We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Bay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Blue Bay Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino Vecinal Genova, San Agustin 30, 07015 Cala Major, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Cala Major
Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Our second stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Just got back from our second stay at the Blue Bay. The stay was really delightful (again), but I feel that I ought to mention a couple of points, both good and bad.

We got a room on the first floor, with a view over the ocean. At first, we were a bit afraid that we wouldn't get as great a view over the ocean as we had on our first stay. We found out that we hadn't needed to worry: The view was fine from the first floor, which is elevated quite a bit and far away enough from the pool that noise from it would not be a trouble. I guess: There were no people at the pool this time of year.

Having the bar just downstairs, we did notice some noise during a wonderful flamenco performance. The show was over well before 11pm, so we didn't mind. There was no noticeable noise during ordinary days, without a show.

The flamenco performance (free, in the bar area) was just great. Superb to have a free show as part of the stay.

Bar prices are reasonable (about 4€ for a drink). Remember to taste the Sangria - they make quite a nice one at this hotel! Don't expect umbrellas and stuff, just the liquid....

The kitchen closes at 9pm. It's a bit early, as mentioned before. However, we did get to stay a bit later one evening. A glass of red wine comes in at about 1.8€ and is okay without being anything special.

Evening dinner gets a bit tedious if eaten for a week. It's typically chicken, fish and some red meat. It's a bit too much like fast food for my kind of liking. There are, however, a nice salad bare, which offers 3-4 kinds of salads. Dessert is fine, too. I wish the evening dinner was a bit more varied, but at this price point (you can buy it for 10€), I guess you cannot expect a whole lot more.

Breakfast could be more varied as well. There's toast and eggs, ham and cheese and some marmelade. It's okay, but I ended up eating the same stuff for a week and got a bit bored with it. Cereal is available as well and looked nice, though I didn't try it.

The staff is very competent and nice people, too, willing to help out as needed.

No bugs found in the room except for some little flying thing a bit larger than a fly. Wonder what that was...

If you end up taking the wrong bus line 46 to the hotel and find yourself at the last station, just walk a bit farther - the hotel is right around the corner.

So, all in all, I must say that we had a great stay once again. Of course, services must be view in light of the price point, and we certainly found that we got our money's worth.

Thanks for a great stay, Hotel Blu Bay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    170
    107
    28
    18
See reviews for
58
188
28
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed in the Blue Bay for 4 nights half board. We found the staff very friendly and the food very good. We had a sea view room on the 5th floor. The view from the balcony was stunning. The room was perfect for us, clean and spacious. The pool and gardens looked very pleasant (too cold to test the water!). Car parking was in the streets near the hotel and it was always a challenge to find a space. The sea front was a short but steep walk away. We would recommend the hotel for an out of season break but possibly not for high season when we understand it is used for all-inclusive stays.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view and upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights for a short break in March. Hotel staff seemed to be limited but all very courteous, helpful and amusing. We were on the 1st floor directly next to the stair well, so it was a little noisy with the bar below and people coming up and down the stairs - luckily it was fairly quiet. The room was small and basic but clean and had plenty of storage and lovely views of the bay. The food selection was limited: two meats, one fish (these changed daily) chips or potatoes, one type of veg and a pasta option which all seemed to stay the same when we were there. The salad bar was good though and so was the small choice of deserts. It is the first time I've eaten at a buffet-style hotel and the food actually burnt my mouth - makes a change! Breakfast was more continental - not sure it this is standard or just because of low season but there was plenty of cheese/meat/cereal/fruit/pastries to choose from.
A fair walk from Palma (takes about an hour) but this is pleasant in the sunshine next to the port. If you are not up for the long walk, take the bus - really easy to catch and just EUR1.50 each way. Would recommend to anyone looking for good, cheap, basic accommodation near Palma.

Room Tip: Ask for a high level room away from the stair well!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just got back from 6 nights at this hotel, I had asked for a room with a sea view and we were not dissapointed. We arrived in the dark, so didnt see our view till the morning.
I have no complaints whatsoever about the hotel, The staff went out of their way to help and nothing was too much trouble, the place was very clean and we were given fresh towels daily and the sheets were changed once during the 6 days.Breakfast was the same ever morning but there was plenty of choice, cereals, breads, cakes, meats, cheeses fruit yoghurt and always boiled eggs.
We only booked for bed and breakfast, but on our first night we realised the resort was basically closed apart from a couple of italian resteraunts, however we were able to purchase evening meal in the hotel buffet style for just 10 euros. this was good wholesome food with the option of 3 courses and a free drink. The bar is also very pleasant and comfortable with great service.
I would definitely recomend this hotel, for 3 STAR it knocks spots off some 4 star hotels.
there is not much to do in the resort but of 1.50 euros you can hop on a no 3 bus to palma and the bus runs every 9 mins.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view especially from the 3rd floor up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Excellent value for money hotel, well located. The staff are so friendly and helpful. We had a bedroom on 6th floor with sea view. Spectacular views over the bay. Plenty wardrobe space and good bathrooms. TV choice could be better to accommodate English speaking guests. Only received World Service. Food was average. The various salads at dinner were very good but the cooked meals were not to my taste, and the vegetables overcooked. However for the price paid can be overlooked. would definitely consider returning at sometime

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Have just returned from a golfing holiday. Issue on arrival with room allocated, but hotel management moved me to another room without any problem. Hotel room was clean and warm with a great sea view. Staff very helpful and friendly. Food was fine with an evening buffet for 10 euros if wanted. Paco the barman was exceptional nothing being to much. Looking forward to my golfing holiday next year and return to Blue Bay

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Arrived & no room for us so had to be moved to another hotel for 1 night. We were only staying 2. This happened to quite a few people. The hotel was lovely, food great, good selection of drinks, pool area fab, service was good. Handy for Palma. Very clean. Had to do a lot of walking around hotel to get to pool then to restaurant then to rooms. Slept well in comfort. Nice place to go but a better review if we had been there longer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bay Hotel

Address: Camino Vecinal Genova, San Agustin 30, 07015 Cala Major, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Major
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Cala Major
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Blue Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Bay
Blue Bay Cala Major
Blue Bay Hotel Majorca/Cala Major, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.