We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our slice of paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Makuzi Beach Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chintheche
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Makuzi Beach Lodge
Save
You added Makuzi Beach Lodge to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Makuzi Beach | Private Bag 12, Chintheche, Lake Malawi National Park, Malawi   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“our slice of paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

After having a gruelling 16hour hour drive at 40kmh we were breathtaken to be warmly welcomed at 10pm without a booking by Lara n Brett and the given the tastiest sandwich of cheese n tomato which for sum reason just tasted soo good. The room and service was 100% and the owners are such beautiful people. If you are looking for romance and calamity this is the place to be.
Grant n Gillian

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lara P, Owner at Makuzi Beach Lodge, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for your lovely words. It was a pleasure meeting you and we look forward to seeing you here again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    17
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
28
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blantyre, Malawi
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This place is good but accommodation prices are way too high for the sort of room you are given! $95pp is a rip off and the food portions are too small too, and it took them 2 hours to serve us the food, I was told the food will be ready in 30 minutes! I personally wouldn't pay that much money to stay at this place.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lara P, Owner at Makuzi Beach Lodge, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We pride ourselves on the standard of our food, hence everything is made from fresh so I am sorry you where informed the food would take 30 minutes as that is not possible as stated on our menus. However 2 hours to wait is not acceptable. Again I can only apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Makuzi Beach Lodge is off the beaten track, along a dirt road, through a small village and past the local school. The setting is wonderful: a lovely cove, surrounded by rocks with soft white sand. The lake water was very shallow (we visited mid November & there had not been any rain since the beginning of the year) and very warm.
The setting is just perfect, but the chalets and some of the infrastructure do need some investment: the bathroom in our chalet was shabby and dirty looking, some of the screens as well as the mosquito netting had holes in it; pillows and blankets need to be replaced; the beach chairs are all somewhat broken or missing bits and pieces; the whole place just needs a face-lift to make it look more inviting. But what made up for it all were the people: Lauren and Richard are just wonderful hosts who love to sit and chat with you while enjoying a cool beer or G&T. They are very eager to make you happy and do see the need to make some improvements to the infrastructure - without turning Makuza Beach Lodge into a high-class resort. All the staff were great and very helpful
It really is a magical place where one can rewind and relax and I would love to come back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dar el salamm
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Off the main road down a long dirt track is Makuzi Beach Lodge with its private white sanded beach cove. Not cheap but after driving miles, camping out or staying at hostels this is a quiet break from it all. At time of writing camping was 20 us (facilities to cook) although the toilets and showers could do with a makeover.

However the rooms and food are excellent. Just bear in mind that if you dont have transport it is a long walk and minibus into Kande beach and other facilities.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eys
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Makuzi was again the perfect place to stay at Lake Malawi
Its secluded bay where David Livingstone anchored in 1861 is one these gems in Malawi.
Stay longer than you want to plan, because it will still be too short.
We give Makuzi Beach a TRIPLE B status.
Beautiful place, Beautiful food and Beautiful people
Thanks a lot Lauren and Richard and staff. Pole Pole Ponti travel group

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The Makuzi Lodge is on the most beautiful private and sandy cove you could imagine. The view is superb....a sandy beach framed by rocky headlands on both sides. Islets lie offshore. Gentle waves roll in over the shallow water and lap the white sand. Comorants and pied kingfishers fly about. Colourful lizards bask on the rocks.This could be paradise!
Sadly, the facilities are poor and require urgent upgrading. The main building which houses the bar, viewing veranda and dining area appears to be in a state of collapse. While it does have a certain charm it needs to be rebuilt. The cabins are pretty but small and dark. The bathroom area within the cabins is very small and damp. Menu choice is limited. A few new loungers and parasols on the beach...using local materials...would add to the comfort and enjoyment. Richard, the manager and his staff could not have been more hospitable. A wonderful setting and a view to die for, pity about the facilities.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We were very much looking forward to Makuzi as the reviews on TripAdvisor were very positive and it was our first beach stay at Lake Malawi. The beach was fabulous - powder white sand with the lake gently lapping on the shore - idyllic spot.
Lauren the manager was lovely and very helpful and the team were also friendly and welcoming. She was amazing considering she'd had a baby a few weeks before!
Our disappointment were the facilities which were all a bit tired - we stayed in the larger of the cottages and while the bedroom was ok the bathroom was dark, dingy and smelled of damp. I'm sure it was cleaned thoroughly, but it didn't feel clean and desperately needs a re-vamp.
It was also a bit surprising that there was a severe lack of beach furniture and what was available was very old and a bit rickety. The sun loungers were basically wooden frames with no cushions - so really uncomfortable. We ended up taking out the various cushions and rugs from our room to use as padding. Seemed a bit odd for a beach resort not to have anything reasonable to sit on!
We bumped into a couple who were camping and they mentioned their facilities were excellent and much better than Kande further up the road. So, if you're camping it sounds like Makuzi is a good option, although we didn't see the facilities ourselves.
The food was lovely - can recommend the chambo (local fish) which was delicious - although the steak was a tad chewy.
You also have a great view of the red moon, which is quite a phenomenon to see - didn't even know such a thing existed!
We'd say it's a lodge which is almost there - it appears there has been a lack of investment, which is such a shame as it's in a fabulous spot. We subsequently heard it's been up for sale for 2 years, so not sure whether this may explain the current situation?
If we were going back to Lake Malawi we would look for somewhere else to stay, as there are other lodges around the same money which have better facilities.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Makuzi Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makuzi Beach Lodge

Address: Makuzi Beach | Private Bag 12, Chintheche, Lake Malawi National Park, Malawi
Location: Malawi > Lake Malawi National Park > Chintheche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Chintheche
Hotel Class:3 star — Makuzi Beach Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightfully sited on its own private bay along Lake Malawi's northern lakeshore, Makuzi Beach provides guests with a superb, secluded retreat, sandy white beaches and wonderful views across Africa's third largest fresh water lake. The thatch and stone chalets are nestled in lush manicured gardens overlooking the crystal clear waters of the lake. Sipping a cocktail or enjoying one of the chefs' infamous meals from the deck of the main lodge is an experience in itself. Makuzi enjoys an excellent reputation for its cuisine and guests are encouraged to enjoy a full African dining experience under the stars. This relaxed lakeshore retreat with its 11 cozy chalets, is a perfect family property with a well deserved reputation for warm hospitality and great facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Makuzi Beach Hotel Chintheche
Makuzi Beach Lodge Malawi/Chintheche

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makuzi Beach Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.