We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 star hotel to be rated 3 star” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Luabay Marivent

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Luabay Marivent to your Saves list
Luabay Marivent
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Gavina, 9, 07015 Cala Major, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cala Major
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“4 star hotel to be rated 3 star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We arrived back from the Marivent Oct 13th. We booked a two week holiday. A short walk from the transfer bus to the hotel was no bother at all!!! Getting into Palma, no problem, 1,50 Euro Bus # 3 and 15 min later you are in the capital of the island. The cathedal is a must. 6 Euro's entrance fee will not break the bank and is well worth it. On arrival nice welcome and a glass of Cava. We had a room on the 5th floor with limited seaview. Both room and view were amazing. Housekeeping the best I have ever expierienced;o) We booked HB and the breakfast had everything to offer, however the dinner was not as good. After filling two questionaires, I had both times mentioned that the food should be prepared with more passion, maybe it will change for the new season. If you are not into Mexican food like us, skip it and venture out. Our last evening was an oriental theme, the duck, spring rolls and fresh made Sushi were fantastic. Also the restaurant gave the impression of a canteen, this was mentioned by many guests, and hopefully taken into consideration to give the place more atmosphere. I have to mention two great waitresses - Susi & Mercedes were amazing, happy, friendly, attentive and hard working. As for the outdoor space, it is very cramped and if you do not reserve a sun lounger by 8.30am, then you are left to fend for yourself, use the ajoining beach and pay for two sunloungers and shade 15 Euro per day. We found a small secluded bay and went there every day. As for the evening entertainment, I have to point out that there are 3 Luabay hotels close to each other - Marivent, Palma & Costa and all three hotels have live entertainment until midnight. Be aware that you will be repeatedly subdubed to listen to Abba, Sinatra, Beatles, Elvis. Golden oldies for two weeks did get to us.
We made the best of our holiday and hope that our comments will change some things for the next season. On that note I would like to say that the two day trips we booked with Thomson were amazing: The Orange Blossom and the North Trio. Thanks to both of the guides making these days fantastic!!! Also last but not least Alex the Thomson rep has done a great job and I would like to wish him all the best for his next assignment in Egypt!!!

Room Tip: You do not have to book a superior, you do get nice seaviews when booking a room with limited seavie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Luabay Marivent, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Rosemary, thank you very much for your review. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and had a nice holiday. Your feedback about our staff will be forwarded to them and they will be more than happy that they made your experience special. Your suggestions about the food and the atmosphere of the dining area as well as the evening entertainment are very much appreciated and we will file them with the responsible department so they can initiate changes for the next season. Thank you again for being our guest and we would love to welcome you again at Luabay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    134
    76
    24
    13
See reviews for
22
250
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wincanton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The location at the front of the Hotel overlooking the sea is superb, however on arrival at the end of the street it is apparent that the area is dirty & ran down. In general the staff were very good & of course dear Alex, there were some that should find work elsewhere as not suited to working with public. The rooms are comfortable but not to a 4* standard, the daily standard of cleaning varied from poor to reaonable. The FOOD: breakfast was ok - the bacon swam in oil either undercooked (nearly raw) or burnt. 'DINNER' basic and bland very poor quality same old each evening. The chef should be sent on his way. AND of course the battle of the sunbeds the pool area is far too small for the size of the Hotel. The early bird catches the sunbed, however these were uncomfortable no matresses & were dirty. BE WARNED: a mugging did take place, Alex & some staff were outstanding in their support. (The Manager couldn't be bothered) Having looked at other comments on here, where it is stated those comments would be passed to the appropriate departments, no notice or action has been taken. This could still become a very good 4* Hotel under experienced management & a good quality Chef.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Luabay Marivent, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Jeanette, thank you for writing this review. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay with us. Your feedback in fact is very much appreciated as we are aiming to offer the perfect holiday for all of our guests and the information we receive from our guests through Tripadvisor is always dealt with as it is our most important source of feedback. So you can be sure that we will pass your comments about the food, cleanliness of the rooms and the sunbed issue to the responsible teams. Please understand that we cannot solve every complaint right away but no suggestions are forgotten and will be taken into account. We would be honored to welcome you as our guest again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Booked a sea view superior room and it was well worth it,the views over the bay were fantastic,only complaints were the food quality was poor and limited,and there isnt enough outside space,we always managed to get a sun lounger but they were on top of one another hence the average rating,that said the hotel has just had a refurb and at the moment looks great,the small bay it is on has plenty sun loungers but they go quick and cost 15 euro a day(for 2 including shade)the beech is wonderfull and you can wander a long way out into the sea as it drops very slowly,the entertainment during the day was low key but in the evening they did have some good acts,like many hotels the bar prices were a bit steep,2.25 euro for a small beer,a lot cheaper if you wander up the road to the selection of bars and cafes,though the area is a little run down.we did eat out in palma a few times and prices were resonable,2 mains and 2 drinks each for about 30 euro,we did go to Hard Rock Cafe it may be a bit more expensive but sitting outside close to the Marina was worth it,its only 1.5euro by bus to Palma and they run very frequently,we got a taxi back and that was only 8 euro.all in all we may return, but only on a bed and breakfast deal.One thing to note if you have coach transfer from the airport, you will be dropped on the main road,buses are prohibited from going down to the hotel,its not a long walk,but some of the older guests with walking difficulties did complain.

Room Tip: Talking to other guests who had standard rooms, the superior sea view rooms were well worth it,tea/c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Luabay Marivent, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear David, we are glad you had a great time at the Luabay Marivent and enjoyed your superior room. Your complaints about the quality of the food will be forwarded to the kitchen and they will deal with it in more detail. Thank you for being our guest! We would love to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Wonderful room and sea view, well worth paying the extra for ,the food was what you would expect from a buffet service. I found no respite from the inconsiderate smokers, the Hotel provides no outside space either in dining,relaxing or sunbathing for non-smokers. The outside dining area of just a few tables perhaps six or seven were used by smokers regardless if they were dining or not.
The bar area had sliding patio doors which were opened and tables with ashtrays were placed next to the open doors allowing smoke to drift in. Just a small outside space for non-smokers would have been greatly appreciated. I know that the majority of people on our floor took refuge on their balconies rather than run the guantlet of these inconsiderate people.
In hot weather it seems ridiculous that you have to stay indoors to get away from the smokers.
Alex was a gem. Wine waiting and table resets outside was inconsistent , staff could do with more traininig on this. No problem crossing that busy road now there is a crossing available, great bus service from the top of the street. All in all not bad at all, the obscure glass loo door and the open plan bathroom was a hoot. Will check before booking again , if the smoking issues have been resolved, it wouldn't be that difficult to do. Management take note please.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Luabay Marivent, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and had a good holiday. Please accept our apologies for our smoking guests. We understand that this might be an issue with our non-smoking guests and will look for ways of improvement and consider the idea of special areas for smokers and non-smokers. It would be a great pleasure if we could welcome you at the Luabay again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

An average establishment generally but we greatly enjoyed the evening entertainment at the Marivent Hotel - Damiain the solo artist was fantastic; he had a wide ranging repertoire which the whole audience enjoyed. His masterery oif the guitar was mind blowing. Also saw him perform at the Luabay Galatzo Hotel. He really is an excellent entertainer who regularly animated the guests and he certainly helped make our stay truly memorable.
Well done Damiain - destined for the big time!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Luabay Marivent, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback! We are glad that you enjoyed the evening entertainment and will pass this on to Damian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I have to wholeheartedly support Lisa A. If you come on holiday with a bad attitude you will find something wrong. The food was excellent. The wine, gin and beer were excellent and as usual, I find that if you smile at people and be friendly things turn out all right. I would have liked free wi-fi and drawers in the room but it wasn't a deal breaker. Not for one day did we go without a pair of sunbeds and most days we had an umbrella. The food was fresh, varied and well cooked. We managed without any labels and even tried some new dishes. All the staff were more than pleasant and most of them found a minute or two to chat. We found the atmosphere cordial and intimate and would go again without hesitation.

Room Tip: The higher floors are quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Luabay Marivent, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words for our hotel and specially for our staff. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your holiday to the fullest and will forward your complaint about the wi-fi and drawers in the room to the respective department and hope we can bring changes in the future. Thank you again for being our guest and helping us with your feedback! We would love to welcome you at Luabay again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We booked this holiday earlier in the year based on the Thomsons Artists impression. We have kept our eye on the reviews before travelling last week. We cannot believe how much some people love to moan & complain - we have no complaints!!
A short flight & transfer to the hotel, yes a small walk from the coach drop off (which thanks to the reviews we anticipated) however a perfectly reasonable explanation from Alex the Thomson rep. Our room was ready immediatley (we arrived at 11.30am) & we could not fault it - clean & bright, a lovely sea view & modern bathroom (with a door on the toilet!!) We unpacked & went straight to the bar & managed to get a sunbed!! Yes the drinks were served in plastic glasses during the day but changed to glass for the evening (perfectly normal we thought!). We were on an all inclusive basis & cannot fault the drinks or food. We have been AI many times before & the meals were typical of everywhere else. No complaints about the egg lady either! All the staff we came across were always friendly & helpful. Our only complaint would be that we thought there should be 2 a'la carte restaurants as described in the brochure. The local area is a typical Spanish street, not the slum some would have you think & it was really easy to get into Palma, which is a beautiful city if you wanted more shops & restaurants.
Overall we had a lovely week in Majorca & if its good enough for the King & Queen of Spain (they have a residence just up the road) its good enough for us!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luabay Marivent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luabay Marivent

Address: Calle Gavina, 9, 07015 Cala Major, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Major
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cala Major
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Luabay Marivent 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luabay Marivent Hotel (Majorca), is a hotel conceived keeping every detail in mind for couples, located right on the beach of Cala Major.It is the perfect space for enjoying a wonderful holiday on the stunning and charming Island of Majorca.Luabay Marivent Hotel offers you a wide variety of products and services such as its exclusive Beach Club, the baySpa (Luabay's very own Spa brand) and a varied and cared culinary offer.Its modern functional rooms will impress you and will render you everything you are looking for during your holidays.Luabay Marivent Hotel will make you find your dreams again.Come and let us seduce you... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Luabay Marivent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Ana Calvia
Santa Ana Hotel Calvia
Luabay Marivent Majorca/Cala Major, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luabay Marivent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.