We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pegasus Reef Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pegasus Reef Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pegasus Reef Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 2, Hendala | Wattala ( Near Colombo), Wattala 00700 , Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Wattala
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very good stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Very good stay for one night at Colombo after a long journey. It's a classic 4 star hotel with correspondent service. Great breakfast setting. A little bit out of town unless you are with organized trip and transport at your order.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kumudu J, Front Office Manager at Pegasus Reef Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for staying in Pegasus Reef - Wattala

It is our endeavour to provide the best possible experience to all our guests, as such; we do appreciate your compliments on our facilities and service. We look forward to welcoming you again when you do decide to holiday in Colombo, to experience in more of our Pegasus hospitality.

Thank you

Kumudu Jayathilake

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    67
    69
    43
    34
See reviews for
44
89
14
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby England
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

After 16 wonderful days, we ended up here thinking it was "close" to the Airport but it's a VERY hairy 1hour plus drive away at least. Also, you're too far away from Colombo itself to be able to get there by car comfortably for a good restaurant. OK, the room was fine and no complaints there, check in was good too and everyone seemed friendly! In need of a small lunch we went down to the restaurant to be told to go to the pool bar. No-one there so back to the restaurant and, eventually, managed to get a bite to eat. Since we were so far away from anything else, we were "obliged" to have dinner here too, a buffet which, it must be said, wasn't bad at all. Like others have said this hotel seems to be a favourite "gathering point" for group tours either about to depart on their trip or on their way home. The pool looked OK but the beach! Oh dear, it was awful! We wanted to use the internet but the hotel does NOT have guest access to the service, only "wi-fi" but, like so many others, we aren't going to carry a lap top round Sri Lanka for 16 days. Not only that, but theWIFI package from the hotel, if it's working, is NOT cheap. Eventually, the Hotel Manager kindly let us use his office PC to enable us to check in on line for our return flight home!
Next time, we would use a Colombo or Airport hotel in similar circumstances and, bearing in mind the City to Airport highway will be open later this year (Autumn), that would make absolute sense.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kumudu J, Front Office Manager at Pegasus Reef Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you very much for the comment in TripAdvisor

We are pleased you had a good stay with us, liked the rooms, restaurant, amenities and service. However we do apologize for any inconvenience caused due to the cleanliness beach, and the wifi access, which will certainly be looked into.

But we are happy to see that you have enjoyed the rest of the facilities and sincerely hope that you would visit us again, should you visit Colombo again

Thank you

Kumudu Jayathilake

Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Recently recruited management trainees to Central Bank of Sri Lanka had their day-out @ pegasus on 16th Feb 2013. I must appreciate the flexibility offered by the Hotel us as we had rescheduled out plan twice.
They were ready at our service as early as 9.30am and organized some group games without any charge.
Lunch buffet also had a variety and especially the pool side has enough space to accommodate a very large group even. (Our Group was only 62)
THANK YOU VERY MUCH PEGASUS & KEEP IT UP.

JAYATHU

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kumudu J, Front Office Manager at Pegasus Reef Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for the comment on TripAdvisor about your spend the day at Pegasus Reef

We are delighted that you and your group had a good time with us and happy to hear that you have enjoyed the food and the service offered. Out of the beach resorts, Pegasus Reef is the best place for outings and other out door activities because we got the space for the same and all the required resources for that.

We always give our utmost priority to our customers and their schedules, and that has been the main feature in Pegasus hospitality.

Thank you again for the encouraging comment on TripAdvisor and we look forward to see you again at Pegasus Reef.

Thank you

Kumudu Jayathilake

front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed in pegasus last December for a weekend and it was quite pleasant. The hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas and there were some good spots for photographs as well.  The food was good overall although more variety at each meal would have to been better.  Also staff seemed to be a bit disorganised as we got several calls to the room reminding the checkout time on our first day when we had clearly made reservations for 2  days.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kumudu J, Front Office Manager at Pegasus Reef Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Pegasus Reef during your resent visit to Sri Lanka

We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed the facilities. The comments you have mentioned about the variation of the food has already been taken to consideration as the same has been taken as an constructive comment.

I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused to you about the calls regarding the check out timing and the corrective actions have been taken in order to not to repeat this kind of mistakes.

Thank you again for staying with us and hope you will come back to experience more of Pegasus hospitality

Thank you

Kumudu Jayathilake

Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed here at the beginning of a tour as this was the meeting hotel. Nice hotel with good amenities and surroundings but it is very far from anything so not as good choice for local sighseeing. Rooms were comfortable. Good selection for breakfast. Staff were friendly and helpful. Pool area small but functional. Beach area not so good.

Recommend only if it is a requirement of your tour which seems to be the main business of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed here for three nights as part of a tour of Sri Lanka taking in all of the tourist highlights.
The first observation is that despite being only 20km from the airport and 15km from Colombo the time involved in getting to and from either is far longer than one would expect due to the road conditions and particularly the traffic.
The Hotel is situated in a great location overlooking the sea between the harbour and the newly built fishing harbour. It is a favourite location for wedding photographs so during our stay we saw Catholic, Buddhist and Hindu bridal parties all very colourful.
The room was clean and spacious with spectacular views from the balcony.
The restaurant was undercover outside with views over the pool and through palm trees to the ocean.
The buffet style dinner and breakfast were good but not exceptional.
Three minus points were inconsistent Wi-fi, noisy air conditioning and dire entertainment

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twyford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

In a not very nice area, 45 minutes from Colombo. Nothing nearby so it's negotiate for a hairy tuk ride, at about 800 rps or pay the expensive taxi fare to get to Colombo or the airport. Room was damp, aircon smelt musty , bathroom dirty with trays of rat or mouse poison on the floor. Sitting around the pool was unbearable due to the large, biting ants that were everywhere. Only stayed one night and were woken at 5am by noisy staff in the corridor and laundry cupboard nearby. It didn't matter that much because within half an hour, alarm calls raised very noisy Chinese, presumably off to the airport.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kumudu J, Front Office Manager at Pegasus Reef Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for your stay at Pegasus Reef and your valuable feedback.

We are honestly disappointed to hear that you were not happy about your stay at Pegasus Reef and the facilities and services which were extended you. We like to assure you that the management has taken your valuable comments and feed back to consideration and will do an investigation on this matter to take required measures to rectify them.

Whilst apologizing you for the shortfalls, we shall appreciate if you could give us more details pertaining your stay including your name, dates and the duration..etc on below mentioned email to investigate into this further and we sincerely hope you will give us another chance to serve at Pegasus Reef, should you visit Sri Lanka again.

info@pegasusreefhotel.com, kumuduj@pegasusreefhotel.com

Best regards

Kumudu Jayathilake

Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wattala hotels

Been to Pegasus Reef Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pegasus Reef Hotel

Address: PO Box 2, Hendala | Wattala ( Near Colombo), Wattala 00700 , Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Wattala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Wattala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pegasus Reef Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to "Pegasus Reef Hotel" The City Resort that's just right.....!!Bordering the soft-sandy-shoreline where the gentle foamy waves play a tap-and-run game, Pegasus Reef Beach hotel; one of the beach hotels in Sri Lanka; stands tall in its glorious splendor watching this eternal game. It is one of the Beach hotels in Sri Lanka that offers a spectacular service for the lucky souls that step into this grand edifice. Come and experience the true essence of resting your head in luxurious finery, as the gentle salty breeze revive your senses that no other Beach Hotels in Sri Lanka can accomplish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Pegasus Reef Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pegasus Reef Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.