We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luabay Marivent

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Luabay Marivent to your Saves list
Luabay Marivent
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Gavina, 9, 07015 Cala Major, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cala Major
Borås, Sweden
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Newly renovated modern rooms. Perfect location right at the beach in Cala Mayor. Breakfast buffet with lots to choose from but not very high quality food. Didn't try lunch or dinner at hotel. Not many good restaurants nearby although Palma is only a 15 min bus ride or 10 min taxi ride away. Taxi about 10 euros. Perfect hotel if you want to be near the beach and also Palma.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    130
    75
    24
    13
See reviews for
22
242
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Merivent hotel in Cala major is an excellent and well worth the price. It is located at a nice beach, that gets a bit crowded after 1100. The hotel has a pool area, but with quite few sun beds, so you have to take a sun bed before 0800 if you want one. The rooms are very good with fridge and coffee and tea. The hotel is very clean and the hotel service and staff is excellent. The hotel also has entertainment every evening at 2100, with very good performance. The hotel breakfast is also excellent with hot breakfast, fruit, and anything you need for a good breakfast.
Overall the Luabay Merivent is an excellent hotel and well worth the money

Room Tip: Take sea view or limited sea view, that gives you a very nice view of the sea and the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Luabay Marivent, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you very much for writing this review. It is great to know you had a lovely time and enjoyed your stay to the fullest. Your feedback will be shared with our staff and we are looking forward to welcoming you at our hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We spent 7 nights here as second week of our Mallorcan holiday. After being the first week at a remote, rural hotel, Luabay Marivent felt busy and crowded, but of course one gets used to it. We had booked a seaview which was the best idea. View was nice and it was also nice to follow what happened at the beach late in the evening after tourists left and locals arrived.

Our room was absolutely clean and spacious enough. Few oddities however, like the shelves that we thought were for clothes were so narrow that they'd better suit your book collection. Also bathroom was interesting, as there were no door, only a glass door to the toilet seat and also the laminate floor continued up until where shower started. Hopefully they don't get water damages...

With the seaview we also got the noise from evening shows which happened right below us. I'd say there were no sound isolation with the balcony windows and doors. In the morning it was nice to wake up at the sound of the waves, but if someone made noise in the beach during the night, it was possible you'd wake up. The evening shows seemed popular, but the quality is up to discussion. It got from bad to worse when the hotel next door had their show at the same time at some nights, quite a disharmony...

We booked halfboard as it was simply cheap. Judging by the size of the hotel and the number of guests eating at the hotel on evenings, it didn't look too popular. Food was okeyish, enough selection. Glass of wine was reasonably priced.

Many have complained about the too little number of sunbeds, and that was clear. After 9am it was difficult to find a place. Many people reserved beds already at 7am, also staying at them from such an early hour. The hotel had a policy that an unguarded towels can be removed by staff after a request after 15 minutes. In the morning there were even a staff member watching that towels were not just dropped there.

The beach is a public one and gets fully packed. There are no sunbeds by the hotel at the beach. To move between the hotel area and the beach you need the key card for a gate.

It was very easy to take the bus to the Palma center or the Portopi shopping center. Lots of shopping options in the city. The cathedral is also very recommended place to visit. If you're interested in Joan Miro's art, the Miro museum is about 20-25 minute walk from the hotel (mostly uphill).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Luabay Marivent, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we are glad to know you enjoyed you stay at one of our seaview rooms, your suggestions and comments about the room will be forwarded to the correspondent department and they help us improve our service. We are sorry to hear the entertainment shows did not find your taste. We hope we can welcome you again and show you some improvements thanks to your suggestions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had a truly lovely stay at this hotel, the staff were great and help us if there were any problems. In our stay for 14 days we had a lot of time to see Palma and the nearby surroundings. It took aprox 15-20 minutes by bus to Palma city. The only thing we were not satisfied by was that it was to few sun beds. The beach was clean and only 2 minutes by walking from the hotel.

The cleaning were good and the food was okay. The nightlife is not so good, so wouldn´t go here if you're planning a party trip, but if not, this is the perfect place, there are noe children under 16 allowed in the hotel. I will recomend this hotel if you're looking for a nice and calm vacation with no fuss, just relaxing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Luabay Marivent, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Your review is very much appreciated Benedid, we are glad to know you enjoyed a nice and calm vacation in Mallorca and we hope you visit us soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We had a truly lovely stay at the Luabay Marivent. We arrived on a Saturday morning with a welcome glass of cava and whilst we had to wait 2 to 3 hours for our room to be prepared, it was worth the wait, as our newly refurbished room was modern and spacious with relaxing decor and we immediately unwound, especially when we discovered our room had a balcony with a partial sea bay view which was not guaranteed. In fact the views from every angle of the hotel were lovely, looking on to the beach and the bay. The half board themed buffet was of a high standard, with more choice than we have had with other four star hotels, with a variety of meat and fish cooked fresh to order, and lots of salad and veg and prepared meat dishes, and the drinks were extremely reasonable (glass of wine less than 4 Euros). My one comment on the beautfully presented mini desserts was that they all seemed to have sweetened whipped cream on, even creme caramel and mini fruit salads! The staff in the restaurant and bar were very friendly, very attentive. The reception staff were, in the main, very friendly (the older chap was rather poor tempered and didn't seem to care that he was in full view of newly arriving guests!) but a couple of the other reception staff made up for his behaviour with attentive friendly professionalism. You will need a deposit for beach towels, and the room safe is extra. The bathroom toiletrieswere plentiful but poor quality. The housekeeping was very good. Being an adult only hotel, and having a generally older clientele meant the bar and restaurant had a nice relaxing feel, in fact we had a sea view in the restaurant, which was lovely, and one could eat outside to be even closer to the sea and beach.The hotel entertainment was a bit ropy - the most hilarious and poor quality flamenco I have ever seen - however fun and light hearted! One small complaint about the hotel- early birds booked their towels on the best loungers, and then disappeared sometimes until 11 am, I really feel the hotel should monitor and prevent people from reserving loungers in this fashion (perhaps a 30 minute return policy) as being polite guests, one found oneself without a sun lounger or in a less favourable place, whilst sun loungers lay reserved with towels but empty of occupants! We loved the fact that the hotel was just 15 minutes bus ride from the elegant and vibrant Palma city. Also the airport commute was no more than 30 mins and we were not disturbed by overhead planes. I think the hotel should look at free wifi, monitoring early reservation of towels on the loungers, and finding better quality evening entertainment acts, however all other aspects for us were 10 out of 10!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Luabay Marivent, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you very much for being our guests and taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. It is lovely to hear you enjoyed your holiday to the fullest and had a relaxing stay. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we are glad you were satisfied with the food we offer, our staff’s friendliness and your room. We also appreciate your suggestions on how we could further improve our guests’ experience and will be sure to forward your ideas to the respective departments and look for ways of improvement. It would be a great pleasure if we could welcome you at our hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Never going back here!
Rude staff in the reception, the hardest bed i ever "slept" in. If you don't pay extra you get a room in the back and there is a lot of traffic all night long. The pool was dirty, there was to few sunbeds for that big hotel. The breakfast was good, and the location was otherwise okay. Glad the bus to Palma and other places was close!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Luabay Marivent, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to gives us feedback about your stay at our hotel. We will be sure to look into the points you did not like and initiate improvements where possible. We truly hope that you had an enjoyable stay, nonetheless and would love to welcome you as our guests again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Great and clean hotel. Great beach- not near much nightlife so best if you're planning on staying at the hotel. Crowd is older but nice and quiet. My only complaints were the elevators not being very reliable and the drinks having inconsistent prices and inconsistent pours. On the whole, excellent hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Luabay Marivent, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed a relaxing stay and were satisfied with our service and facilities. Your feedback about the drinks is very much appreciated and we will forward it to the respective department. It would be a great pleasure if we could welcome you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luabay Marivent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luabay Marivent

Address: Calle Gavina, 9, 07015 Cala Major, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Major
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cala Major
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luabay Marivent 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luabay Marivent Hotel (Majorca), is a hotel conceived keeping every detail in mind for couples, located right on the beach of Cala Major.It is the perfect space for enjoying a wonderful holiday on the stunning and charming Island of Majorca.Luabay Marivent Hotel offers you a wide variety of products and services such as its exclusive Beach Club, the baySpa (Luabay's very own Spa brand) and a varied and cared culinary offer.Its modern functional rooms will impress you and will render you everything you are looking for during your holidays.Luabay Marivent Hotel will make you find your dreams again.Come and let us seduce you... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Luabay Marivent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Ana Calvia
Santa Ana Hotel Calvia
Luabay Marivent Majorca/Cala Major, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luabay Marivent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.