We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food, lacked atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La cueva - CLOSED

La cueva
calle playa grande, Los Abrigos, Tenerife, Spain
Improve this listing
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Hexham
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Nice food, lacked atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

A pleasant enough meal, but the place was very quiet and lacked atmosphere. The waitress was if anything a bit too anxious to please which grated after a while. Not as good as some lower rated places IMO

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    3
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los abrigos
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“La Cueva - new year”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Very pleasant and helpful staff, who were knowledgeable about food and wine.
Good quantities, with interesting twists on the standards, and good value for money.
Great atmosphere, and the cave itself is something to be seen and enjoyed with a quiet drink after the meal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“La Cueva and The Cave”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

La Cueva and The Cave are two completely separate restaurants. The Cave is situated in Los Abrigos. La Cueva is on San Blas square and a disgrace of a restaurant. The owner is arrogant and will not talk. The young waitress is very rude. The food is terrible. I would not recommend this place to my worst enemy. It's a shame as the rest of the restaurants on the square are fantastic.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Quantity more than quality.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I made a booking at this restaurant on the strength of the positive reviews on TA. I needn't have bothered, as there were only two other diners when we arrived. If it's that quiet on a Saturday night I don't know what it's like midweek. The food was OK, but not of the quality that I had expected on the basis of all the reviews. We asked to have an aperitif downstairs in the cave area, and it's certainly worth a visit. This place has the potential to be something special, but I didn't feel that its USP is being exploited. It doesn't help that there's no website either.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Great Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stumbled across The Cave by chance whilst wandering around Los Abrigos - a real piece of good fortune - and subsequently enjoyed two excellent evenings there. Had we found it earlier in our holiday I'm sure we would have visited more than twice.

The location and ambience are lovely and the food excellent, supported by efficient and very friendly service. We will certainly return when we are next in the area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La cueva also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La cueva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.