We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic holiday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luabay Marivent

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Luabay Marivent to your Saves list
Luabay Marivent
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Gavina, 9, 07015 Cala Major, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cala Major
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A fantastic holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Before travelling to the Luabay Marivent for our first holiday abroad together, my Fiance and I read the reviews for the hotel and were, quite frankly, terrified. We were led to believe the hotel was a disaster and was located in a shanty town!

Thank goodness we were proved wrong!

The bus dropped us off about 1 minute away from the hotel so this was not a problem for us at all. On entering the hotel, we were pleasantly surprised at the clean, modern decor and spacious reception area. The staff at the reception desk were friendly and helpful and, even though we had to wait for our room to be ready (this happens everywhere!!!) we were given a glass of Cava and were able to leave our luggage in a secure room whilst we explored the beach and pool area.

This hotel is right on the beach, with private access for hotel residents. The pool area is well maintained and, during our stay, 40 more sun loungers were delivered and so this put an end to 'Sun Lounger Wars'. To be honest, we much preferred sunbathing on the beach which had a gorgeous bar which is linked with the hotel.

The reps were really helpful and always available to answer any questions or queries, even when off duty. The entertainment team worked really hard to provide interesting and fun activities for guests to join in with (these were optional).

The bedroom was lovely and modern and was cleaned to a high standard daily. We had a street view and this was not a problem at all. Tea and coffee making facilities were available in the room as well as a plasma TV.

The food was really great. We were all inclusive and found that there was a huge selection of high quality food on offer and the restaurant staff were friendly and attentive. If you did not fancy a heavy lunch, light snacks and a daily BBQ were available in the pool area. Also, we went to the A la Carte restaurant on site and this provided us with a high quality Italian meal.

We were really worried about the surrounding area before we arrived as it had been described so unfavourably by previous guests. As far as we were concerned, the area was fine! There is a selection of restaurants, bars and cafes and even the Palace where the King of Spain resides (he was there while we were!). It was by no means a really glamorous area but it was just a regular Spanish town.

The bus service in the area was fantastic, for 1 euro 50 you can get to Palma (well worth a visit!) in about 15/20 mins. You can also get to a GORGEOUS place called Porteous Portals in about 20 mins, as well as Magaluf.

We had a really fantastic holiday at the Luabay Marivent, please ignore the negative reviews and wait until you get there to make your mind up about the hotel as I am slightly baffled as to what some of the reviewers on here were moaning about!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    134
    76
    24
    13
See reviews for
22
250
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed at the marivent beginning of July was a bit apprehensive after reading some reviews
The resort is a bit run down but not a problem subbed shortage a bit annoying the security guard went round taking people's towels of if they had reserved them you have to sit on them till after 9.00 beach was fab Thomson reps Alex and Natalie best reps we have had and we go away three times a year rooms great bath robes slippers towels changed everyday food nice lots of choice overall very good would def stay there again

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view it was well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

My Boyfriend and I stayed at the Luabay Marivent hotel from 14th July – 21st July and can honestly say we both want to be back there now!

To cut a long story short my boyfriend lost his phone on the plane journey to Majorca so we ended up wasting a lot of time at the airport, subsequently we couldn’t find where our luggage was and then missed the coach transfer so ended up having to get a taxi to the hotel!! By the time we arrived (12:15) we were so tired and were pleased to be offered a glass of champagne at reception and to be told our room was ready straight away!

The room – 1604 – Sea and Pool view. Lovely room, fairly standard size but massive bed (was two singles pushed together but that is the same in most foreign country hotels) – but the singles were massive!! Nice pillows – have to say I loved the purple square one (if Luabay management read this – where did you get them from – I want one!!!). Balcony was pretty big and had a table and two chairs on and had amazing views over the pool and beach. Fridge was free and had a bottle of water in already. There is a safe you had to pay for but I would highly recommend doing this as it saved a lot of hassle, for a week its 24 euros but you get 10 back at the end, personally I think this is no price considering it keeps all your precious belongings and money safe, it is also number locked so you don’t have to worry about losing the key! Tea making facilities free in the room. Shower room (I call it this as there was no bath! So if you want a bath you’re out of luck! ) was pretty nice, it was separated by a wooden door (not glass) and had a nice toilet, sink and shower – the shower was really good, very powerful – if I had to moan about anything it would probably be that the glass screen for the shower didn’t close/go along enough so water did get onto the wooden floor, but could easily just be wiped away with a spare towel once finished. There was a flatscreen TV with a few English channels, a Wardrobe with plenty of space to hang and stack clothes – this was the only shelf/drawer space but it was perfectly sufficient. The Air Con was amazing, could adjust strength, temp and turn on or off.

Location – The hotel is situated down a cul a sac road so you are dropped off at the top when arriving, unless arriving by taxi – as buses cannot enter the road – but it is literally like 300m from the bus stop to the hotel! The beach is right on the hotels doorstep, it is a public beach but has plenty of room for the 3 hotels guests that use it regularly. The surrounding area is not “run down” as many other reviews suggest, it’s just not top of the range bars/clubs etc! – let’s put it this way I would call it typical Spanish suburb looking! - A few nice cafes/stores etc and a few nice bars but if you would like something a bit more upmarket then you would need to venture to Palma or likewise. You can easily get into Palma or Magaluf direction by buses which only cost 1.50 Euros single, however far you travel on that bus! The no. 3 or 20 gets you into Palma in about 10mins and just get off when you see a big water fountain!!

Hotel Pool/Food/Entertainment – Pool was average sized, I have to admit we didn’t venture into it as preferred to go into the sea, but it always looked clean and was manned by a lifeguard. There probably weren’t enough sun beds for the amount of people at the hotel, but I think if they had more then it would look crowded. People did try to reserve them in the morning but security took towels off and I saw free beds at gone half 9 most days. (Sun beds on beach cost about 15 euros but we just took a towel and led on that on the sand, it’s free that way!). We were travelling half board, this is the first time I have done this and have to say I was very impressed. The choice was plentiful at both breakfast and evening meal – if you can’t find something you like then you must be very fussy! Entertainment was alright, standard hotel entertainment really – singers, quizzes etc, there was a Miss Majorca contest held there on the Friday night just before we left! Drinks weren’t too badly priced depending on what you fancy, beer was quite cheap, wine and soft drinks fairly average but cocktails were expensive but really nice and they don’t measure out the alcohol so you get your money’s worth!! Alex the Thomson Rep was lovely, made an effort to chat to everyone and he did his best to try to trace my boyfriend’s phone. Alex would brighten up anyone’s day with his personality; he is always there to help even when he is off duty so make an effort to get to know him. The hotel staff were friendly and always made you feel welcome, the hotel and rooms were cleaned well. A nice touch was the sweets on your bed when they cleaned, a courtesy call to our room to check things were ok, maids checking if you wanted clean towels/sugar/coffee/drinks for fridge etc in evening.

Overall – We loved our room, the hotel, the food, the view, the weather, pretty much everything!! We were glad we chose a hotel by the beach instead of in central Palma and could then just visit Palma when we wanted. We also did the East Coast Trio trip, Pirates trip and The Palma Aquarium trip with Thomson and loved every one so be sure to get involved in something, Pirates was our favourite! Would we go back – YES!!

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view room if possible and I think a higher floor is nicer unless you don't like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a week from 9th July 2012. Having read some of the reviews on here before leaving I was a little concerned about the area that the hotel was located in due to some quite negative reviews, but was actually pleasantly surprised. I'll briefly skip through the important bits!

Location:

The hotel is right on the beach (and I mean right on it!) which was fantastic. The beach is very clean and the sea is exceptionally clear. It does get busy as it is a small beach and caters for three hotels as well as some locals but is lovely nonetheless. The area in which the hotel is located has had some stick in previous reviews and I will admit that it is not 'buzzing' nor particularly developed. There are a few cafes and restaurants most of which looked fine but we didn't try any as they weren't quite the quintessential Spanish dining we were after. However, none of that really mattered as the hotel is 20 minutes by bus from Palma itself. Buses are regular and cheap and we went in nearly every day to eat / shop / walk around. They run pretty late too so you're fine to go in for dinner but perhaps not a super late night out!

Room and Hotel Facilities:

These were all very good. The hotel was very clean and the fact that it has been recently refurbished was evident. The room was a good size, well equipped and again very clean and tidy with a good shower and lovely view.

The hotel pool is small but I don't think it needs to be much bigger. Getting sun loungers for a day is nigh on impossible unless you want to get up very early but they often free-up in the late afternoon / early evening and we often found ourselves to get some evening sun and spent the rest of the day either on the beach or out in Palma.

Entertainment:

This was a bit dubious! Mostly 80s tribute acts who were good, but just not for us! They're not obtrusive though and in our own way we found them entertaining. The pool bar is designed in a way that means you can either get right up close and enjoy the entertainment or sit further away, chat, and enjoy the sea view.

Hotel food:

We were B&B only and for us this proved to be an excellent decision. There is a good range of food in the restaurant but it wasn't of the highest quality and I wouldn't have wanted to eat in the restaurant every evening. We paid to eat there on our first night and were a little disappointed with the quality and thought it was over priced. My recommendation would be to have the breakfast included and go in to Palma or to the nearby cafes for other meals - you get a much wider experience that way too. We found some fantastic tapas restaurants in Palma and there is a shop near the beach which make fresh baguettes to order if you fancy something like that for lunch.

Staff and service:

The staff were all excellent; friendly, efficient and helpful. We had one minor problem with our room and this was rectified within a matter of hours. Another couple who stayed at the same time were upgraded to a superior room as an apology for a similar small error which was very good. The Thomson rep and the hotel staff were also happy to help with small queries such as where to buy stamps, what buses to get and the price of taxis.

Overall Experience:

Overall we had a lovely time at this hotel. It is not for the kind of person who is looking for an all singing all dancing holiday and wants to be in the heart of the action. Neither my partner nor I had been abroad in years and just wanted somewhere to chill out and relax for a week and for that it was perfect. I would happily go back which, I think, is the real test of any hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

My girlfriend and I have just spent 2 weeks at this hotel with Thomson.

Firstly, the rep - Alex, is a great help and quite funny. He certainly adds to the holiday so make sure you go and get to know him. He sorted a small problem with our room and he was a great adviser regarding excursions.

Secondly, the area. Before going on this holiday my girlfriend and I got concerned about the surrounding area and the hotel due to the reviews on here. Simply put: disregard any negative review.
The surrounding area isn't well developed but it wasn't as run down as many were/are making out. It didn't bring down the hotel. Due to the hotel providing everything you rarely go out of the hotels grounds. The only reason you go out is for the bus or to go to the Spa for something you fancy.

The hotel is lovely. The pictures on here and the hotels website represent the hotel well. We weren't disappointed with anything.

Spacious rooms (though vary), cleaned regularly, good air con, WiFi (though slow) available, kettle, good safe, powerful shower, normally two single beds but one can get a double sheet, erm... anything else?

The staff at the reception - for the most part - are friendly and helpful. The restaurant staff try to be as helpful as possible but do get busy and appear to be new to it, just be patient.

Sunbeds are rarely available but the pool is only small and the surround area (of the pool) is small, so considering the size of the pool and the area they have to work with there's ample sunbeds. We had to get up between 07:30 - 08:00 to get a decent spot, but you cannot leave a towel on (to reserve) until after 09:00 where you can go for breakfast/lunch for 15 minutes.
They did have a delivery of more sunbeds and umbrellas just before we left so there's a few more than what the reviews before last Thursday. Failing this, you can go on the beach either with a lilo or mat or hire sunbeds.

The spa (massage, Jacuzzi, Turkish bath etc) was brilliant; very relaxing and friendly nice staff. We had a foot massage and went in the Jacuzzi often. Worth every penny.

The entertainment was OK, the best "act" was Abba - two women - got the crowd going and were very entertaining. During the day and at night there's a quiz. Anything inbetween changes each night and can be a little bad, but drink enough and it becomes entertaining. Some examples, Beatles tribute, Elvis, Damien (just sings songs) and some duo.

I will wrap up now, in conclusion: don't worry about anything. We had a great holiday and would happily go again. Anything we were worried about we found a solution or found the mentioned "problems" weren't problems at all.
One last thing, I like simple food (burger and chips) - nothing exotic or adventurous and while this was OK for the first few days it started to get a bit out of hand: sea food started to become more regular and highly seasoned chicken etc. Though anything cooked was well cooked and to a high standard.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more the splendid sea view rooms, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed from 5th - 12th July and wished we had booked for two weeks. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We went with Thomson and got a special All Inclusive deal for only an extra 14p. We only had to wait about 30 mins for our room to be ready and we were given two glasses of Cava so did not mind!!!
The rooms are very nice with a free fridge, safe only 14 euros for a week, tea and coffee making facilities (unusual for Spain), good TV with BBC1 and 2 and a few other english channels. The bathroom is not very private and is ok if you are a couple but not so good for friends sharing. The bedding and towels were good quality and if you wanted beach towels they were free after paying a deposit.
The food was really good, lots of choice and hot(not like a lot of buffet meals) good choice of fruit and salad. We especially enjoyed lunch. The variety of drinks on AI was excellent, this is the first time we have had AI and it was very good. The waiters were very especially Marcello who worked very hard.
The entertainment was better than most Spanish hotels we have stayed in, Damien was a very good singer and Natalie was very entertaining.
We went on the bus several times - to Palma(buses 3 and 20), Magaluf, Palma Nova(buses 104 or 106) and we got the bus to the station, train to Soller (a bit boring and 25 euros for 2)we stayed in Soller which is a lovely place(we have been to Port Soller before)and then caught the 211 rapid bus back to Palma which is only 5euros for 2. Then bus back to the hotel.
When we came home we were being picked up at 8.15 and they ask you to be at the end of the road 20 mins before. We got there at 7.55 and the coach did not come along until 8.40. There is only a small step to sit on and if it had been raining there is nowhere to shelter.
The surrounding area is very run down and we like to walk in the evening so not a very good location for us. We walked to Porto Pi shopping centre, about 20 mins and we got the bus to Palma and walked back which took about 2 hours.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

First of all i would like to thank everyone at Luabay Marivent for a truely wonderful 2 weeks as it was our honeymoon and my birthday as well.It will be a long time until those memories fade.From the moment we arrived in the hotel the welcome was amazing, we were even offered champagne or fruit juice and that was a welcome and nice touch.The hotel has been refurbished to a high standard but needs tweeking but its early days yet, The bedrooms were spacious and bright and a stunning view from the balcony.The one thing that did let it down was the housekeeping as the times varied but this matter was resolved the one day that our room was missed so that was no great problem.the beds were comfortable and clean but could do with a couple more pillows but that is personal choice. The staff are very friendly and always welcome you warmly with hello or ola . The food was brilliant with way too much choice as it all looked so good and the desserts were to die for especially the chocolate cake as my husband will vouch for as he had his fair share.The bar staff were amazing and nothing was too much trouble . The thomson rep Alex is a right head case but very knowledgable about the local area.Natalie is a very very talented entertainer from singing,dancing,sax playing, massage and nailart to quiz compere she is a true diamond and will go very far im missing her so much already she is like part of my family and wish her well.Linda is brilliant too and puts everyone at ease with her own style .Jimmy,Sandie and Aggie too were wonderful and were there if you wanted to join in games during the day.The pool was lovely and not to packed so you could just relax and enjoy yourself.when i read some of the other reviews on Trip Adviser i was nervous to say the least but it was proved totally wrong i left with many fond memories a many new friends . there are some people who will never be happy with some things such as niggles about the food my opinion is if your the egg and chips brigade dont go or go to Magaluf ! also if there are any complaints the tell Alex or the Manager and it will be sorted I cant wait to go back next year its just like home from home and very welcoming.Good luck to the staff and Luabay Marivent

Room Tip: First of all i would like to thank everyone at Luabay Marivent for a truely wonderful 2 weeks as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Luabay Marivent, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Debbie, we are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a lovely honeymoon and birthday. Thank you so much for your kind words! We will be sure to forward them to everyone on the team and cannot wait to have you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luabay Marivent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luabay Marivent

Address: Calle Gavina, 9, 07015 Cala Major, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Major
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cala Major
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luabay Marivent 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luabay Marivent Hotel (Majorca), is a hotel conceived keeping every detail in mind for couples, located right on the beach of Cala Major.It is the perfect space for enjoying a wonderful holiday on the stunning and charming Island of Majorca.Luabay Marivent Hotel offers you a wide variety of products and services such as its exclusive Beach Club, the baySpa (Luabay's very own Spa brand) and a varied and cared culinary offer.Its modern functional rooms will impress you and will render you everything you are looking for during your holidays.Luabay Marivent Hotel will make you find your dreams again.Come and let us seduce you... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Luabay Marivent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Ana Calvia
Santa Ana Hotel Calvia
Luabay Marivent Majorca/Cala Major, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luabay Marivent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.