We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique part of Mallorca a hidden gem.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Petit Hotel Rural Son Jorda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Petit Hotel Rural Son Jorda to your Saves list
Petit Hotel Rural Son Jorda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera de Sineu km 22, 07410 Ruberts, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ruberts
1 review
“A unique part of Mallorca a hidden gem.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

I arrived in early march, not knowing anything of the finca or the village, and I was pleasantly surprised. The owner and staff were fantastic, the food wonderful and over all experience was just what I wanted, peace and quiet and only the sound of nature. Normally in Mallorca in March it can be quite cold and humid, specially historical fincas. But here we had a good AC in the room that kept us warm. A perfect romantic hideaway from everyday stress.

Room Tip: it is just a very quiet place so you will not get disturbed.....it is like being in another world.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    11
    14
    7
    1
See reviews for
4
33
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights August 2014. The other reviews echo our feelings pretty much exactly. The hotel is extremely pretty in a very rural location and even internally it is nicely done out and very clean but that's where the positives end. The lack of staff here is the biggest problem in our opinion. During our stay we saw a total of 3 different members of staff. Despite staying in August when temperatures were in the 40's we couldn' t get a cold drink during the day for love nor money! In fact other then breakfast which was average and evening meal which we avoided, there were no refreshments on offer at all. A sign at the hotel forbidding guests to take their own refreshments into the hotel and pool area was laughable under the circumstances! Our room itself was clean and comfortable but the plumbing in the bathroom was terrible, the sink leaked and the shower head didn't fit in the holder properly plus the shower door was broken. The staff had a very annoying habit of turning up to clean the room at around 5pm just as we had got back to shower and have a quick nap before heading back out - they've had all day to clean the room!! They're really missing a trick here, it could be beautiful if only it was managed better. I've seen reviews saying the same thing going back 5 years so they obviously have no plans to change anything!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro W, Director Comercial at Petit Hotel Rural Son Jorda, responded to this review, October 29, 2014
Dear clients,
Thank you for taking part of your time to leave this rewiew, and we apoligize that you feel disapointed with your stay with us.
Son Jordá is a small family run hotel and some times this summer we had a very high occupancy that made os be short of staff in some of the weeks.
We take your comments very seriously and we are studying possibilities for the future to be sure that similar situations do not ocur again.
We hope aswell that you can give us a second oportunity and we can meet you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ruberts hotels

Suffolk, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

This finca is in a inland location. It has a nice pool and lovely gardens and is really quite inexpensive compared to much of the accommodation in Majorca.
However, it could be so much better. There is a lack of staff, so you always feel you are inconveniencing them by asking for a drink and the overall atmosphere is a little bit run down. Our room (room 10) had rather dodgy, bodged plumbing. The toilet had been fixed with tape & scarcely worked, the shower was poor & the bath a bit odd! Also this was supposedly a double room, but had 2 single wooden bedframes pushed together - a giant ravine between them! Not the most romantic start to our holiday!!
However, we're not sure what the other rooms were like - perhaps we were just unlucky!

Room Tip: Avoid room 10!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

If you are looking for an inexpensive place to stay in a quieter location, away from the tourist traps in the south of the island, Ruberts is a great location! It's about 30 mins drive from Palma, easily accessible and the roads are good. We visited many parts of the island from Ruberts and found many good restaurants in nearby towns. You can park right outside the hotel.

The hotel grounds are pretty and the rooms are spacious. However, don't expect this to be a 4 or 5 star hotel. The rooms are pretty basic and so is the service. We only ever saw two members of staff working at a time and they do everything from house keeping, reception to serving drinks and food. However, the price is very reasonable and it includes continental breakfast. My feeling is, you'd expect to pay more if you are looking for 4/5 star accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Expensive for a poor service and dreadful food.They are nice but have no sense of prpfessional hospitality and do not care about their guest needs.No food nor drinks available during the days despite the Heath.Dinner was cheap and disgusting.Very expensive for what it offers-will never return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This hotel could be so much better than it is at present with a little more thought and consideration. Firstly the good points: the setting is idyllic, especially if, like us, you don't want brash touristy hotels complete with wrist bands; the people running it are lovely, polite, friendly and truly make you feel welcome; the village and surrounding areas are very Spanish and you will experience many local festivities, all of which you will be encouraged to join in with-all in all, just what we wanted from a weeks stay. Now, the bad points: the bedding-I have thrown away better pillows and sheets; don't expect much in the way of toiletries (I take my own anyway); the food is truly dreadful-to be polite and show willing we had our first meal there and it was disastrous (a salad of lots of raw onion, green pepper and olives with no dressing, main meal of fish, luke warm and tasteless and a hideous shop bought pudding that tasted of cotton wool!); ad hoc bar service round the pool during the day; no snacks during the day or in the evening; a rule that forbids you to bring any food in-strange, as they don't provide anything decent and there is nowhere in the village! I think that Son Jorda is family run (largely) and they struggle to staff the place. We would have loved to not have to go out for an evening meal and just enjoy the ambiance and beauty of the house and grounds or experience a beautiful breakfast under the trees in the morning. Unfortunately we felt compelled to go out morning and night to get decent food. I think they need Alex Polizzi out there advising them as to how to get it right-they are sitting on a gold mine if only they knew it!

Room Tip: Don't be tempted to have a meal-you have been warned!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bensheim, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Very nice spot in the heard of mallorca, everything is just a 30 min. away (by car).
We did enjoy a 5 night stay in Ruberts, visiting several places and hidden spots.
Breakfast is good and offers market fruits as well as typical local varities from bread to ham and cheese. Expect no 4 stars or 5 stars - this is rural, but on a good level !

What we missed:
chairs and balcony to sit and relax enjoying a private atmosphere
a menue-card for the dinner (which is good but not cheap and varies from day to day fish/meat)

Paquita is the good soul there and will help you with recommendations where to go.
We've been 3 times @Mallorca - this time without any guidebook and found out, there's enough to explore without. Take a (bicycle) ride - there's a lot of rural roads for MTB bikers.
Take the car and got for the wednesday market in Sineu (very nice !!!) or like us - just enjoy sun.

We do recommend a sundowner restaurant just 2 mins away @Sencelles. It's just wonderfull to see the sun go down and have dinner and wine/cocktail near the windmill on the veranda.
You'll see the signs near the church.

For insiders:
Cala Murta (hidden beach north/west) with 40 mins walk - take care on donkeys :-)
Deia (for the real sundowner in summertime)
Sencelles Restaurant (between church and parking area) - you'll find it
More to find:
Yes, but on your own

Room Tip: Room #17 for smokers, as this is the one with "balcony" in the main house. A bit smaler...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Petit Hotel Rural Son Jorda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Hotel Rural Son Jorda

Address: Carretera de Sineu km 22, 07410 Ruberts, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Ruberts
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ruberts
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petit Hotel Rural Son Jorda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Petit Hotel Rural Son Jorda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petit Hotel Rural Son Jorda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.