We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Club Stella Maris Paraiso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Club Stella Maris Paraiso to your Saves list
Club Stella Maris Paraiso
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apartado 149, 07820 Cala Gracio, Ibiza, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cala Gracio
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Okay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

After stayibg for a week in stella maris. Generally the hotel is lovely but very far out of town. Big walk down to dining room and pool area as the rooms were not in the actual hotel. Rooms not modern but would do and shocked after finding a dead bird in our wardrobe:o reception staff friendly andbar staff very friendly night entertainment was great and a good slection of pools.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    49
    33
    14
    7
See reviews for
33
37
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I have visited the Stella Maris several times now and it is great.
The staff are really friendly, maid service regular and the guys on reception really helpful.
Their is a shop on site which sells everything you need. There are two great sized pool plus another for the kids.

The rooms are a tad basic, but offer a great sea view (ours did anyway) the only drawback was that our room is up quite a steep hill so not great for those with walking difficulties.

For people that had mentioned the distance from the town, if you head over Cala Gracio beach the walk isnt too far plus there is a regular bus.

Room Tip: Want a good view and dont mind a little walk get the studios at the top of the site numbers 625-627
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I expect when the Stella Maris was built circa 1970 it was a luxury hotel... too bad it hasn't changed one bit since.

I can't complain too much. After all, the total cost of B&B for seven nights for two of us was £230 - so cheap as chips.

THE GOOD POINTS:

1) Two good sized pools plus one kiddie pool. The 'Waterfall' pool was noisy - here the Animation Team hosted their crazy activities with loud music. The 'Palmera' pool was a dedicated 'quiet zone'.
2) Attractive gardens and landscaping. The hotel complex is spread out across a hillside and the rooms are nestled amongst thick pine & palm trees.
3) A very peaceful hotel. You wake to the sound of bird song and at night the only sound comes from crickets.
4) Cheap drinks - a pint of beer cost approximately £2.80.
5) Good sporting/leisure facilities:- tennis, scuba diving, volley ball, gym, massage, crazy golf, football, pool, arcade, giant chess.
6) Two well stocked on-site shops - one a supermarket selling all essentials, fresh bread and alcohol; the second a gift/souvenir shop selling newspapers and beach items.
7) Large bedrooms with excellent views (if you're lucky). We had a room on the second floor of a block high up on the hill. It was a long walk up, but well worth the stunning view of San Antonio Bay.

THE BAD POINTS:

1) Food is nothing short of appalling. Thank the Lord we were only B&B!! Breakfast was diabolical. I am used to German breakfasts, as I've travelled to Germany many times, but the food on offer was nothing more than 3 different types of cheap cold meat, three different types of plastic cheese, a hard boiled egg, then either scrambled egg with mushrooms or just scrambled egg, and cooked ham. The eggs were so overcooked they'd become dry and rubbery and the fruit juice & coffee dispensed from the machines were unrecognisable.
2) The hotel complex is stuck in the 1970s. It's incredibly dated. It is clean & tidy however, it just needs a sprinkle of 21st century magic dust.
3) I love the Germans - I have a lot of German friends - but if you're not German, don't expect to get served first. Over the course of the week, we lost count of the number of times we were stood at the bar, a German came along and he/she was served first. In my opinion this is downright rude.
4) Location, location, location... Hmmm... a 40 minute walk into San Antonio or an 8-Euro taxi or a bus that only comes on the hour every hour until 7pm. Nothing outside the hotel except for two restaurants. La vida Ibiza!
5) Bedrooms - like the rest of the hotel - stuck in a time warp. And very basic. Bathroom was compact - in fact - TINY.
6) Staff weren't particularly friendly or helpful - especially the reception staff. One in particular (I forget her name) was so unwelcoming it almost seemed like a chore for her to check us in. She also checked us out and there was no, "Have you had a pleasant stay?", or, "Thanks for your custom". Instead, "Oh, you want me to order a taxi do you? Well, if I must". Rudeness.

All in all we had a good holiday. And for the price we paid, I can't grumble too much about the hotel. But would I go back? Never.

My advice is to spend a little more and find a better quality hotel in a better location.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the walk up hill, ask for a room higher up. The views are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from two weeks with my husband and two year old,when we arrived late at night they had no sign of our booking but the receptionist accommodated us anyway and when I asked her for a room change the next day she was also very helpful,I'm sorry I can't rember her name but she's got long light brown hair and I think her name is umna,either way she was very helpful. This complex is older and set out over a lot of steep hills which are no fun to climb in the heat!!! The rooms are basic but clean tv with German and Spanish channels,we took our laptop to entertain ourselves and there is free wifi in reception. Staff very helpful apart from one of the bar staff called Andrea who preferred to serve the German guests!!!! lots of sunbeds also lots of prebooking of them by the german guests who made up around 90% of the clientele. Food was mostly to their taste mostly pork and incredibly bland,same things served up for lunch every day chips pizza hotdogs and burgers but they'd been sitting around for a while so not very nice,I couldn't face lunch most days.basically it's clean,dated and a good base but definitely three stars at most.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Home today from a 7 night stay at stella maris well started off badly, ignorant reception staff and our rooms werent even ready until 2pm. Got to our rooms and my friend found a dead bird in her wardrobe. Pools are brilliant, 3 different pools. Bar staff are unfriendly! Food was terrible and the hotel was separated too much with far too many slopes. The rooms were basic but still good enough. Last of all if your an english person dont stay here as 95% of the hotel was german and some rather cheeky! If you stay dont go all inclusive, definitley not worth it...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We are very strong believers in repaying our trip advisor reviewers for all their help when picking somewhere to stay but we can honestly say this is the hardest review we have had to write.
Having visited Stella Maris for 4 days last week as a couple we can say that this resort and location is without doubt one of the best we have stayed in recently and definitely offers great value for money.
POOLS
The resort has a choice of 3 pools for mainly adults, just children and a double fun pool.
BARS
Each pool has a bar and the smack bar (that’s it’s name) serves the sandwiches etc at snack time.
The main entertainment area has a couple of bars so not too much waiting and would be even less if they served pints instead of the short measured half pints.
The measures, availability of local spirits and the staff really let this resort down. I can honestly say I have never been so badly treated than by this group of staff.
If you are willing to ignore this, then they don't really have an impact on your holiday and its not as if they don't serve you with alcohol or refreshments so the desired result is ok...
RESTAURANT
The restaurant is a lovely elevated position with great views over the surrounding area over to San Antonio in the distance and is full linen setting.
The food is hot and plentiful but is 100% aimed at the German majority. This is only a real issue at breakfast but if continental is fine for you then the added hot oddities can be a nice distraction.
Lunch and evening meals have a good selection are hot and tasty and have plenty of salads, and Paella or steak nights are awesome.
At least in the restaurant you can serve yourself with wine and beer.

RESORT FACILITIES
The resort is rather large and whilst we were put in a twin (easily pushed together) we were close to the pools. The resort is set into a hillside so you could be up allot of steps with stunning views.

With regard to the other facilities it has everything you need, from safes, to sauna to a gym to pool and table tennis tables but it is wholly aimed at the German market.
This does provide for a lovely setting for a UK couple and without sounding off, it does actually provide for a well looked after, respectful and quieter setting than if it was fully British. Having 4 children I can say on the whole the German children behaved differently to the British ones we normally encounter.
LOCATION
Stella Maris is a very nice walk (300m) away from the superb little cove of Cala Cracio, which is impeccably clean and the gradual slope allows for a safe swimming area for children.

IN CONCLUSION
… location, setting, local beach, staff on the whole, food and drink… then this resort is ideal for a quiet escape together.
HOWEVER… having four children we could not help but review it as if we had taken our children with us.
Again in the whole, they would find the food and drink fine. (maybe struggle at little for breakfast if they didn’t like cereal or toast) Lunch and Dinner would be fine and they do have the chips and pizza option.
The pools will be fantastic for them and the drinks and icecream are readily available for them. They are well provided for with regard to pool tables and table tennis, volley ball pitch etc but the entertainment is again 100% German and other than the visiting shows we could not see any effort to provide for the English speaking nations.
Initially we found this would not be a problem but it also seemed having spoken to other Europeans that the majority do not speak English so the mixing with other children would be difficult and for our children this has become a crucial part of their holiday experience.

Would we go back? probably as a couple but we would not take our children. Although the resort is better we would probably compromise on the canteen style service and go to Balansat at San Miguel.

Hope this helps, happy to answer any questions.

Room Tip: Ask to be near the pools if your don't like steps. If you don't mind then the views will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We just got back from 3 nights stay at the Stella Maris and we thought the place was lovely. Its a great hotel if you are looking for something relaxed and chilled out. The grounds were lovely with lots of trees and the pools were clean and not too cold! The breakfast wasn't the best, although I can't complain as the cost of the accommodation was good value. There weren't many English people staying there but we thought that was quite nice! Rooms were basic, (but clean and tidy) and staff were friendly. The two beaches close by are really nice and within walking distance, definitely worth a visit!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Stella Maris Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Stella Maris Paraiso

Address: Apartado 149, 07820 Cala Gracio, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Cala Gracio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cala Gracio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Stella Maris Paraiso 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CLUB STELLA MARIS Hotel Ibiza - San Antonio SpainStella Maris Paraiso is 300 ft from Ibiza’s San Antonio Harbor and 500 ft from Cala Grassio Beach. It offers swimming pools, tennis courts, a mini golf course and spa.This hotel is a perfect holiday accommodation for the families and couples that enjoy different types of sporting activities. For energetic holidays on Ibiza, especially for families indulging in fun loving activities, this is a popular choice.Stella Maris features attractive low-rise buildings surrounded by gardens. Each air conditioned room has a balcony, some with sea views. Rooms also include satellite TV and a fridge.Club Stella Maris offers a gym and a range of fitness classes and activities. Guests can enjoy a massage or relax in the Jacuzzi, Turkish bath or sauna. There is a large split level swimming pool, an adults swimming pool and a children`s pool.The complex’s buffet restaurant serves Mediterranean and international meals. There is also an on-site snack bar and a nightclub. Daytime and evening entertainment is provided for all ages.The Stella Maris offers free Wi-Fi access in public areas. The 24-hour front desk can arrange currency exchange and car or bike rental, ideal for exploring the island.The Club Stella Maris offers the following rooms: • Double Or Twin • Double Or Twin Individual Use • Family Room • Single here are some of the amenities and facilities that make the Club Stella Maris Paraiso such a well-known destination for relaxation and fun: • 24-hour reception • Currency exchange • Internet center • Library • Mini-market • Hairdresser • Medical center • TV lounge • Large split level swimming pool • Relaxing pool, children's pool • Sun terrace with sun-loungers and parasols • Tennis courts • Beach volleyball • Basketball • Hockey • Boules • Sauna • Jacuzzi • Turkish bath • Gym • Massage • Billiards • Mini-golf • Darts• Boccia• Table tennis • Airgun • Playground • Mini-club • Mini-disco • Elegant restaurant • Snack bar • 4 open air bars • Salon bar • Air conditioned disco The Club Stella Maris Paraiso is an ideal place to spend your vacation if you are looking for accommodations that have many fun on-site activities. Due to popularity it would be best if you booked as soon as possible to avail a sun stay in this beautiful establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Club Stella Maris Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Stella Maris Paraiso Hotel Cala Gracio
Hotel Stella Maris Paraiso
Stella Maris Paraiso Hotel
Club Stella Maris Paraiso Ibiza/Cala Gracio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Stella Maris Paraiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.