We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pegasus Reef Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pegasus Reef Hotel to your Saves list
Pegasus Reef Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 2, Hendala | Wattala , Colombo, Wattala 00700, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wattala
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I came to Sri Lanka with my son and we were at pegasus reef hotel. In room No.217 for three days. During the period we stayed we appriciate the service of the staff of pegasus, specially in the restaurant. We wanted a help to prepare the meals as we are cholestrol patients.
Mr.Edward, I think he is the restaurant manager he helped us a lot to get the meals from the kitchen as we want. That was a great help for me and my son. Thank you very much Mr.Edward and chef's assistant who prepared our meals during our stay.
We decided to stay at pegasus reef in every visit to Sri Lanka because of the unforgettable service have done by you.
Thank you very much.
Hope to see you again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kumudu J, Front Office Manager at Pegasus Reef Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you very much for the comment in TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Pegasus Reef, during your stay and exceeding your expectations. Edward has been a star class performer for us for over 30 years at Pegasus and one of the long standing pillar on Pegasus hospitality.

Thank you again for your time for shearing your experience at Pegasus and we look forward to get the pleasure of serving you again at Pegasus Reef.

Thank you

Kumudu Jayathilake

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    98
    86
    53
    40
See reviews for
62
116
18
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Very good stay for one night at Colombo after a long journey. It's a classic 4 star hotel with correspondent service. Great breakfast setting. A little bit out of town unless you are with organized trip and transport at your order.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kumudu J, Front Office Manager at Pegasus Reef Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for staying in Pegasus Reef - Wattala

It is our endeavour to provide the best possible experience to all our guests, as such; we do appreciate your compliments on our facilities and service. We look forward to welcoming you again when you do decide to holiday in Colombo, to experience in more of our Pegasus hospitality.

Thank you

Kumudu Jayathilake

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby England
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

After 16 wonderful days, we ended up here thinking it was "close" to the Airport but it's a VERY hairy 1hour plus drive away at least. Also, you're too far away from Colombo itself to be able to get there by car comfortably for a good restaurant. OK, the room was fine and no complaints there, check in was good too and everyone seemed friendly! In need of a small lunch we went down to the restaurant to be told to go to the pool bar. No-one there so back to the restaurant and, eventually, managed to get a bite to eat. Since we were so far away from anything else, we were "obliged" to have dinner here too, a buffet which, it must be said, wasn't bad at all. Like others have said this hotel seems to be a favourite "gathering point" for group tours either about to depart on their trip or on their way home. The pool looked OK but the beach! Oh dear, it was awful! We wanted to use the internet but the hotel does NOT have guest access to the service, only "wi-fi" but, like so many others, we aren't going to carry a lap top round Sri Lanka for 16 days. Not only that, but theWIFI package from the hotel, if it's working, is NOT cheap. Eventually, the Hotel Manager kindly let us use his office PC to enable us to check in on line for our return flight home!
Next time, we would use a Colombo or Airport hotel in similar circumstances and, bearing in mind the City to Airport highway will be open later this year (Autumn), that would make absolute sense.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kumudu J, Front Office Manager at Pegasus Reef Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you very much for the comment in TripAdvisor

We are pleased you had a good stay with us, liked the rooms, restaurant, amenities and service. However we do apologize for any inconvenience caused due to the cleanliness beach, and the wifi access, which will certainly be looked into.

But we are happy to see that you have enjoyed the rest of the facilities and sincerely hope that you would visit us again, should you visit Colombo again

Thank you

Kumudu Jayathilake

Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Recently recruited management trainees to Central Bank of Sri Lanka had their day-out @ pegasus on 16th Feb 2013. I must appreciate the flexibility offered by the Hotel us as we had rescheduled out plan twice.
They were ready at our service as early as 9.30am and organized some group games without any charge.
Lunch buffet also had a variety and especially the pool side has enough space to accommodate a very large group even. (Our Group was only 62)
THANK YOU VERY MUCH PEGASUS & KEEP IT UP.

JAYATHU

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kumudu J, Front Office Manager at Pegasus Reef Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for the comment on TripAdvisor about your spend the day at Pegasus Reef

We are delighted that you and your group had a good time with us and happy to hear that you have enjoyed the food and the service offered. Out of the beach resorts, Pegasus Reef is the best place for outings and other out door activities because we got the space for the same and all the required resources for that.

We always give our utmost priority to our customers and their schedules, and that has been the main feature in Pegasus hospitality.

Thank you again for the encouraging comment on TripAdvisor and we look forward to see you again at Pegasus Reef.

Thank you

Kumudu Jayathilake

front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in pegasus last December for a weekend and it was quite pleasant. The hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas and there were some good spots for photographs as well.  The food was good overall although more variety at each meal would have to been better.  Also staff seemed to be a bit disorganised as we got several calls to the room reminding the checkout time on our first day when we had clearly made reservations for 2  days.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kumudu J, Front Office Manager at Pegasus Reef Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Pegasus Reef during your resent visit to Sri Lanka

We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed the facilities. The comments you have mentioned about the variation of the food has already been taken to consideration as the same has been taken as an constructive comment.

I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused to you about the calls regarding the check out timing and the corrective actions have been taken in order to not to repeat this kind of mistakes.

Thank you again for staying with us and hope you will come back to experience more of Pegasus hospitality

Thank you

Kumudu Jayathilake

Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed here at the beginning of a tour as this was the meeting hotel. Nice hotel with good amenities and surroundings but it is very far from anything so not as good choice for local sighseeing. Rooms were comfortable. Good selection for breakfast. Staff were friendly and helpful. Pool area small but functional. Beach area not so good.

Recommend only if it is a requirement of your tour which seems to be the main business of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed here for three nights as part of a tour of Sri Lanka taking in all of the tourist highlights.
The first observation is that despite being only 20km from the airport and 15km from Colombo the time involved in getting to and from either is far longer than one would expect due to the road conditions and particularly the traffic.
The Hotel is situated in a great location overlooking the sea between the harbour and the newly built fishing harbour. It is a favourite location for wedding photographs so during our stay we saw Catholic, Buddhist and Hindu bridal parties all very colourful.
The room was clean and spacious with spectacular views from the balcony.
The restaurant was undercover outside with views over the pool and through palm trees to the ocean.
The buffet style dinner and breakfast were good but not exceptional.
Three minus points were inconsistent Wi-fi, noisy air conditioning and dire entertainment

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pegasus Reef Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pegasus Reef Hotel

Address: PO Box 2, Hendala | Wattala , Colombo, Wattala 00700, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Wattala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wattala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pegasus Reef Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to "Pegasus Reef Hotel" The City Resort that's just right.....!!Bordering the soft-sandy-shoreline where the gentle foamy waves play a tap-and-run game, Pegasus Reef Beach hotel; one of the beach hotels in Sri Lanka; stands tall in its glorious splendor watching this eternal game. It is one of the Beach hotels in Sri Lanka that offers a spectacular service for the lucky souls that step into this grand edifice. Come and experience the true essence of resting your head in luxurious finery, as the gentle salty breeze revive your senses that no other Beach Hotels in Sri Lanka can accomplish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Pegasus Reef Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pegasus Reef Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.