We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arismari - Yammas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arismari

Arismari
Gavalochori, Apokoronas, Crete 73008, Greece
2825084066
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Greek
Restaurant details
north west
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Arismari - Yammas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

ate here most nights during our 2 week stay in this beautiful village, food to die for, staff nothing too much trouble - missing you already - Yammas xx

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    6
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
poonum
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enchanting, quirky restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Romantic setting with seating area under a beautiful tree, spreading onto a raised balcony area. This restaurant has warmth and character like the waitresses who were really quirky and friendly. The menu small but perfectly formed, the food is delicious, home coked and plentiful, the Mousaka and spicy cheese dip was to die for and if that was not enough you are served with a complementary dessert of greek style rocky road, ice cream and of course Raki..........yummy!
We were amazed when we got the bill and checked because it was so cheap.

We ate here twice because we liked it so much, particularly the food and the great service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavalochori, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Good food and friendly, chatty staff that make you feel at home.
Menu is typical of many tavernas in the area but the quality is better than most and has a real home cooked taste, because it is home cooked!

Interesting venue. My son was amazed as the odd car drives through the seating area which spreads across the lane. Sounds bizarre but is fine as the lane is so small so it adds to the experience.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, fab food, nice service - just excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Lovely Greek restaurant in a little street on the road to the museum. Light and airy outdoor terraces, the cutest little bar I have ever seen, fantastic food -Mousakka was the best that we tried (and we tried quite a few). The people are delightful, service was excellent. We tried other Taverna's in the village and they were also very good and very reasonable but the Arismari is special in many ways and the village is lovely.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horebeke belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“authentic place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

very nice place to sit under the tree. you find it behind the museum. nice food and always good atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arismari also viewed

Gavalochori, Apokoronas
Gavalochori, Apokoronas
 
Gavalochori, Apokoronas
 

Been to Arismari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arismari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.