We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For couples only” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Luabay Marivent

Save Saved
You added Luabay Marivent to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Luabay Marivent
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Gavina, 9, 07015 Cala Major, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Cala Major
Kiruna
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“For couples only”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Luabay Marivent hotel is right at the Cala Mayor beach. The rooms and common areas have good standard. Service is so so. Meals are great and the atmosphere is relaxed.

Having said that, we have mixed feelings about the complex. The hotel is located in a kind of suburb to Palma. You can easy take the bus (1.50 EUR one way) or taxi (around 10 EUR) to get to city life. At Cala Mayor, there is not much activity, neither day nor evening time. The hotel shows start though at 21:15 every evening and these are well worth watching. We particularly liked the Abba-Mia show and the animation team “2 men around the world”. Also the Swedish guitarist, Chris, performed well.

So life at Luabay Marivent follows the pattern, breakfast, pool or beach, lunch, pool, beach or bar (also before lunch if you wish), dinner and evening show (unless you opt to go to Palma).

We stayed All-Inclusive for two weeks and after some days, this pattern got a bit boring.

Pool life is somewhat complicated. There are too few sunbeds available so you need to be lucky or up very early in the morning to get a place. Reserving sunbeds before breakfast often fails since the hotel guard removes towels etc, unless you are physically there to protect your reservation. If your reservation is lost, your stuff can be picked up at the reception. Since there are too few sunbeds, and unattended reservation is tricky, we noticed that a peculiar habit had been developed by the guests: early in the morning, even sometimes at 07:00, one of you goes down, reserves and guards your spot in the sun. The other person can then relax, get ready and have breakfast. Then you swap. Since we had the balcony facing the sea and the pool, it was interesting watching this. We noticed that mostly the male took the first turn in the shift.

Since we didn’t want to play this game, we instead opted for a relaxing start of the day with common breakfast and sometimes an early drink at the pool bar (opens 10:00). This meant that pool life was out of the question so we headed to the beach instead. As stated by other reviewers, sunbeds at the beach are quite expensive. So we listened to the advice and bought a big parasol (2m was a good size) and beach towels instead = totally around 30 EUR for a set. The beach gets crowded around 11:00 or so but there was no problem in getting a good spot also mid-day.

We had all meals at the buffet restaurant. There were not a tremendous variety of dishes to choose from but, in our opinion, enough. The quality was good and particularly the starter salads were well composed. At all meals, a la minute cooking was offered. For breakfast – omelettes. Lunches and dinners – various meat and fish offerings. Unfortunately they changed the lunch and dinner chef at the beginning of the second week. We liked the first one best. He was fun and better than the second one. The All-Inclusive drinks provided at lunch and dinner included soft drinks, beer, mineral water (on bottle) or red/rose/white wine. The wine was provided either in glass or bottle. At lunch, you really had to be convincing to get a bottle. At dinner, bottles were more natural. Lunch and dinner drinks were provided by the staff, as well as coffee in the morning. All wine varieties were simple but acceptable. We were at least pleasantly surprised. The wines at All-Inclusive places are otherwise usually quite bad.

The hotel has an ala carte, Italian style, restaurant as well. That one was opened on Tuesdays and Thursday and needed advanced reservation. We didn’t try the ala carte one. Based on previous experience, these ala carte restaurants usually provide the same quality of dishes as the buffet restaurant though just much less to choose from.

The pool bar was the only one being opened during our stay at the hotel. The regular staff serving at the pool bar did a good job. Irish coffee was included in the All-Inclusive menu too. Some evening staff, particularly during shows, seemed though to rather prefer serving paying customers than us, pre-payers. At those times, the simplest is just to wave, shout, or to go to the bar yourself to order what you want.

The room layout was a bit strange, as have been pointed out by other reviewers. The bathroom is pretty much in the room itself. Yes the toilet is behind shaded glass but the shower is not. So privacy, no way. For couples, yes, should be fine but there are other travel constellations as well. The room did not have any drawers either so you needed to make use of your suitcase for storing. The safety box had a combination lock, rather than a key. That was handy. The safety box costed 2.40 EUR/day for a week or 2.10 EUR/day for longer stays. A 10 EUR deposit was required too. A nice feature was the provision of a large water bottle per day. The pool bar provided also small water bottles per request (free for All-Inclusive people). The hotel information stated “The rooms will be cleaned every day between 08:30 and 15:30”. That information had not been communicated to the cleaning staff since our room was usually cleaned after 16:00 escalating to 17:30 one time. Since we were then busy getting ready for the evening, we got fed up and complained at the reception. Thereafter, cleaning was done at least before 16:00, as promised by the reception. The room cleaning quality itself varied also.

Wireless is available throughout the hotel and even at the beach (at least where we usually were). One hour costed 1 EUR, 1 day 10 EUR, 3 days 20 EUR, 7 days 30 EUR and 30 days(!) 45 EUR. These are on-line hours so a day of Internet will last long, provided you log-out between sessions.

So what did we learn. No kids – very appreciated. This location – hm. Have stayed at the other side of Palma before, at Playa de Palma. That side has a long and beautiful beach. Go there instead if you want to be near Palma. Luabay Marivent – most likely one-off only. If it had been located somewhere else, and with a more even service level – yes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Luabay Marivent, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and writing this review about your stay with us. We are glad to know that in general you had a great holiday and were satisfied with your room, our evening entertainment and our day bar staff. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it helps us to spot weak points that can be improved. We will therefore be sure to pass your comments about the lack of sunbeds and guests’ reserving these, the bar staff in the evening and the cleaning of your room to the corresponding departments and discuss them in more detail. It would be a great pleasure for us if we could welcome you as our guests again in the future and present you with some improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    114
    68
    20
    12
See reviews for
17
214
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Borås, Sweden
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Newly renovated modern rooms. Perfect location right at the beach in Cala Mayor. Breakfast buffet with lots to choose from but not very high quality food. Didn't try lunch or dinner at hotel. Not many good restaurants nearby although Palma is only a 15 min bus ride or 10 min taxi ride away. Taxi about 10 euros. Perfect hotel if you want to be near the beach and also Palma.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Merivent hotel in Cala major is an excellent and well worth the price. It is located at a nice beach, that gets a bit crowded after 1100. The hotel has a pool area, but with quite few sun beds, so you have to take a sun bed before 0800 if you want one. The rooms are very good with fridge and coffee and tea. The hotel is very clean and the hotel service and staff is excellent. The hotel also has entertainment every evening at 2100, with very good performance. The hotel breakfast is also excellent with hot breakfast, fruit, and anything you need for a good breakfast.
Overall the Luabay Merivent is an excellent hotel and well worth the money

Room Tip: Take sea view or limited sea view, that gives you a very nice view of the sea and the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Luabay Marivent, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you very much for writing this review. It is great to know you had a lovely time and enjoyed your stay to the fullest. Your feedback will be shared with our staff and we are looking forward to welcoming you at our hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We spent 7 nights here as second week of our Mallorcan holiday. After being the first week at a remote, rural hotel, Luabay Marivent felt busy and crowded, but of course one gets used to it. We had booked a seaview which was the best idea. View was nice and it was also nice to follow what happened at the beach late in the evening after tourists left and locals arrived.

Our room was absolutely clean and spacious enough. Few oddities however, like the shelves that we thought were for clothes were so narrow that they'd better suit your book collection. Also bathroom was interesting, as there were no door, only a glass door to the toilet seat and also the laminate floor continued up until where shower started. Hopefully they don't get water damages...

With the seaview we also got the noise from evening shows which happened right below us. I'd say there were no sound isolation with the balcony windows and doors. In the morning it was nice to wake up at the sound of the waves, but if someone made noise in the beach during the night, it was possible you'd wake up. The evening shows seemed popular, but the quality is up to discussion. It got from bad to worse when the hotel next door had their show at the same time at some nights, quite a disharmony...

We booked halfboard as it was simply cheap. Judging by the size of the hotel and the number of guests eating at the hotel on evenings, it didn't look too popular. Food was okeyish, enough selection. Glass of wine was reasonably priced.

Many have complained about the too little number of sunbeds, and that was clear. After 9am it was difficult to find a place. Many people reserved beds already at 7am, also staying at them from such an early hour. The hotel had a policy that an unguarded towels can be removed by staff after a request after 15 minutes. In the morning there were even a staff member watching that towels were not just dropped there.

The beach is a public one and gets fully packed. There are no sunbeds by the hotel at the beach. To move between the hotel area and the beach you need the key card for a gate.

It was very easy to take the bus to the Palma center or the Portopi shopping center. Lots of shopping options in the city. The cathedral is also very recommended place to visit. If you're interested in Joan Miro's art, the Miro museum is about 20-25 minute walk from the hotel (mostly uphill).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Luabay Marivent, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we are glad to know you enjoyed you stay at one of our seaview rooms, your suggestions and comments about the room will be forwarded to the correspondent department and they help us improve our service. We are sorry to hear the entertainment shows did not find your taste. We hope we can welcome you again and show you some improvements thanks to your suggestions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had a truly lovely stay at this hotel, the staff were great and help us if there were any problems. In our stay for 14 days we had a lot of time to see Palma and the nearby surroundings. It took aprox 15-20 minutes by bus to Palma city. The only thing we were not satisfied by was that it was to few sun beds. The beach was clean and only 2 minutes by walking from the hotel.

The cleaning were good and the food was okay. The nightlife is not so good, so wouldn´t go here if you're planning a party trip, but if not, this is the perfect place, there are noe children under 16 allowed in the hotel. I will recomend this hotel if you're looking for a nice and calm vacation with no fuss, just relaxing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Luabay Marivent, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Your review is very much appreciated Benedid, we are glad to know you enjoyed a nice and calm vacation in Mallorca and we hope you visit us soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We had a truly lovely stay at the Luabay Marivent. We arrived on a Saturday morning with a welcome glass of cava and whilst we had to wait 2 to 3 hours for our room to be prepared, it was worth the wait, as our newly refurbished room was modern and spacious with relaxing decor and we immediately unwound, especially when we discovered our room had a balcony with a partial sea bay view which was not guaranteed. In fact the views from every angle of the hotel were lovely, looking on to the beach and the bay. The half board themed buffet was of a high standard, with more choice than we have had with other four star hotels, with a variety of meat and fish cooked fresh to order, and lots of salad and veg and prepared meat dishes, and the drinks were extremely reasonable (glass of wine less than 4 Euros). My one comment on the beautfully presented mini desserts was that they all seemed to have sweetened whipped cream on, even creme caramel and mini fruit salads! The staff in the restaurant and bar were very friendly, very attentive. The reception staff were, in the main, very friendly (the older chap was rather poor tempered and didn't seem to care that he was in full view of newly arriving guests!) but a couple of the other reception staff made up for his behaviour with attentive friendly professionalism. You will need a deposit for beach towels, and the room safe is extra. The bathroom toiletrieswere plentiful but poor quality. The housekeeping was very good. Being an adult only hotel, and having a generally older clientele meant the bar and restaurant had a nice relaxing feel, in fact we had a sea view in the restaurant, which was lovely, and one could eat outside to be even closer to the sea and beach.The hotel entertainment was a bit ropy - the most hilarious and poor quality flamenco I have ever seen - however fun and light hearted! One small complaint about the hotel- early birds booked their towels on the best loungers, and then disappeared sometimes until 11 am, I really feel the hotel should monitor and prevent people from reserving loungers in this fashion (perhaps a 30 minute return policy) as being polite guests, one found oneself without a sun lounger or in a less favourable place, whilst sun loungers lay reserved with towels but empty of occupants! We loved the fact that the hotel was just 15 minutes bus ride from the elegant and vibrant Palma city. Also the airport commute was no more than 30 mins and we were not disturbed by overhead planes. I think the hotel should look at free wifi, monitoring early reservation of towels on the loungers, and finding better quality evening entertainment acts, however all other aspects for us were 10 out of 10!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Luabay Marivent, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you very much for being our guests and taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. It is lovely to hear you enjoyed your holiday to the fullest and had a relaxing stay. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we are glad you were satisfied with the food we offer, our staff’s friendliness and your room. We also appreciate your suggestions on how we could further improve our guests’ experience and will be sure to forward your ideas to the respective departments and look for ways of improvement. It would be a great pleasure if we could welcome you at our hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Never going back here!
Rude staff in the reception, the hardest bed i ever "slept" in. If you don't pay extra you get a room in the back and there is a lot of traffic all night long. The pool was dirty, there was to few sunbeds for that big hotel. The breakfast was good, and the location was otherwise okay. Glad the bus to Palma and other places was close!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Luabay Marivent, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to gives us feedback about your stay at our hotel. We will be sure to look into the points you did not like and initiate improvements where possible. We truly hope that you had an enjoyable stay, nonetheless and would love to welcome you as our guests again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luabay Marivent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luabay Marivent

Address: Calle Gavina, 9, 07015 Cala Major, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Major
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Cala Major
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luabay Marivent 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luabay Marivent Hotel (Majorca), is a hotel conceived keeping every detail in mind for couples, located right on the beach of Cala Major.It is the perfect space for enjoying a wonderful holiday on the stunning and charming Island of Majorca.Luabay Marivent Hotel offers you a wide variety of products and services such as its exclusive Beach Club, the baySpa (Luabay's very own Spa brand) and a varied and cared culinary offer.Its modern functional rooms will impress you and will render you everything you are looking for during your holidays.Luabay Marivent Hotel will make you find your dreams again.Come and let us seduce you... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Luabay Marivent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Ana Calvia
Santa Ana Hotel Calvia
Luabay Marivent Majorca/Cala Major, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luabay Marivent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.