We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel of variable standards - from one star to four stars” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Koggala Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Koggala Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Koggala Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Matara Road, Koggala, Galle, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hotel of variable standards - from one star to four stars”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Very long hotel starting with a tatty, dirty and smelly section (one star), [I didn't go there but my wife & sister in law went for a massage where they used oil which smelt awful & took 3 shampoos to remove - think it was sump oil]. This led to Koggala Beach Hotel (3 star) only thing to tell you had arrived were different colour floor tiles and this subsequently led to Longbeach Resort (4 star) again the two things that told you were different floor tiles and the room numbers had 's' in front of them (superior). This was a clean, spacious and modern section with its own restaurant, swimming pool, bar, reception and entrance to the outside world complete with security guard, this is where we were thank goodness. The rooms had very good air con, wi-fi, king size bed, mini bar in fridge, lcd flat panel satellite tv (we could only get one news & one film channel in english), balcony and en suite bathroom with shower.
Food was good, mostly spiced but not overly. Entertainment was average. Beach is long and sandy, highly rated by some but I've seen much better. The sea looks like a surfers paradise but is DANGEROUS, one guest broke her leg in 2 places. A combination of large breakers, shelved beach, strong unercurrents and strong cross currents, is a lethal mix.
They are in the process of extending Longbeach with what looks like accomodation of a high standard.
Loved Sri Lanka - its a very spiritual place but don't bring your driving licence (they drive on the left like we do but that's where the similarity ends). If you stay here make sure its at the Longbeach.

Room Tip: Stay in Superior rooms in Longbeach - an extra cost but well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    57
    37
    17
    11
See reviews for
34
63
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We were put in a bungalow room on the far left side, and it proved to be shabby, with very old air-conditioning and an uncleanable bathroom and floor. The room boys were nice but ineffectual, and I wonder what would have happened if we had stayed longer than 2 nights. Everything else you can read in the reviews here about the small swimming pool and relatively poor food in the restaurant is true. Our impression was that the management did not want to hear complaints and was not interested in any real improvement of service. The room cleaners and dining room staff did not appear to be adequately trained. Apparently you have to pound the reception desk if you want a good room, and even then the food will not change, so my advice would be to avoid this place until they have changed managers.

On the positive side, the beach is very long, wide and clean, with no other hotel nearby. Good for long walks, but not for swimming due to the huge waves. If your idea of a holiday is lying in the sun and living the primitive life, this might be a good choice for you.

Room Tip: Demand a room in the 'S' (superior) category; these room have S as part of their number.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Very Dirty Hotel, main restaurant is dirty, food pretty much the same every day and often cold. The glasses are not washed properly. There was no wine allowed on all inclusive. I was ill, many people complained about the hotel being dirty and people getting sick. Superior room was damp and stank, mould growing on the ceiling and was only moved to a slightly better room after 2 weeks. Towels stank. Not enough sunbeds. There was no entertainment programme. The Gym is antiquainted. Room boys were efficient and friendly and cope well considering the hotel is short staffed. The beach was nice but it's not advisable to swim in the sea due to strong currents. Obviously would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012 via mobile

We're staying at Koggala Beach Hotel right now and I can not recommend anyone to choose this hotel for acommodation while visiting Sri Lanka.
The service is really poor, don't expect to get any service what so ever if you run out of toilet paper, need another towel or some new sheets för your bed.
If you want to eat from the breakfast or dinner buffets, make sure you visit the restaurant the first 30 minutes they're open. Otherwise it is not guaranteed you get any food. And the food then... It would be nice if there were more variations, even though they call it by different names every evening. The Food is mainly the same... evening after evening.
There are not enough sun beds and umbrellas for everyone. If you want to be sure you get one for the day, you have to get up at 5am to put your towel on it. If you don't... do something else that day. It's not very nice to lie on the grass, nor on the empty beach.
So... my recommendation is:
Choose another hotel for your stay.
The same applies for Long Beach Hotel and Club Village Hotel since it really is the same hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostrava, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

It was exactly we expect to have a good rest. Realy very good hotel, comfortable room, problemless services. Beautiful beach 20 m from the hotel, warm ocean. Beautufil nature ... amazing. Nice trips with local guide (Anu - english speaking - +--------------).

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms (suites) S-12 and S-12A. Our friends from Koggala Village said that our rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Ukraine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

We have stayed there during 16-26 January 2012. There was nice calm weather days and warm Indian Ocean. We stayed in bungalow just near the water...amazing! Room quite comfortable, not so modern but very clean. Room service was perfect. Food was OK. A lot of seasonal fruit, fish, meat...very testy and fresh. We have been on whales safari, visited ford Galle and Yala national park. I had a dive activity on Hikkaduwa dive site (about 1 hr away by tuk-tuk) Local people are very friendly and everything is cheap. I can recommend this place for low budget traveling.

Room Tip: Some rooms required renovation. Recommended to check and choose which one is better from available o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdynia, Poland
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Hotel Koggala Beach at Koggala, extremly South of Sri Lanka THIS IS IT, what you may look for to have a good stay and rest on Sri Lanka. Just fifty steps to lovely beach and some twenty more and there you are in nicely warm Indian Ocean!
Rooms offer enough space, beds are comfortable and perfectly covered and prepared for you
with great artism to please you.
Two swimming pools for your convenience and a very good kitchen fulfill the list. Service is really satisfying and whole hotel area protected.
So, what are you waiting for?! Just book and go!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms directly and close to reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Koggala Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koggala Beach Hotel

Address: Matara Road, Koggala, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Koggala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Koggala Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Koggala Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koggala Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.