We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of this world” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fortress

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Fortress to your Saves list
The Fortress
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route A2, Matara Road, Koggala, Galle, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Rugby, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Out of this world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Just magical, to come from our 18 month winter and end up here after ten days touring sril Lanka was just magical. You name it this place does it to perfection, rooms, service, drinks, food, views, pool, spa.......... Expensive but you pay for what you get and here you get perfection. I have never seen such staff, just brilliant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    197
    47
    13
    3
See reviews for
168
612
11
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Aesthetically you cannot fault this hotel - it's beautiful new and really a 5 star hotel. The reason we didn't give it a 5 star is because we prefer smaller more intimate hotels which we experienced during our trip up until our stay at the fortress. The property has 50 rooms therefore it's difficulty to get that intimate atmosphere that you would in a 9 room guest house.

Other than that you cannot fault the hotel - it has a huge pool, it's by the beach. Our suite was brand new with all the modern amenities you would want and the food and buffet was excellent. In terms of price this is the most expensive hotel we came across during our 2 week holiday but it is to be expected as it is a 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor which means you can see the other guests walking to and from the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
294 reviews 294 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 160 cities Reviews in 160 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Great location for a few days crashed by the sea/pool after four days in the tea country.

It was very hot and humid, but that's hardly the hotel's fault. A/C in rooms excellent, lying in bed looking over the sea hoping that there won't be another tsunami is lots of fun.

Restaurant was good with enough variety and theme nights for a six night stay. Food Asian European fusion.

Gym with TVs (free CD library) and A/C was good.

A little soul-less at times but great over all and by far the best hotel in the area.

Take a tuk tuk to Galle for the day. DON'T take the bus, the adrenalin rush is not fun, it's bloody dangerous!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a week in the fortress with wife and 2-kids. Overall an excellent stay.

The service was first class, food and facilities great, with extremely friendly staff. The half board option we took was certainly worthwhile. The kids loved the pool (though neads a little maintenance), the beach was second to none for turtle watching. The hotel is located in a great spot for sightseeing in galle, marissa & yala etc.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We've just spent a wonderful week at this hotel. It's quite a drive from the airport (3hours) although will get much quicker when the motorway is extended. Some of the traffic on the roads was quite chaotic and thankfully the hotel driver was calm, experienced and didn't take any risks. Whilst the hotel is near a road you cant hear the traffic from the hotel grounds - it really is a haven of tranquility. We had a great welcome and were offered a tour of the resort as well as a choice of welcome drinks. There are 2 large spotlessly clean pools with plenty of sun beds.

The spa comes VERY highly recommended and is reasonably priced- Balinese massage, head massage etc. there is a daily special offer which is worth looking into. We visited about 4 times.

The rooms were clean and spacious we had booked a duplex as the larger suite was not available and it was absolutely fine for all 4 of us. 2 TVs and DVD rental was a nice touch as well with good choices. Both of our rooms had sea views and we had a balcony and our own sun loungers in the garden overlooking the sea.

There is a wide selection of food and its good quality. We would recommend the half board which comes with a generous allowance per person each day which you can use towards the fine dining restaurant on request.

The hotel has little squirrels running around which are really cute and the children loved them. The beach does have a few locals trying to sell you tours - whilst a lot cheaper than the hotel we decided to go with the hotel tours as we knew the vehicles were well maintained (actually almost brand new).

Arjuna Madushanka was a stand out star employee who looked after us brilliantly all week. Nothing was too much trouble and when our youngest son had a stomach ache ( from swallowing sea water whilst boogie boarding) he brought him coconut juice and green bananas which did actually make him feel so much better.

Living in Dubai we do have high expectations and the fortress certainly lived up to these. The real differentiator is the hotel employees and their sheer friendliness and willingness to be flexible to make your stay enjoyable. THANKS to all who looked after us so well.

Room Tip: Choose a sea facing room. It's well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have visited Fortress on several occasions and my one day layover was disappointing. I was given room 47 upstairs which has a lovely balcony and a partial view of the Indian Ocean which was the highlight of the room. The room itself was not up to standard. The bathroom was not as clean as it should have been and the bath which I usually love was not cleaned properly. The room looked aged compared to last time.
On a positive note the staff are excellent. Arranged a boxed breakfast for us in the morning and the lunch which we had at the restaurant was very good. Whatever issues we brought to their attention were dealt with very professionally.

Room Tip: Go for the Ocean facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent three fabulous nights is this sumptuous hotel. Our room was well equipped with the finest sound system and a wonderful bathroom. Three of us shared the accommodation and there was plenty of room for us all. It was a bonus to have two sinks! The food was excellent. Staff were friendly and helpful. We loved watching the turtles swimming on the rocks.

Room Tip: Our room was great for three people. We did not see any other rooms. The view out to sea was fabulo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fortress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fortress

Address: Route A2, Matara Road, Koggala, Galle, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Koggala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fortress 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury 53 room boutique resort located on the Southern shores of Sri Lanka. The Fortress has been styled after Galle’s powerful ancient Dutch Fort, blending the country’s Dutch and Portuguese influences with Sri Lankan motifs and indigenous furnishings to echo the historic days of Old Ceylon. This has been artfully and sensitively fused with innovative architecture, high design features, state-of-the-art technology, sensual living spaces with naturally modern design, and incredible gastronomic experiences, to stunning effect. The Fortress will offer unprecedented levels of service, extraordinary innovation, attention to detail and a unique blend of Old Ceylon with Modern Asia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fortress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fortress Hotel Koggala
Fortress Hotel Galle
Fortress Galle
Fortress Sri Lanka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fortress, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.