose, along with Paco in the bar during the evenings, unfortuanetly the same can not be said about the barman at the pool bar, who was very miserable throughout, and was getting embarressing to ask for drinks at times.

The location of the hotel was the only down side as there was a steep hill or lots of steps to get to either the bus, the number 3 goes directly to Palma centre for 1.5 euros, or the beach, we used the road and it took only 10 mins to the bus or 15 to the beach.

Staying in room 327, which was next to the lift making us lazy !! the balcony was overlooking the marina at Cala Nova, again only 15 mins walk, again very clean, but disappointing, it would have been nice to have tea and coffee making facilities as breakfast did not start until 08:00, and we were early risers, possibly because of the uncomfortable mattress, which could do with renewing.

Entertainment was very poor although available every night, and apart from the swimming pool and pool table nothing else during the day to do around the hotel.

Overall the positives outweighed the negatives, and it would be somewhere that I would use again if in the area. Other sister hotels on the island have been refurbished so this may be due very shortly, lets hope so.

RECOMMENDED

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Firstly I would like to point out im not a top business man who stays in the best hotels in the world but im also not someone who struggles and has to stay in the cheap hotels,
The first Thing I would say is that there is a lot of stairs and you should be prepared for the to get from the shops you need to walk up a hill then over a 120 steps and to get from the pool bar to the hotel is over 70 steps didn't bother me but if you would struggle then something to consider.
In relation to the pool bar the man who works there isn't the greatest to be nice about it, I find it strange that you were only allowed 1 drink and each person had to get there own I couldn't get a drink for people I was with. Also being told you can only use one glass at dinner etc. The food was also very poor I could eat but it was poor and very cheap but the drink was ok. We also had a very small room and it was dated but not something I am concerned about as I don't spend much time there, although had a miniature bath. the facilities at the hotel aren't great although the pool is a lovely temperature and plenty of sun loungers never struggles to get one. One issue for us was there was no English at the hotel would be an advantage for some but nice to have a gab to people sometimes. The whole area was very Spanish I know that sounds silly because its spain but it was like a residential area for example the hotel is next to a school, there are a lot of kebab shops and no currency exchange there for a holiday destination kind of proves it isn't one. If you wanted to escape pretty much everything and just happy to sit at the pool in a isolated area then its ideal just to quiet for me and I like quiet. If you do decide to go then I would advise a trip to palma as it is a lovely place and if you do go I hope it is what your looking for and enjoy it more than we did.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cala Major hotels

Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

The hotel is in a decent setting for getting to Palma, Magaluf etc - be prepared to walk up hill a lot.

The quality of the food is terrible! The food is cheap frozen quality! Would not recommend the food at all!! The hotel pool bar is a nice place. However the male bar attendant was one of the rudest men I have ever met. He actually looked angry anytime I asked for a drink and at one point he even swore at me for having the audacity to ask for a drink. I was really insulted but there was never anyone available to speak to.

All in all I would stay again for the location and it's quite near a very nice bar run by Martin from Birmingham but I would be looking to have a better experience!

Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Just returned from a three night stay at the hotel. The room was adequate and although classed as a single had a double bed and mountain view. It was very snug and only about 12" from the end of the bed to the wall so always had to walk sideways! It was very clean but the air conditioning was poor. Glad I wasn't there in August! The food was very good with a good variety for lunch and dinner each day. Reception staff were friendly and helpful but one of the barmen could definitely do with a course in customer relations. He was very rude on a couple of occasions to members of our party. Also, it is a pity the all inclusive ends at 23.00 when the bar closes at midnight anyway. Surely all inclusive should be for 24 hours! Some of the pool beds should have been adjustable but were broken so had to lay flat. Definitely not for people with walking difficulties, 87 steps down from reception level to pool although there is a lift which cuts that down to about 40. Very steep hill down to beach as well. No pool towels or hair dryers in the rooms either. Still enjoyed the weekend away.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor, sea facing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bay Hotel

Address: Camino Vecinal Genova, San Agustin 30, 07015 Cala Major, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Major
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Cala Major
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blue Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Bay
Blue Bay Cala Major
Blue Bay Hotel Majorca/Cala Major, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.