We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect beach holiday near Palma city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Be Live Adults Only Marivent

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Be Live Adults Only Marivent to your Saves list
Be Live Adults Only Marivent
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Gavina, 9, 07015 Cala Major, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Luabay Marivent)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cala Major
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect beach holiday near Palma city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We had a truly lovely stay at the Luabay Marivent. We arrived on a Saturday morning with a welcome glass of cava and whilst we had to wait 2 to 3 hours for our room to be prepared, it was worth the wait, as our newly refurbished room was modern and spacious with relaxing decor and we immediately unwound, especially when we discovered our room had a balcony with a partial sea bay view which was not guaranteed. In fact the views from every angle of the hotel were lovely, looking on to the beach and the bay. The half board themed buffet was of a high standard, with more choice than we have had with other four star hotels, with a variety of meat and fish cooked fresh to order, and lots of salad and veg and prepared meat dishes, and the drinks were extremely reasonable (glass of wine less than 4 Euros). My one comment on the beautfully presented mini desserts was that they all seemed to have sweetened whipped cream on, even creme caramel and mini fruit salads! The staff in the restaurant and bar were very friendly, very attentive. The reception staff were, in the main, very friendly (the older chap was rather poor tempered and didn't seem to care that he was in full view of newly arriving guests!) but a couple of the other reception staff made up for his behaviour with attentive friendly professionalism. You will need a deposit for beach towels, and the room safe is extra. The bathroom toiletrieswere plentiful but poor quality. The housekeeping was very good. Being an adult only hotel, and having a generally older clientele meant the bar and restaurant had a nice relaxing feel, in fact we had a sea view in the restaurant, which was lovely, and one could eat outside to be even closer to the sea and beach.The hotel entertainment was a bit ropy - the most hilarious and poor quality flamenco I have ever seen - however fun and light hearted! One small complaint about the hotel- early birds booked their towels on the best loungers, and then disappeared sometimes until 11 am, I really feel the hotel should monitor and prevent people from reserving loungers in this fashion (perhaps a 30 minute return policy) as being polite guests, one found oneself without a sun lounger or in a less favourable place, whilst sun loungers lay reserved with towels but empty of occupants! We loved the fact that the hotel was just 15 minutes bus ride from the elegant and vibrant Palma city. Also the airport commute was no more than 30 mins and we were not disturbed by overhead planes. I think the hotel should look at free wifi, monitoring early reservation of towels on the loungers, and finding better quality evening entertainment acts, however all other aspects for us were 10 out of 10!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Be Live Adults Only Marivent, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you very much for being our guests and taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. It is lovely to hear you enjoyed your holiday to the fullest and had a relaxing stay. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we are glad you were satisfied with the food we offer, our staff’s friendliness and your room. We also appreciate your suggestions on how we could further improve our guests’ experience and will be sure to forward your ideas to the respective departments and look for ways of improvement. It would be a great pleasure if we could welcome you at our hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    156
    84
    27
    14
See reviews for
23
277
12
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Never going back here!
Rude staff in the reception, the hardest bed i ever "slept" in. If you don't pay extra you get a room in the back and there is a lot of traffic all night long. The pool was dirty, there was to few sunbeds for that big hotel. The breakfast was good, and the location was otherwise okay. Glad the bus to Palma and other places was close!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Be Live Adults Only Marivent, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to gives us feedback about your stay at our hotel. We will be sure to look into the points you did not like and initiate improvements where possible. We truly hope that you had an enjoyable stay, nonetheless and would love to welcome you as our guests again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Great and clean hotel. Great beach- not near much nightlife so best if you're planning on staying at the hotel. Crowd is older but nice and quiet. My only complaints were the elevators not being very reliable and the drinks having inconsistent prices and inconsistent pours. On the whole, excellent hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Be Live Adults Only Marivent, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed a relaxing stay and were satisfied with our service and facilities. Your feedback about the drinks is very much appreciated and we will forward it to the respective department. It would be a great pleasure if we could welcome you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Luabay Marivent is excellently located just on the Cala Mayor beach. Actually, the hotel really couldn’t be more close to the beach as it is. In this regard, this is pretty much the best you can get if you are looking for place to stay close to a beach. However, some notes about the beach itself: as the beach is not operated by the hotel, you have to pay for the sun chairs and umbrellas (two chairs and one umbrella amount to 16 euros). Also, even though the hotel itself is marketed “adults only”, the beach is open to the public which means kids running around.

The hotel is also otherwise nicely located in a touristy area with lots of restaurants, bars and small markets around. And if you are looking for something less touristy, the bus stop for buses (line number 3) to Palma city center is just around the corner. A single ticket costs a mere 1,50 euros and the one way trip takes about 20 minutes to one direction. It is also possible to walk to Palma, it takes around 90 minutes or so to go by foot. The Porto Pi shopping centre is also on a walkable distance.

Our superior room was clean, spacious and the sea view was great. The rooms looked like they were recently renovated. At times there were some noise from the beach club and other hotels at the beach during the evenings, which might disturb you if you are a light sleeper and like to go to bed early.

Service at the front desk was friendly. Sadly, there is no free Wi-Fi available.

The breakfast was decent, with a sufficient selection of everything. Nothing to get really excited about but it served its purpose.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Be Live Adults Only Marivent, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you very much for being our guest and for sharing your experience at our hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the location of the hotel and had a great time staying with us. Your comment about the WiFi will be forwarded to the corresponding department and we hope this was not a very big issue for you. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you at our hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Before we booked this holiday, of course, Trip Adviser was the first stop. Problem - recent refurb. and new owners so no relevant reviews. So this was a bit of a gamble. We were attracted by it being adult only and close to the City of Palma which we wanted to explore. Our experience was exactly that. Yes we had to walk from the dropoff - wheeled suitcases to the rescue - but it was not far. The hotel atmosphere and rooms were a bit bland needing a bit more colour and design, a missed opportunity.
Our room was comfortable if rather near to the Hotel Nixe next door and with an outlook of a wall. Still we never pay for a sea view on the basis it is normally dark when we are in our room! Fortunately local rules say no music after midnight so although this was a bit "flexible" we were not badly disturbed.
In general the food was good with themed nights, of good quality and plentiful, the hotel clean and the staff helpful. We were all inclusive and like wine with our evening meal, the selection was very limited but quite acceptable. The main bar in the hotel did get busy but there was never an undue wait, no more than at home in the local. During our stay the upstairs bar was not open, unsure why as this had a good size TV and was a quiet escape if you did not like the entertainment. Oh yes the bonus in this holiday was the entertainment - some wonderful music including an ABBA tribute and a solo artist called Damian Lodrick who was fantastic (a feature was that he played/sung for an hour with not a break even for applause) with a good range of songs.

The local beach was good nice sand and a gentle slope into the sea, very busy at the weekend as the locals descend. Tip - buy a parasol or two rather than rent beds and umbrellas.

Negatives, one or two. I really think there should be some free WiFi in public areas. The pool area had sufficient loungers (just) but far too few umbrellas and could get a bit cosy so we escaped to the beach.
The beach bar is not part of the hotel or at least not part of the all inclusive so when there was music on the beach the bar was a bit of a trek. We had a normal bathroom but looked inside a room that was open plan, interesting, not great if you share a room with a friend or family member other than a partner, even then do you want to see their ablutions!

Overall a good holiday in a comfortable and well located hotel with good food, drink and helpful staff with very few negatives (mainly minor except the umbrellas).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Be Live Adults Only Marivent, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this balanced review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and especially our entertainment at night. Your feedback is very much appreciated. We will be sure to look into your comments about the design of our rooms, the Wi-Fi and parasols in the pool area in more detail and consider them for future improvements for the coming season. We thank you for your recommendation and would love to welcome you at our hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a week in July. A real disappointment. The hotel looked great from the travel brochure, reality was something else. Never again!
We got room 1107, spacious but so terribly plain and boring! The bathroom was weird, funny layout. There was a big balcony and two chairs and a small table, overlooking the pool and the sea. There was also the everlasting noise of entertainment afternoons, evenings and nights which we did not appreciate at all. Breakfast was OK and the breakfast area outside really lovely.
You cannot access the miniature beach without using your key card, so stupid, my bathingsuit has no pockets. Another annoying thing was procedures around pool towels. You could change towels I think three times in a week, but you had to do that at restricted times at the reception. I do not call that service. We will never stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Be Live Adults Only Marivent, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review and share your experience at our hotel. We truly hope that despite some negative points you are mentioning, you had a relaxing holiday. Your feedback is very much appreciated, as this is our first year of monitoring the reviews which helps us a lot for making improvements to our service for the new season. We will therefore pass your comments about the decoration of the room, noise of entertainment, key cards for access to the beach and our hotel and the pool towel service to the respective departments in order for them to look into it in more detail and consider changes for the future. It would be a great pleasure if you would be our guests again in the future to see our hotel from a different angle and enjoy a truly wonderful holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Having read a lot of negative reviews before our holiday, let me say I have no idea what they were talking about. This was truely agreat little hotel with its own private beach, the rooms clean and comfortable, exellent bars and dining room. We stayed half board, the breakfasts good value and plenty of choice. The evening meals again so much choice and so well presented, the staff and management smart and always smiling. The resturant dining room impecably clean, the food always fresh and hot, as I said we were given so much choice. The wine and drinks very reasonable, plus you had evening entertainment every night. Our room had a sea view, was clean, the bed comfortable, linen fresh, bathroom towels changed daily, bathroom modern with walk in shower.
Pool was adaquate, no problem with the loungers, staff always at hand. Beach clean, and the beach resturant very well run, the food was really good.

Hard to think of any thing negative, the hotel had undergone a refit, there were afew small bits that needed some attention (the stairs to the resturant) but I understand there is a second refit happening during this winters shutdown to finish off the few snags.

Local area a little run down......but go anywhere in Europe and find some where that has not suffered by the economic problems of late.

We would like to thank the management and staff for helping us have a great holiday, especially Belen and Merchi who both "went that extra mile" for everyone.

Room Tip: Sea View......the higher the better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Be Live Adults Only Marivent, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words, they are very much appreciated and will be shared with our staff. We are glad you to hear you had a great time and were completely satisfied with our hotel and the service we offer. It would be a pleasure to welcome you at our hotel again in the future. Thank you for choosing and recommending Luabay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Be Live Adults Only Marivent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Adults Only Marivent

Address: Calle Gavina, 9, 07015 Cala Major, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Luabay Marivent)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Major
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cala Major
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Live Adults Only Marivent 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Be Live Adults Only Marivent is a hotel that was completely renovated in 2012 and designed to detail for couples. Located in front of the beach of Cala Major, it offers a variety of services and products as its exclusive Beach Club, its relax zone "baySpa" (extra charge, contact the hotel for more information) and a large and varied gastronomic offer with a professional services, high-class facilities and a personalised treatment. Its modern and functional rooms offer everything needed to enjoy an unforgettable holiday. This hotel has the ISO 14001 Certification, as a result of its effective environmental management system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Be Live Adults Only Marivent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Ana Calvia
Santa Ana Hotel Calvia
Be Live Adults Only Marivent Majorca/Cala Major, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Be Live Adults Only Marivent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.