We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once is enough...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Luabay Marivent

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 6 more sites!
Luabay Marivent
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Gavina, 9, 07015 Cala Major, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Cala Major
Uppsala, Sweden
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Once is enough...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here for a week in July. A real disappointment. The hotel looked great from the travel brochure, reality was something else. Never again!
We got room 1107, spacious but so terribly plain and boring! The bathroom was weird, funny layout. There was a big balcony and two chairs and a small table, overlooking the pool and the sea. There was also the everlasting noise of entertainment afternoons, evenings and nights which we did not appreciate at all. Breakfast was OK and the breakfast area outside really lovely.
You cannot access the miniature beach without using your key card, so stupid, my bathingsuit has no pockets. Another annoying thing was procedures around pool towels. You could change towels I think three times in a week, but you had to do that at restricted times at the reception. I do not call that service. We will never stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Luabay Marivent, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review and share your experience at our hotel. We truly hope that despite some negative points you are mentioning, you had a relaxing holiday. Your feedback is very much appreciated, as this is our first year of monitoring the reviews which helps us a lot for making improvements to our service for the new season. We will therefore pass your comments about the decoration of the room, noise of entertainment, key cards for access to the beach and our hotel and the pool towel service to the respective departments in order for them to look into it in more detail and consider changes for the future. It would be a great pleasure if you would be our guests again in the future to see our hotel from a different angle and enjoy a truly wonderful holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    100
    62
    17
    11
See reviews for
16
189
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Having read a lot of negative reviews before our holiday, let me say I have no idea what they were talking about. This was truely agreat little hotel with its own private beach, the rooms clean and comfortable, exellent bars and dining room. We stayed half board, the breakfasts good value and plenty of choice. The evening meals again so much choice and so well presented, the staff and management smart and always smiling. The resturant dining room impecably clean, the food always fresh and hot, as I said we were given so much choice. The wine and drinks very reasonable, plus you had evening entertainment every night. Our room had a sea view, was clean, the bed comfortable, linen fresh, bathroom towels changed daily, bathroom modern with walk in shower.
Pool was adaquate, no problem with the loungers, staff always at hand. Beach clean, and the beach resturant very well run, the food was really good.

Hard to think of any thing negative, the hotel had undergone a refit, there were afew small bits that needed some attention (the stairs to the resturant) but I understand there is a second refit happening during this winters shutdown to finish off the few snags.

Local area a little run down......but go anywhere in Europe and find some where that has not suffered by the economic problems of late.

We would like to thank the management and staff for helping us have a great holiday, especially Belen and Merchi who both "went that extra mile" for everyone.

Room Tip: Sea View......the higher the better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Luabay Marivent, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words, they are very much appreciated and will be shared with our staff. We are glad you to hear you had a great time and were completely satisfied with our hotel and the service we offer. It would be a pleasure to welcome you at our hotel again in the future. Thank you for choosing and recommending Luabay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The food was good,the hotel very clean, the view from bedroom spectacular.

The reception staff very helpfull especially Philip who went out of his way to help and was always very pleasant.

Thompsons rep very helpfull also

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the sea are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

the luabay marvent is a great place to stay, although i would say its more suited for the fifty plus age, we went bed and breakfast there and the breakfast was buffet style and the food was great, the staff were very nice and helpful, only draw back was that if you wanted a lilo at the pool you had to get up quite early and had to stay there with your towels until 9am or security would take them away, there was entertainment laid on every niht at the pool bar it was a great base to get to palma and only costs a couple of euros, and if you crossed the road you got a bus to take you to palma nova and magaluf for about 3.50 euros

Room Tip: ask for sea facing and high up for a great veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Luabay Marivent, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you very much for your review and your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and had a great time. Your feedback about the sunbeds is very much appreciated and we can assure you that we are trying our best to keep people from reserving them early in the morning. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you at our hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I must state at the outset that this is the best package holiday hotel I’ve stayed in. I get the feeling from reading both the earlier negative and favourable comments made by some guests at the hotel that you just can’t please everybody as there are those who are only happy when they are complaining.
LOCATION: Yes the coach will drop you on the main road because there is nowhere for it to turn around immediately outside the hotel. So a walk of about 100 metres is required. No big deal. This hotel is not in a tourist area with all the usual tacky tourist shops. If you want that, go to Palma Nova, it’s awful. From the hotel there are a selection of bars, restaurants and shops just a 100 metres away. My wife and I took a few leisurely walks to the centre of Palma alongside the marina which took about 45 minutes. From the end of the road there are buses to Palma approximately every 10 minutes and costs one and half euros. The hotel faces south into the bay and from the hotel room you look out over the pool then the beach. A wonderful view.
HOTEL: The reception staff were professional, polite and helpful. The selection of food was amazing. Lots of ready prepared dishes with several additional ones being cooked to order. The lady who cooked the eggs at breakfast was brilliant. She could cook half a dozen orders at once and exactly as required. (I see someone even managed to complain about her).
THE BAR: The beer on sale was Amstel, which I personally like and was 2.25 euros (£1.80) for 25cl (half a pint) Not the cheapest but reasonable. There is a small bar just outside the hotel, I think it’s called ‘The Office’ and you pass it going in and out of the hotel, which is where I had the worst pint of beer I have ever tasted, be warned.
THE ROOM: A nice large air-conditioned room with sea view and small balcony. The room has full length black-out curtains, so if you’re not an early riser the sun won’t wake you. Very large bed and flat screen TV. Nice bathroom (despite what others have said) and the shower was brilliant. We had a small problem with the wash basin but it was rectified the same day. The room was cleaned to our satisfaction, but the replenishment of the tea and coffee supplies was a little inconsistent.
SUMMARY: The holiday rep, Alex was nearly always on hand to help with any queries or local information. The hotel management here do a very good job and we certainly enjoyed our stay. Would we come again? YES. It was value for money and unless you’re a born moaner don’t be put off by earlier negative comments, you will enjoy this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Luabay Marivent, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you so much for this detailed and balanced review. We are very glad to hear that you had a great time and were fully satisfied with our hotel and our staff. Your feedback means a lot to us and shows us that the hard work all of our staff carry out each day is appreciated. We are looking forward to having you as our guests again in the future and would like to thank you for choosing and recommending Luabay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were really pleased with this adults only hotel - especially the high standard of cleanliness and the attitude of the staff. They were all very helpful and friendly; nothing was too much trouble. For example, we were All Inclusive and, being end of season, there were too few people to put on a buffet lunch. So we were given instead an a la carte meal of very good quality. Also, we arrived late after the restaurant had closed but were welcomed with a smile, a glass of cava and a cold buffet which had been saved for us - couldn't ask for more. Our room had a sea view and we slept to the sound of the waves. All in all it was an excellent romantic break. We didn't expect much in the way of evening entertainment being end of season, but each night there were live performers of a very enjoyable standard. The hotel and fairly small beach would probably be too crowded in high season but for adults outside of peak period it is a great hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Luabay Marivent, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback and your kind words for our hotel and staff. We are glad you enjoyed your holiday to the fullest and are looking forward to welcoming you back at our hotel again in the future. Thank you for choosing and recommending Luabay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My review has positives and negatives so I will start with the positives. The hotel is a lovely hotel check in was fast and efficient with a glass of cava while we booked in. Our room was a lovely room we booked a sea view room and the view did not dissappoint laying in bed listening to the waves is an amazing sound. We had no problems with bathroom as we had a proper bathroom with wood door on. Our room was cleaned every day and we had no problems with cleanliness would have liked some drawers. Nice touch was the fridge which we didnt have to pay for and the bottle of water left in the fridge daily was a nice touch along with the tea and coffee replenished daily. The food there is saying you cannot please all of the people all the time and to be honest there was penty of choice and the show cooking was excellent and there was always something to eat regardless of tastes. The restaurant staff were very friendly especially mercedes and bindy. Pool area is small but none the less nice because of the time of year we had no problems getting sunbeds whatever time of day we came down. Buses available at the top of the road to many places. We did the palma bus tour and a day in palma we also went to Portal nous on the bus well worth, also Palma nova and santa ponsa. The entertainment was mixed some good some bad having the last three holidays being thomson gold we had been previously been spoilt with the entertainment. Probably the best acts over the 11 nights were the two guys in lovely suits on the monday night (8th october)the elvis tribute and the frank sinatra tribute.
I have to mention the thomson rep linda who worked between the two couples hotels on the island Linda who just happened to be going to the hotel as we arrived on the coach and she was able to point us in the right direction. She also helped us with our trip into palma and told us where to go and what to see. She also told us about a walk to Porto p and the warm museum and the views from the walk were amazing as she said.
Now the negatives i am a great believer in you lead from the top so the fact that the hotel manager was a regular in the hotel I was dissappointed that he never smiled, never said ola/hello not really good customer service even if his englis isnt good he could at least smile and say ola the rest of the hotel staff managed to do this.
Yes we knew about the walk from the bus to the hotel not a problem for us as abled bodied but would imagine difficult for the elderly. The biggest thing for me is a rep jumped on bus read a list of the hotels and we noted the marivent was 2nd drop so when 2nd drop came the bus driver is shouting santa anna, santa anna which we were like have we got it wrong we are not santa anna the i shouted do you mean marivent to which he shouted yes off and just threw cases on pavement and pointed in a vague direction of the hotel and got back on and drove off luckily linda the rep was nearby and she walked down with us. Personally i think there should be a meet and greet the reps at the airport could ring the rep in the hotel and say coach left airport and the rep could be at the bus stop would make a big difference after all we arrived as it was dropping dark and went home in pitch black and i did feel very vunerable.

Any problems we had at the hotel were dealt with straight away we had booked a double sea view room and it was made up as twins on arrival but spoke to reception and it was rectified very quickly. The other issue i had with the hotel was drink prices I drink Bacardi and coke and was charged several different prices dependant on who served me the dearest was 6.50 euros which i was charged mostely, then 6.20 euros, the 5.98 euros and 4 euros the latter not being very often in the end i bought a bottle of bacardi for 13 euros in palma nova and coke and had a couple of pre dinner drinks on the balcony and just drank soft drinks in the bar the hotels loss im afraid but hate being ripped off.
In summary loved the hotel and the view from room to the beach but hated the area felt very vunerable and didnt feel i could walk around the resort on my own and the area too run down for me if it was to be updated but bars shops closed down boarded up didnt do it for me i like to be able to walk for a drink and try different bars in the resort but because the area was run down we didnt feel we could walk about at night. Must also mention shanice the rep who was very friendly. Also thought bringing trays of fresh fruit round the pool was a nice touch as was the lunchtime where they served pialle free along with sangria we were also brought sangria round the pool a couple of times and lemonade. Had the area not been run down i would have come back to this hotel

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3104 which was a lovely room very large and an amazing sea view well worth paying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Luabay Marivent, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you very much for your balanced review and especially your kind words for our staff. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and had a fabulous holiday. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we thank you for pointing out things that need improvement. The information you are giving will be forwarded to the respective departments so that they can discuss solutions within the team. We would be delighted to welcome you as our guest again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luabay Marivent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luabay Marivent

Also Known As:
Santa Ana Calvia
Santa Ana Hotel Calvia
Luabay Marivent Majorca/Cala Major, Spain
Address: Calle Gavina, 9, 07015 Cala Major, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Major
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Cala Major
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luabay Marivent 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luabay Marivent Hotel (Majorca), is a hotel conceived keeping every detail in mind for couples, located right on the beach of Cala Major.It is the perfect space for enjoying a wonderful holiday on the stunning and charming Island of Majorca.Luabay Marivent Hotel offers you a wide variety of products and services such as its exclusive Beach Club, the baySpa (Luabay's very own Spa brand) and a varied and cared culinary offer.Its modern functional rooms will impress you and will render you everything you are looking for during your holidays.Luabay Marivent Hotel will make you find your dreams again.Come and let us seduce you... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Luabay Marivent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luabay Marivent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Luabay Marivent to your Saves list