We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alimounda Mare

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Alimounda Mare to your Saves list
Alimounda Mare
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 127, Karpathos Town (Pigadia) 85700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Athens, Greece
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

An amazing highly recommendable hotel.
Comfortable, spacious, clean and fully equipped with the latest technology rooms.
A vast selection of delicious food that can please anyone (breakfast,lunch and dinner) in a lovely surrounding.
Willing and dedicated staff.
Availability of several communal facilities along with a super organised beach.
The highlight is the bar with its magic view; sea and sky as far as they eye can see!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    130
    31
    12
    1
See reviews for
116
243
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Friendly staff, amazing location, 5 star services, clean rooms, all facilities provided, great value for money. By far the best in karpathos. Will visit again next year and the year after...and the year after.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Wonderful stay in this excelent hotel, impeccably clean, perfect location and friendly, courteous and helpful staff. Amazing facilities and a breathtaking pool view. Plus, the hotel had a beautiful beach where you could take a nice walk! Highly recommend this hotel to fellow travellers. i will definetely come back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ein vered israel
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The hotel is located very near to the city center, on the shore of a large bay.the sea is very clean and the sea water is very clear.even when a strong wind the waves are very low.humidity in the island of carpathos is very low, so. You need to drink a lot,five minutes walk from the hotel is A big supermarket which can supply all the needs.the rooms are comfortable plus.the stuff are supper helpful.always with a smile.the pool is very nice looking like part of the sea.food is of a big verity everyone can find a lot of what the like.publik areas are very large and convenient.
We loved every minuit ot of our vacation there.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are the best, but also rooms on the sides have a part of sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I just got back from a fantastic long weekend at Alimounda Mare. The hotel is the best hotel on the isalnd. It is strategically positioned on the beach but also a short walk from the town of Pigadia. Our room was spotless with a great seaview. The balcony railings are made of glass so you can lie in bed with the curtains open and gaze out to the ocean. At night we slept with the windows open so we could hear the sea waves. The room also was very modern with a hidden television behind the mirror and simple fresh decor. My favourite bit though was the mattress which was extremely comfortable so much so that I pulled the sheet away to check the mattress brand so we can get the same one for our home! The hotel itself is large enough for you to always be able to find a quiet spot to chill out or enjoy your drink if that's what you are after or find a good spot to hang out with friends. As we were part of a big crowd of friends we usually met around the pool bar where the staff where young, eager and very professional. There are also a number of activities and things to do if you do not want to laze around. We enjoyed the big infinity pool and ping pong table and also relaxing time in the spa! The hotel is ideal for all mixes of people including couples, friends and family as there is something for everyone! Overall we had an amzing time and the only thing that i was very disappointed about was having to leave.....we will definitely be back next year!!!!! Thank you again to all of the staff for making our stay so special!

Room Tip: go for sea view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Ariella and myself were convinced to try the new holiday destenation-Karpathos As well as the offerd 5star hotel Alimounda Bay
My Better Half and myself found the hotel and their staff first class and couldn't fault the service in any way.
The reception staff headed by Christos and his assitant Dimitra were always pleasent and only too willing to help and advise us which made our stay much more enjoyable.
The tween brothers Gabriel&Jack made us gain in no time all the weight we lost prior ro our arrival,in the hotels restaurant.
We will certainly recommend the Alimounda Mare to anyone wishing to be advised on this unique stay.
We look forward to the return to the Island and the Hotel soonest.
Ariella And Ronny

Room Tip: No need all are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Splendid new hotel (opened in April 2011) with modern looks, stunning views over the sea, breathtaking and huge pool (with cold water though), comfortable but rather small rooms, delicious food and huge variety of it, very friendly waiters, live music every evening, nice children pool (more children facilities missing though).... of walking distance to a lovely town centre with great evening atmosphere...we recommend this hotel and beautiful island of Karpathos - much calmer than other islands - a great family holiday!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alimounda Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alimounda Mare

Address: PO Box 127, Karpathos Town (Pigadia) 85700, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Karpathos > Karpathos Town (Pigadia)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Karpathos Town (Pigadia)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alimounda Mare 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alimounda Mare is a newly built luxurious 5-star hotel with 244 guestrooms and suites located on a quiet cove right on the beach, only a 5 minute walk to the harbor and the center of the town of Pigadia, the island’s capital, where you can find an array of shops, restaurants and bars. Situated only 15 km (30 minutes drive) from the airport, the hotel is ideal for families, couples and incentive groups, offering a comfortable and tranquil environment. The infinity pool offers Water Jets as well as a separate pool for the children just above the sandy beach. All guests are accommodated in elegant rooms (with sea view or side sea view), junior suites with mountain view and executive suites with direct sea view, and are offered a complimentary bottle of wine upon arrival. Each unit is fully equipped with air-condition, satellite TV, telephone, internet connection, mini bar, tea/coffee facilities, bathrobes and slippers.The restaurant offers show cooking and fine Mediterranean cuisine in stylish dining surroundings, either buffet style or a’ la carte. Drinks and exotic cocktails can be enjoyed at the cocktail bar or the poolside bar with magnificent sea views. When longing for exercise there is a tennis court (5 minutes walking distance from the hotel), table tennis and a fitness room at your free disposal. The SPA will help you complete the feeling of wellbeing. Step into a world of ease, luxury and Greek hospitality at Alimounda Mare. Open from May to October it provides modern luxury accommodation, business- and leisure experiences. It's not just a place for people who love the sun, it’s also ideal for visiting some of the beautiful beaches and sites of the island, hiking in the mountains, diving in the crystal clear waters or just for enjoying the magnificent sunrise from your balcony only a few meters away from the sea. If in need of a quiet luxurious relaxation, Alimounda Mare is the ultimate venue for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Alimounda Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alimounda Mare Hotel Karpathos Town (Pigadia)
Alimounda Mare Karpathos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alimounda Mare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.