We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We felt a bit scammed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna Meraklis

Taverna Meraklis
Gialos, Greece
22460 71003
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 10 Restaurants in Gialos
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Istanbul
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“We felt a bit scammed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We ate here on our first evening is Symi. We had some appetizers, including Symi shrimps and mussels saganaki (which were nothing like mussels saganaki I had elsewhere in Greece, so that was a bit of a disappointment), and then we wanted to order fish. Fish choice was rather poor. All they had on offer was sea bream, at 55 euros per kilo. We ordered two, which came to over 1kg. Fish was not bad, but it was nothing special either. Tasted like cultured frozen fish. Definitely not worth the money we paid for it. We paid total 120 euros for 4 persons (including wine), which ended up being one of the most expensive meals we had in Symi, but definitely the least memorable one. I though that it was not worth it. I would not eat here again.

Plus toilet in the restaurant was a mess! I think that a dirty toilet tell a lot about an establishment!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    17
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Didn't even manage to get any food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Tried to eat at this Taverna without success. There were only 2 waiters and the place was very busy - they were running from one place to another and getting nowhere. They were being called by so many people who were waiting for service. I eventually asked a waiter if we could sit at a table which had just been vacated. He said I could but then never came back to clear the table. I eventually got up and spoke to another waiter asking him for menus and pointing out where we were sitting so that he could clear the table. 45 minutes later we walked away - no-one had approached us during that time. People at the next table had been waiting so long for food that they had to tell the waiter there little boy was falling asleep as it was past his bedtime! Two other parties turned up for tables that they had reserved to find that their tables had been given up to other people. We didn't try this place again. All I can say is that if you want to try it make sure you go when it's empty!!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“A return visit to an excellent taverna!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We visited in 2012 and returned again 2013. Excellent traditional meals. It was always busy and I highly recommend it. Situated just behind the harbour.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Symi, Greece
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good home cooking Greek style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Eaten here many times, always good value for money. Stifado, pasticcio, kleftico, etc always good, octupus, symi shrimp always fresh, generous greek salad. Digestif to start main course and sweet to finish, carafe of retsina costs me less than 20 euros!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good value for money restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Went here once during our stay in Symi in june 2013.
The food was relatively cheap, if not the best we'd tasted.
Had a beef stifado, which was just a bit too runny, although the flavour was OK.
Basically, if you want reasonable food that is good value for money then this place is OK.
If you want very good food & are prepared to pay more for it, there are other places to go in Yialos

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Meraklis also viewed

Symi, Dodecanese
 

Been to Taverna Meraklis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna Meraklis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.