We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Star tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luabay Marivent

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Luabay Marivent to your Saves list
Luabay Marivent
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Gavina, 9, 07015 Cala Major, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Cala Major
Kalundborg, Denmark
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Star tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Fantastic hotel and nice people. great view from our hotelroom at the sea. Evry evening very nice entertainment for visitors at the hotel. As visitor in Luabay Marivent you feel welcome and relaxed. Cala Major is only a few "steep" from Palma. Take the bus nr. 3 and you arrived at Palma in 10 min..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Luabay Marivent, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Ramdal, thank you very much for being our guests and taking the time to share your experience on here. We are glad you were satisfied with our staff and were able to fully relax during your holiday. It would be a great pleasure if we could welcome you as our guests again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    125
    73
    22
    13
See reviews for
19
233
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frederiksvaerk, Denmark
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Fantastic hotel and nice people. great view from our hotelroom at the sea. Evry evening very nice entertainment for visitors at the hotel. As visitor in Luabay Marivent you feel welcome and relaxed. If you want new energi and get ready til working, you get all you need and peace here. The service from the staff and reception is very good.
Cala Major is only a few "steep" from Palma. Take the bus nr. 3 and you arrived at Palma in 10 min. - Bus 20 and 46 you can use too. 1,50 EUR.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Luabay Marivent, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, Jette. We are glad to know you had such a good time in Palma and that you enjoyed the hotel facilities. We will be glad to welcome you again as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolding, Vejle, Denmark
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We went there on our honeymoon, and our expectations were very high. The hotel fulfilled our expectations, to the fullest. Our room was nice, and clean! The interior was modern and didn't look worn down or anything. The cleaning staff were polite and thorough.
The food was great, there were always a lot to choose from and it was very well tasting.
All in all a very good stay, and even though we never stay in the same hotel more than once, we could definately consider to go to Luabay Marivent again.

Room Tip: We paid extra to get a view over the ocean - worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Luabay Marivent, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear guests, thank you for choosing our hotel for this very special trip and taking the time to write this review. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your honeymoon to the fullest and especially liked your room and the food we offer in our restaurant. Your feedback is very much appreciated and will be shared with all our staff. We wish you all the best for your future lives together and would love to welcome you as our guests again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randers, Denmark
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I went to Mallorca with my girlfriend as a couple vacation at Luabay Marivent. The four stars hotel is placed in Cala Mayor, which is only 5 km from the central of Palma. Nice location at the beach and a calm and nice atmosphere at the pool. Furthermore the breakfast was great. The service you meet at the reception and around the hotel is fantastic. Very helpful employees! Also the hotel is very clean. We had a nice room with limited seaview, which was perfect for us. 5 stars!

Room Tip: Rooms with limited seaview is a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiruna
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Luabay Marivent hotel is right at the Cala Mayor beach. The rooms and common areas have good standard. Service is so so. Meals are great and the atmosphere is relaxed.

Having said that, we have mixed feelings about the complex. The hotel is located in a kind of suburb to Palma. You can easy take the bus (1.50 EUR one way) or taxi (around 10 EUR) to get to city life. At Cala Mayor, there is not much activity, neither day nor evening time. The hotel shows start though at 21:15 every evening and these are well worth watching. We particularly liked the Abba-Mia show and the animation team “2 men around the world”. Also the Swedish guitarist, Chris, performed well.

So life at Luabay Marivent follows the pattern, breakfast, pool or beach, lunch, pool, beach or bar (also before lunch if you wish), dinner and evening show (unless you opt to go to Palma).

We stayed All-Inclusive for two weeks and after some days, this pattern got a bit boring.

Pool life is somewhat complicated. There are too few sunbeds available so you need to be lucky or up very early in the morning to get a place. Reserving sunbeds before breakfast often fails since the hotel guard removes towels etc, unless you are physically there to protect your reservation. If your reservation is lost, your stuff can be picked up at the reception. Since there are too few sunbeds, and unattended reservation is tricky, we noticed that a peculiar habit had been developed by the guests: early in the morning, even sometimes at 07:00, one of you goes down, reserves and guards your spot in the sun. The other person can then relax, get ready and have breakfast. Then you swap. Since we had the balcony facing the sea and the pool, it was interesting watching this. We noticed that mostly the male took the first turn in the shift.

Since we didn’t want to play this game, we instead opted for a relaxing start of the day with common breakfast and sometimes an early drink at the pool bar (opens 10:00). This meant that pool life was out of the question so we headed to the beach instead. As stated by other reviewers, sunbeds at the beach are quite expensive. So we listened to the advice and bought a big parasol (2m was a good size) and beach towels instead = totally around 30 EUR for a set. The beach gets crowded around 11:00 or so but there was no problem in getting a good spot also mid-day.

We had all meals at the buffet restaurant. There were not a tremendous variety of dishes to choose from but, in our opinion, enough. The quality was good and particularly the starter salads were well composed. At all meals, a la minute cooking was offered. For breakfast – omelettes. Lunches and dinners – various meat and fish offerings. Unfortunately they changed the lunch and dinner chef at the beginning of the second week. We liked the first one best. He was fun and better than the second one. The All-Inclusive drinks provided at lunch and dinner included soft drinks, beer, mineral water (on bottle) or red/rose/white wine. The wine was provided either in glass or bottle. At lunch, you really had to be convincing to get a bottle. At dinner, bottles were more natural. Lunch and dinner drinks were provided by the staff, as well as coffee in the morning. All wine varieties were simple but acceptable. We were at least pleasantly surprised. The wines at All-Inclusive places are otherwise usually quite bad.

The hotel has an ala carte, Italian style, restaurant as well. That one was opened on Tuesdays and Thursday and needed advanced reservation. We didn’t try the ala carte one. Based on previous experience, these ala carte restaurants usually provide the same quality of dishes as the buffet restaurant though just much less to choose from.

The pool bar was the only one being opened during our stay at the hotel. The regular staff serving at the pool bar did a good job. Irish coffee was included in the All-Inclusive menu too. Some evening staff, particularly during shows, seemed though to rather prefer serving paying customers than us, pre-payers. At those times, the simplest is just to wave, shout, or to go to the bar yourself to order what you want.

The room layout was a bit strange, as have been pointed out by other reviewers. The bathroom is pretty much in the room itself. Yes the toilet is behind shaded glass but the shower is not. So privacy, no way. For couples, yes, should be fine but there are other travel constellations as well. The room did not have any drawers either so you needed to make use of your suitcase for storing. The safety box had a combination lock, rather than a key. That was handy. The safety box costed 2.40 EUR/day for a week or 2.10 EUR/day for longer stays. A 10 EUR deposit was required too. A nice feature was the provision of a large water bottle per day. The pool bar provided also small water bottles per request (free for All-Inclusive people). The hotel information stated “The rooms will be cleaned every day between 08:30 and 15:30”. That information had not been communicated to the cleaning staff since our room was usually cleaned after 16:00 escalating to 17:30 one time. Since we were then busy getting ready for the evening, we got fed up and complained at the reception. Thereafter, cleaning was done at least before 16:00, as promised by the reception. The room cleaning quality itself varied also.

Wireless is available throughout the hotel and even at the beach (at least where we usually were). One hour costed 1 EUR, 1 day 10 EUR, 3 days 20 EUR, 7 days 30 EUR and 30 days(!) 45 EUR. These are on-line hours so a day of Internet will last long, provided you log-out between sessions.

So what did we learn. No kids – very appreciated. This location – hm. Have stayed at the other side of Palma before, at Playa de Palma. That side has a long and beautiful beach. Go there instead if you want to be near Palma. Luabay Marivent – most likely one-off only. If it had been located somewhere else, and with a more even service level – yes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Luabay Marivent, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and writing this review about your stay with us. We are glad to know that in general you had a great holiday and were satisfied with your room, our evening entertainment and our day bar staff. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it helps us to spot weak points that can be improved. We will therefore be sure to pass your comments about the lack of sunbeds and guests’ reserving these, the bar staff in the evening and the cleaning of your room to the corresponding departments and discuss them in more detail. It would be a great pleasure for us if we could welcome you as our guests again in the future and present you with some improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borås, Sweden
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Newly renovated modern rooms. Perfect location right at the beach in Cala Mayor. Breakfast buffet with lots to choose from but not very high quality food. Didn't try lunch or dinner at hotel. Not many good restaurants nearby although Palma is only a 15 min bus ride or 10 min taxi ride away. Taxi about 10 euros. Perfect hotel if you want to be near the beach and also Palma.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Merivent hotel in Cala major is an excellent and well worth the price. It is located at a nice beach, that gets a bit crowded after 1100. The hotel has a pool area, but with quite few sun beds, so you have to take a sun bed before 0800 if you want one. The rooms are very good with fridge and coffee and tea. The hotel is very clean and the hotel service and staff is excellent. The hotel also has entertainment every evening at 2100, with very good performance. The hotel breakfast is also excellent with hot breakfast, fruit, and anything you need for a good breakfast.
Overall the Luabay Merivent is an excellent hotel and well worth the money

Room Tip: Take sea view or limited sea view, that gives you a very nice view of the sea and the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Luabay Marivent, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you very much for writing this review. It is great to know you had a lovely time and enjoyed your stay to the fullest. Your feedback will be shared with our staff and we are looking forward to welcoming you at our hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luabay Marivent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luabay Marivent

Address: Calle Gavina, 9, 07015 Cala Major, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Major
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Cala Major
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luabay Marivent 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luabay Marivent Hotel (Majorca), is a hotel conceived keeping every detail in mind for couples, located right on the beach of Cala Major.It is the perfect space for enjoying a wonderful holiday on the stunning and charming Island of Majorca.Luabay Marivent Hotel offers you a wide variety of products and services such as its exclusive Beach Club, the baySpa (Luabay's very own Spa brand) and a varied and cared culinary offer.Its modern functional rooms will impress you and will render you everything you are looking for during your holidays.Luabay Marivent Hotel will make you find your dreams again.Come and let us seduce you... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Luabay Marivent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Ana Calvia
Santa Ana Hotel Calvia
Luabay Marivent Majorca/Cala Major, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luabay Marivent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.