We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laubay Marivent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luabay Marivent

Save Saved
You added Luabay Marivent to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Luabay Marivent
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Gavina, 9, 07015 Cala Major, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Cala Major
Norwich
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Laubay Marivent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The food was good,the hotel very clean, the view from bedroom spectacular.

The reception staff very helpfull especially Philip who went out of his way to help and was always very pleasant.

Thompsons rep very helpfull also

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the sea are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    114
    66
    20
    12
See reviews for
17
212
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

the luabay marvent is a great place to stay, although i would say its more suited for the fifty plus age, we went bed and breakfast there and the breakfast was buffet style and the food was great, the staff were very nice and helpful, only draw back was that if you wanted a lilo at the pool you had to get up quite early and had to stay there with your towels until 9am or security would take them away, there was entertainment laid on every niht at the pool bar it was a great base to get to palma and only costs a couple of euros, and if you crossed the road you got a bus to take you to palma nova and magaluf for about 3.50 euros

Room Tip: ask for sea facing and high up for a great veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Luabay Marivent, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you very much for your review and your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and had a great time. Your feedback about the sunbeds is very much appreciated and we can assure you that we are trying our best to keep people from reserving them early in the morning. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you at our hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I must state at the outset that this is the best package holiday hotel I’ve stayed in. I get the feeling from reading both the earlier negative and favourable comments made by some guests at the hotel that you just can’t please everybody as there are those who are only happy when they are complaining.
LOCATION: Yes the coach will drop you on the main road because there is nowhere for it to turn around immediately outside the hotel. So a walk of about 100 metres is required. No big deal. This hotel is not in a tourist area with all the usual tacky tourist shops. If you want that, go to Palma Nova, it’s awful. From the hotel there are a selection of bars, restaurants and shops just a 100 metres away. My wife and I took a few leisurely walks to the centre of Palma alongside the marina which took about 45 minutes. From the end of the road there are buses to Palma approximately every 10 minutes and costs one and half euros. The hotel faces south into the bay and from the hotel room you look out over the pool then the beach. A wonderful view.
HOTEL: The reception staff were professional, polite and helpful. The selection of food was amazing. Lots of ready prepared dishes with several additional ones being cooked to order. The lady who cooked the eggs at breakfast was brilliant. She could cook half a dozen orders at once and exactly as required. (I see someone even managed to complain about her).
THE BAR: The beer on sale was Amstel, which I personally like and was 2.25 euros (£1.80) for 25cl (half a pint) Not the cheapest but reasonable. There is a small bar just outside the hotel, I think it’s called ‘The Office’ and you pass it going in and out of the hotel, which is where I had the worst pint of beer I have ever tasted, be warned.
THE ROOM: A nice large air-conditioned room with sea view and small balcony. The room has full length black-out curtains, so if you’re not an early riser the sun won’t wake you. Very large bed and flat screen TV. Nice bathroom (despite what others have said) and the shower was brilliant. We had a small problem with the wash basin but it was rectified the same day. The room was cleaned to our satisfaction, but the replenishment of the tea and coffee supplies was a little inconsistent.
SUMMARY: The holiday rep, Alex was nearly always on hand to help with any queries or local information. The hotel management here do a very good job and we certainly enjoyed our stay. Would we come again? YES. It was value for money and unless you’re a born moaner don’t be put off by earlier negative comments, you will enjoy this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Luabay Marivent, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you so much for this detailed and balanced review. We are very glad to hear that you had a great time and were fully satisfied with our hotel and our staff. Your feedback means a lot to us and shows us that the hard work all of our staff carry out each day is appreciated. We are looking forward to having you as our guests again in the future and would like to thank you for choosing and recommending Luabay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were really pleased with this adults only hotel - especially the high standard of cleanliness and the attitude of the staff. They were all very helpful and friendly; nothing was too much trouble. For example, we were All Inclusive and, being end of season, there were too few people to put on a buffet lunch. So we were given instead an a la carte meal of very good quality. Also, we arrived late after the restaurant had closed but were welcomed with a smile, a glass of cava and a cold buffet which had been saved for us - couldn't ask for more. Our room had a sea view and we slept to the sound of the waves. All in all it was an excellent romantic break. We didn't expect much in the way of evening entertainment being end of season, but each night there were live performers of a very enjoyable standard. The hotel and fairly small beach would probably be too crowded in high season but for adults outside of peak period it is a great hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Luabay Marivent, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback and your kind words for our hotel and staff. We are glad you enjoyed your holiday to the fullest and are looking forward to welcoming you back at our hotel again in the future. Thank you for choosing and recommending Luabay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My review has positives and negatives so I will start with the positives. The hotel is a lovely hotel check in was fast and efficient with a glass of cava while we booked in. Our room was a lovely room we booked a sea view room and the view did not dissappoint laying in bed listening to the waves is an amazing sound. We had no problems with bathroom as we had a proper bathroom with wood door on. Our room was cleaned every day and we had no problems with cleanliness would have liked some drawers. Nice touch was the fridge which we didnt have to pay for and the bottle of water left in the fridge daily was a nice touch along with the tea and coffee replenished daily. The food there is saying you cannot please all of the people all the time and to be honest there was penty of choice and the show cooking was excellent and there was always something to eat regardless of tastes. The restaurant staff were very friendly especially mercedes and bindy. Pool area is small but none the less nice because of the time of year we had no problems getting sunbeds whatever time of day we came down. Buses available at the top of the road to many places. We did the palma bus tour and a day in palma we also went to Portal nous on the bus well worth, also Palma nova and santa ponsa. The entertainment was mixed some good some bad having the last three holidays being thomson gold we had been previously been spoilt with the entertainment. Probably the best acts over the 11 nights were the two guys in lovely suits on the monday night (8th october)the elvis tribute and the frank sinatra tribute.
I have to mention the thomson rep linda who worked between the two couples hotels on the island Linda who just happened to be going to the hotel as we arrived on the coach and she was able to point us in the right direction. She also helped us with our trip into palma and told us where to go and what to see. She also told us about a walk to Porto p and the warm museum and the views from the walk were amazing as she said.
Now the negatives i am a great believer in you lead from the top so the fact that the hotel manager was a regular in the hotel I was dissappointed that he never smiled, never said ola/hello not really good customer service even if his englis isnt good he could at least smile and say ola the rest of the hotel staff managed to do this.
Yes we knew about the walk from the bus to the hotel not a problem for us as abled bodied but would imagine difficult for the elderly. The biggest thing for me is a rep jumped on bus read a list of the hotels and we noted the marivent was 2nd drop so when 2nd drop came the bus driver is shouting santa anna, santa anna which we were like have we got it wrong we are not santa anna the i shouted do you mean marivent to which he shouted yes off and just threw cases on pavement and pointed in a vague direction of the hotel and got back on and drove off luckily linda the rep was nearby and she walked down with us. Personally i think there should be a meet and greet the reps at the airport could ring the rep in the hotel and say coach left airport and the rep could be at the bus stop would make a big difference after all we arrived as it was dropping dark and went home in pitch black and i did feel very vunerable.

Any problems we had at the hotel were dealt with straight away we had booked a double sea view room and it was made up as twins on arrival but spoke to reception and it was rectified very quickly. The other issue i had with the hotel was drink prices I drink Bacardi and coke and was charged several different prices dependant on who served me the dearest was 6.50 euros which i was charged mostely, then 6.20 euros, the 5.98 euros and 4 euros the latter not being very often in the end i bought a bottle of bacardi for 13 euros in palma nova and coke and had a couple of pre dinner drinks on the balcony and just drank soft drinks in the bar the hotels loss im afraid but hate being ripped off.
In summary loved the hotel and the view from room to the beach but hated the area felt very vunerable and didnt feel i could walk around the resort on my own and the area too run down for me if it was to be updated but bars shops closed down boarded up didnt do it for me i like to be able to walk for a drink and try different bars in the resort but because the area was run down we didnt feel we could walk about at night. Must also mention shanice the rep who was very friendly. Also thought bringing trays of fresh fruit round the pool was a nice touch as was the lunchtime where they served pialle free along with sangria we were also brought sangria round the pool a couple of times and lemonade. Had the area not been run down i would have come back to this hotel

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3104 which was a lovely room very large and an amazing sea view well worth paying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Luabay Marivent, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you very much for your balanced review and especially your kind words for our staff. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and had a fabulous holiday. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we thank you for pointing out things that need improvement. The information you are giving will be forwarded to the respective departments so that they can discuss solutions within the team. We would be delighted to welcome you as our guest again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here at the height of the season from the middle of August and had a wonderful 14 night holiday. Was worried having read some of the reviews when the hotel re-opened but everything was great.
The area around is less than perfect but there are some lovely bars nearby if you open your eyes, the walk to the hotel was no problem and we arrived at 11pm due to a flight delay. I've done worse walks to a hotel before.
Yes it's an open plan bathroom but you do have a door on the loo and as its a couples hotel it's fine, in fact thats more privacy than most peoples bathrooms have back home, and I'm sure most of us have needed a pee at an inconvenient moment and shared the bathroom with hubby/wife in the shower. If you're not a couple then don't book a couples only hotel and then whine about things being designed around couples. Some couples hotels have a completely open plan idea with the bath etc in the middle of the bedroom, what would you have done if this was one of them???
We had one or two minor issues that were dealt with immediately by management and/or our rep Alex, who I have to say was very very good at his job, his balance of friendly/business was spot on.
There were some interesting times around the pool in the mornings as there weren't really sufficient sun beds but we got one when we wanted one, yes towels were removed if beds weren't in use early in the morning but why should anyone expect to be able to reserve a sun bed at 6am yes 6am and not use it until after lunch! Most people got a sun bed when and where they wanted it and the hotel was full! But you have to agree putting your towels out then going off on a trip is just a bit selfish!
The food was great, and despite the hotel being full standards didn't slip. It was hot and very tasty with a wide variety. If you wanted egg and chips I'm sure the chef would have done it for you they were so accommodating, but why go abroad on holiday and expect British food? We were all inclusive and quite happy to eat there every night although we did eat in Palma when we visited the city, but that was only because we were there late afternoon early evening, would have been happy going back to hotel too.
The staff were great and very helpful they were very polite to everyone, despite being treated badly by some guests who wanted something that wasn't available whenTHEY wanted it like a table on the terrace in the evening when they were all taken. I was embarrassed to be British at times!
All in all we had a wonderful, romantic holiday and we will certainly return to the hotel again. It's true what people say some people are ne'er happy and maybe they shout just stay at home instead of picking fault for the sake of it where it doesn't really exist!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Luabay Marivent, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you very much for your detailed review about your stay with us! We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your holiday and had a lovely time with your partner. The Luabay Team would like to thank you for your kind words and is looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We booked our Holiday with Thomson, and we did wonder if we would be dissopointed, but we were not. Yes the walk from the main road if you are not expecting it, could be off putting, but seeing that other people have mentioned this previously we knew anyway, Perhaps the Rep at the airport could mention this, We did not find the road dirty in anyway, the waste bins are located there but these were emptied daily and this is normal in Spain. We arrived at 11.00am at the hotel and were greeted with a glass of Cava, yes our rooms were not ready but they said we could wait on the terrace or look around the resort and took our phone number and they would ring us when our room was available, we left our luggage in a secure room and were given tickets to retrieve them. We were called within the hour to say our room was available, This was a side facing room 1231, but we still had a sea view and was exactly llke the ones on the photos that are on the website and tripadvisor, It was clean, fresh looking with the fittings and paintwork looking pristine and this was the end of the season, yes the bathroom is openplan but the toilet has a door and this is a "couples hotel" you cant see into the bathroom from the room and most British bathrooms have toilets in them, so why are people complaining?
We are given a sheet at reception with information on and this included the charges for the rooms safe which worked out at 2.40euros per day and a 10euro deposit on the key, which they returned when we handed the key back at the end of the holiday, hardly mega bucks, you can also have free towels to use at pool a one off returnable deposit is required on these, but you can take your own towels if you want! One of coments we seen was that there were no draw space in the rooms, but there are shelves in the wardrobe? We also had a fridge and kettle with Tea and Coffee sachets and a bottle of water was left everyday. The restaurant is excellent and yes it is buffet style and a huge variety of food is available at both breakfast and dinner more than could be offered if they had a menu to choose from, this gives you the chance to try food that perhaps you would not usually have if you dont like it the staff would take it away and you could then have something else, but i must say nothing we had was not to our liking food was changed at the buffet regularly and I also seen food being tested to make sure it was up to temperature. You also can have one night per week in the A la Carte resturant, but the food in the other one was so good we did not bother, the nights were sometimes themed but there was aslo meat and fish availalbe to be cooked fresh in front of you and you could have as much as you wanted. The staff in the restaurant were excellent advising on wine and were always willing when asked for anything, We cant remember everyone names to thank them personally but everyone smiled even when they seemed very busy, and a Good Morning or Evening does not go amiss We find, if you are nice to people they will be nice to you! The entertainment in the evening was for the most part very good with at least 4 acts being outstanding, if it isn't your cup of tea there is a upstairs bar that tends to be quiter and people came and went between the two. The day time entertainment was quizzes and bingo but don't worry nobody is made to feel they have to take part, they also had a sangria making display and a free paella and sangria lunch, Drinks and fruit were brought around during the morning if you sat out on the terrace, this was availalble to all guests. Our last night was made even more special as when we returned to our room, we were greeted with strawberries, chocolates and a bottle of Cava and The customer service we received when we stayed at this hotel is excellent, perhaps previous comments have been taken on board by mangement? we would have no hesitation about returning, yes the area is a little run down, but for 1.50 euros you can get to Palma, Magaluff and Palma Nova and the three places we lunched at near the hotel were excellent, especially the Cafe Bar Sa Cala, lovely views from the garden area also i cant remember the name but it has a Smurf on the sign and if you like a kebab the Istanbul restaurant (turn right at the end of the road was very good lots of locals eating there) if there is one little niggle the beds were very hard, but it wasn't a put me off

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Luabay Marivent, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this detailed review about your stay. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your holiday to the fullest and really appreciate the kind words you have for our staff. It is great to know that our guests notice the improvements we are carrying out! Thank you again for being out guest and recommending the Luabay Marivent. We hope we can welcome you as our guests again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luabay Marivent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luabay Marivent

Address: Calle Gavina, 9, 07015 Cala Major, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Major
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Cala Major
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luabay Marivent 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luabay Marivent Hotel (Majorca), is a hotel conceived keeping every detail in mind for couples, located right on the beach of Cala Major.It is the perfect space for enjoying a wonderful holiday on the stunning and charming Island of Majorca.Luabay Marivent Hotel offers you a wide variety of products and services such as its exclusive Beach Club, the baySpa (Luabay's very own Spa brand) and a varied and cared culinary offer.Its modern functional rooms will impress you and will render you everything you are looking for during your holidays.Luabay Marivent Hotel will make you find your dreams again.Come and let us seduce you... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Luabay Marivent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Ana Calvia
Santa Ana Hotel Calvia
Luabay Marivent Majorca/Cala Major, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luabay Marivent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.