We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, and Impressive Rooms.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fortress

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Fortress to your Saves list
The Fortress
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koggala | Habaraduwa, Koggala, Galle, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Ashurst, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Food, and Impressive Rooms.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed here for one night on our honeymoon trip tour of Sri Lanka after being badly let down by another local hotel who had over booked.

When we first arrived we were not in the best of moods but our minds were soon put to rest that we had actually ended up in a far superior hotel. The warm welcome was much appreciated and the check in was very efficient. The first thing you see when you walk through the gigantic fortress doors is the sight of the crashing waves on the beach just beyond the lengthly infinity pool.

We had a room with a great sea view. The open plan room was huge containing a feestanding bath, 2 sinks, a toilet in its own cubicle and a shower cubicle. Plus all the other mod cons you'd expect from a hotel of this quality. There's was even a Bose sound system and iPod.

We made use of the pool which was great. Long and deep enough to swim if not a little tiring.

We were upgraded to a half board basis and when we went to dinner we were a bit sceptical that it was a seafood buffet. Firstly because Buffets seem to be very similar where ever you go, a lot of choice with little standing out. Secondly because we are fussey with some sea food. And together the two did not sound like a good mix.

I was wrong. The food was fantastic. The great selection of staters in miniature dishes was a nice touch and also very tasty. The fresh seafood was cooked in front of us and it looked, and then tasted really good. The other mains on offer also exceeded expectations with good quality meat being used, something that had been lacking in other Sri Lankan hotels that we had stayed in.

The selection of desserts followed the same style as the starters. Small portions but attractively presented, meaning you could try a selection of what was on offer.

The staff were all very helpful too making us feel like valued customers.

My only regret is that we only stayed for one night.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a sea view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    174
    39
    12
    4
See reviews for
150
545
9
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Fantastic stay last June ( I know it was monsoon time but it was amazing weather.) The hotel was quiet in the evening but we had a great dance show with thunder in the back ground. Great place to unwind and chill, with a stunning view on the sea. We had visitors on the beach ( giant turtles ) priceless! If you are looking for buzz and nightlife I would advise Ibiza or Mykonos but the resort does what it says on the tin: once you pass the massive solid wooden doors at the entrance, you jump into another world.
Amazing staff and the Sri Lankan smiles give you so much pleasure, so don't be mean and selfish with yours. A smile cost nothing but gives a lot.
I could nominate our butler Pradeep Chathurranga who served a perfect romantic dinner by the sea for our last night at the resort but I would be unfair to everybody else because they all made us feel welcomed and happy, being very attentive and very helpful: from reception, bar, restaurant, pool, yoga teacher, fitness instructor, spa ...... and all the invisible people working hard behind the stage.
We had the chance to visit some of the rooms available in the hotel ...... Oh my! A delight of confort and luxury. It comes at a price of course but after all what's free in this world.
I would recommend the resort but like films, you have to view it by yourself.

Room Tip: Sea view on ground floor with plunge pool, high ceilings, large bathroom with shower and bath.Outdoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

one of the best designed hotel with equally beautiful view of indian ocean, the stay was very comfortable thanks to a very good hotel staff, very good veg. cuisine made by chef and activities to keep our 3 year old busy. better to stay in fortress. it worth the money spent.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Anyone used to the grand luxury of SE Asia's great hotels and resorts will probably agree that by comparison, this place is no more than ok. The location is alright - though the beach is neither private, nor the ocean safe to swim in. The hotel itself is nicely finished, and the rooms are big, but they've placed emphasis on all the wrong things. So they're dead proud of the Bose sound system and the multi-setting light computer in every room (who cares?), but the restaurant has dreadful live panpipes playing off-key renditions of "moon river", and the two hotel bars close at 11pm because, well, decent folk should be asleep by then I guess. Size-wise, the place is too big for a boutique hotel, but too small to count as a resort. So it lacks the sense of exclusive intimacy of a boutique, but can't qualify to be a "resort" as it has only one functioning restaurant, two bars with early shut-down, etc. You just get the sense management is a bit local, as opposed to the place being slickly run by a Mandarin Oriental-type international team. For a couple of nights at the beginning or end of your Sri Lanka trip you could do a lot worse- and the staff do go out of their way to be helpful- but it's expensive for what it is, and you'll probably not want to spend a week here.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

With 180 degree views of the ocean, a huge pool, superb rooms and outstanding food, this is a place not to miss. Though its location is a bit away from the Fort area, but hotels inside the Fort are small and since there is not that much breeze inside the fort area, it is not nice during the hot months (we visited in May). A little pricey no doubt, but not over priced for what it is.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tredegar, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Most reviewers have already covered the excellent rooms, great food and awesome location. But to me what made The Fortress extra special was the quality of the customer service. The welcome we received from the delightful Chamindi was the best "front of house" service I have ever received, and significantly better than many top-level hotels that I have visited. I truly felt that I was welcome and this excellence of customer service continued for the entirety of our stay. The team was friendly, efficient and polite. More importantly, they all sounded sincere and I did not get the usual impression of big hotels where the people greet you like it is a chore. This hotel really is different in every way and I highly recommend it to visitors. But Chamindi and the team are what make it so great.

Room Tip: I recommend an ocean view room. I did not request one when I made the reservation, but Chamindi arr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we knew it would be a wonderful holiday. The hotel was luxurious. The staff were so helpful and hospitable. Every member of staff treated you as a special person and nothing was too much trouble. The infinity pool stretched along the edge of the shore, amazing to just relax and watch the waves rolling in. We were a family of 9 meeting half way between England and Australia. We used minibuses booked for us by the hotel reception and were able to travel into Gaulle and other nearby beaches. Plenty of restaurants within Tuk Tuk reach. Disappointing whale watching trip. Bit of a con as the season had finished and the whales had migrated.....they still take your money and sail out into the horizon to search....worth doing your research first!!
We would like to return to Sri Lanka to explore more locations. Difficult and tiring with 9 of us to be having long days out. It seemed that several hotel guests had done a two centre holiday and ended relaxing at the Fortress for the last few days. Nevertheless it was a wonderful experience. Thank you to the staff at the Fortress.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fortress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fortress

Address: Koggala | Habaraduwa, Koggala, Galle, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Koggala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fortress 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury 53 room boutique resort located on the Southern shores of Sri Lanka. The Fortress has been styled after Galle’s powerful ancient Dutch Fort, blending the country’s Dutch and Portuguese influences with Sri Lankan motifs and indigenous furnishings to echo the historic days of Old Ceylon. This has been artfully and sensitively fused with innovative architecture, high design features, state-of-the-art technology, sensual living spaces with naturally modern design, and incredible gastronomic experiences, to stunning effect. The Fortress will offer unprecedented levels of service, extraordinary innovation, attention to detail and a unique blend of Old Ceylon with Modern Asia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fortress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fortress Hotel Koggala
Fortress Hotel Galle
Fortress Galle
Fortress Sri Lanka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fortress, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.