We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hedgefield Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sleights
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hedgefield Guest House
Save
You added Hedgefield Guest House to your Saves list
47 Coach Road, Sleights, Whitby YO22 5AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Sleights B&B and Inns
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

This was one of my favourite stays during a 2 week trip around England. Hedgefield is a delightful guest house. We were offered tea, coffee and cake on our arrival which was lovely after a long drive. The rooms were spacious and very well furnished. Breakfast was so yummy and if I remember correctly Ann had made a beautiful muesli. It is a short drive into Whitby which is such a special place. Would love to go back and stay again. Could not fault it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lymington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We spent one night at Hedgefield and the attention to detail was great ,lovely pillows and comfortable bed . Breakfast was first class.
It is a very quite spot , with an easy car ride to Whitby .

Room Tip: Our room was Endeavour
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

This is a great place to stay with a warm cosy feel to it, you get a coffee and a piece of home made cake when you arrive. The rooms are clean and fresh, with all the facilities that you need,tea,coffee,hairdryer,etc. Ann and Derek are the perfect hosts and very helpful and as everyone has remarked the breakfasts are something else! We will certainly go back as it very central for a whole load of attractions in the area and it really has a warm and friendly feel to it.
Thank you for a great four days we thoroughly enjoyed it!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leschenault Western Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Amazing value for money - comfortable room with delicious breakfast and the most helpful, friendly & accomodating hosts we could have wished for. Thank you Anne and Derek, for a wonderful 3 days - your kind and thoughtful hospitality very much appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

On arrival we were greeted with coffee and cake. The breakfast is to die for and the whole experience inspired me, with the lovely warm homely feel, amazing garden and the best hosts in the world. If you are planning a trip to Yorkshire this is the place to stay. Thank you for a wonderful stay we can't wait to come back. C & B.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumbria
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We've never stayed in a B&B for many years, so this was a bit of an adventure.
Hedgefield is situated just off the main road into Whitby with a regular bus service into the town. Brilliant if you are lucky enough to have a free bus pass because you can leave the car freely at the front door and wander off where you wish.
Boundless hospitality, fresh milk at your door at dawn, and a gorgeous breakfast.
....and the only sour note, the old fashioned telly in the room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

A recent stay with Anne and Derek for the first time provoked the above comment. What a fantastic B & B this is and one not to be missed. We were welcomed with tea / coffee and home-made cake and then shown to our rooms. I stayed in the top room at the back complete with stunning views. The rooms were exceptionally clean, well decorated and homely and lots of parking spaces available outside the house.

We couldn't take breakfast as we had a very early start, so Anne kindly volunteered to make us up some rolls without a seconds hesitation. Having the breakfast on the second day made us wish we could have been there for the first day - what a breakfast!! Home-made breads, granola, and a beautifully cooked breakfast, we couldn't have wished for better.

Situated just on the edge of the North Yorkshire Moors I would definitely have no hesitation in recommending this place as a base and I for one will definitely be going back - extremely good value and hospitality. You will not get better.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hedgefield Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedgefield Guest House

Address: 47 Coach Road, Sleights, Whitby YO22 5AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby > Sleights
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sleights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hedgefield Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.