We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay but not good food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mandara Rosen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mandara Rosen to your Saves list
Mandara Rosen
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No 57 Detagamuwa, Kataragama, Sri Lanka, Kataragama, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kataragama
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay but not good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The stay in this hotel was enjoyable as when we arrived the check in was smooth. We had then to walk like 100 meters to reach our room. The room itself was well big with big toilet. The furniture is new and everything was clean and in place.

The hotel has two swimming pools (kids and adults). They looked nice but we didn't have the chance to try them as we stayed only for one night.

Finally, our food experience was bad. We had both breakfast and dinner and were not satisfied with both. The food choice variety was little and the taste was not that good also.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    91
    49
    21
    15
See reviews for
64
95
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Lovely big rooms and modern bathroom styling with big walk in showers. Good buffet breakfast and dinner. Public areas of the hotel extremely well maintained and felt light spacious and modern, with a good sized pool. Service in totting up the check out bill, was even by Sri Lankan standards, extremely slow though....make sure you leave enough time for this!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Everyboday was very helpful and friendly. Nice Pools, awesome and clean rooms.
The bathroom is very large and has all facilities you need.
The breakfast was very good, too.

Even the cakes and drinks which are served are excellent.
We stayed in this hotel quite long and we were very satisfied.

Thank you and see you again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Hotel Mandara Rosen- Situated in the deep south of Sri Lanka on the foot hils of "Wedahiti Kanda".It is in close proximity to Kataragama SYlvan Shrine associated with God Skanda(Muruga).

Mandara Rosen is a Four Star hotel with large,well appointed rooms.The rooms have all the facilities one requires for a comfortable stay.The hotel has a large swimming pool with under water music.

They organize Jeep safari to Yala,Bundala and Uda Walawe National Parks.

I recommend Hotel Mandara Rosen, a perfect ambiance for a peaceful stay in deep south of Sr Lanka with abundance of wildlife,culture and heritage.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Very good value for money compared to other Sri Lanka accommodation. Our rooms was very spacious, comfortable bed turned down in the evening, good shower pressure and clean. The staff were very helpful and our coffee was re-stocked after the room had already been serviced for the day - good attention!
The pool was huge and the under water music was novel. We enjoyed the buffet in the evening and breakfast, good selection and chance to try some SL foods we hadn't tried yet. Restaurant lacked a bit of atmosphere but there were plenty of locals eating there which is a good sign.

Our safari booked by the hotel was a tired land rover but the driver knew his stuff and we were lucky to see leopards and elephants that the newer vehicles missed out on!!

We had a couple of massages which were very nice and the lady was great and spent extra time attending to my mosquito bites.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

If you are visiting the holy land of Katharagama, this is the only 4star hotel witch is situated closes to the temple and the city. The best food you will be enjoy when you at Katharagama. The buffet meals are with a huge choice's. Rooms are the best in the area.Very comfortable and clean rooms. The staff will make you feel at home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I have been to this hotel few times. It is a nice place for people who pilgrims to katharagama. Even you can go to Yala wild safari from there. But it takes little time. Staff is friendly and attentive. They have quite a small spa. Service is acceptable. But they need to open it till late night because people come to hotel late night after worship or safari with tired legs. Most of the people who come for pilgrims like to have vegetarian meal. but i noticed that, on the salad menu there was a potato and named as potato salad. but I felt it was mixed with some meat. So better check with staff before you eat. They do have a large and nice swimming pool.

Room Tip: All the rooms are same. but rooms start from 101 at down stair and short distance to the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandara Rosen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandara Rosen

Address: No 57 Detagamuwa, Kataragama, Sri Lanka, Kataragama, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Kataragama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kataragama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mandara Rosen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Mandara Rosen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandara Rosen Kataragama

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandara Rosen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.