We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A question of taste” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Scarpetta

La Scarpetta
La Marina 26, 38639 Los Abrigos, Tenerife, Spain
0034 922 749 792
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 31 Restaurants in Los Abrigos
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Romantic, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A question of taste”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

One of our party had an excellent sea bream but apart from that the food was average. We were very uncomfortable with the manner and behaviour of the owner although others might find it entertaining. Other waiting staff were pleasant. Our overall impression was poor.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    49
    14
    23
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“loved !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Went on the recomedation of some friends, (what luck we didn't read the reviews first) loved this place ok yes you have to have a sense of humour but what a laugh and the meal was fantastic.
We started the meal off with a bottle of prosecco and a mix of meats and cheeses tipical of italy what a delight i felt like i was back in italy and we just relaxed and ate in our own time, my wife ordered the ravioli with the scallop and i had a seabass, cooked to perfection we tried each others and decided its one of the best meals we've had for a long time.
The owner Matteo quite unique but didn't mollest us, just had a laugh, we were surprised with the other reviews but everyone to themselves
The only complaint- it was our last night and would have liked to return and try more delights

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Each to their own.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My dad always said "if you can't say anything nice about someone then say nothing at all", which i have tried always to do. I was 'pursuaded' to visit this restaurant by a neighbour who frequents this establishment, being a regular visitor to a nearby restaurant in Los Abrigos (which is in fact my favourite restaurant not only in Abrigos but in Tenerife), it was with reluctance but with an open mind that i gave Scarpetta a try. On arrival the first words the owner bellowed not just to me but to the whole restaurant was "would you like some viagra", having spent 48years as a proffessional musician/entertainer it was obvious that this individual believes himself to be an eccentric performer and that this was an intruductory part of his stage show. My wife and i were then seated and waited almost ten minutes for a menu, during the wait the owner continued his performance by doing 3 laps of the restaurant screaming 'tippy tippy' like a demented banshee. His sexual inuendo's toward most of the females were quite condiscending and bordering on abusive yet some of them thought it was funny and complimentary, i didn't and when he turned his attention toward my wife she told him to address his lewd comments to someone who would appreciate them. Each to their own and it's obvious from reading some of the positive reviews on this restaurant that some people actualy find him amusing and entertaining, i didn't and found him to be quite detestable, so much so that we left without dining so i cannot in all honesty appraise the food. It is constantly busy so it is clear that many females enjoy being belittled and slavvered upon by this man and that if accompanied by a male they too must take great delight in watching their partners bearing the brunt of his sexual advances, i won't tolerate that sort of behaviour and would advise anyone else who doesn't not to visit La Scarpetta.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Load of crap”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The owner parades around stinking of cheap aftershave shouting tippy tippy tippy.
Food was average for a frontline restaurant.
I just wouldn't go back.
This is probably the only totally negative review I have ever left

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Rude and poor food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

we went to this place on the basis of a trip advisor review. We were appalled at the behavior of the owner - no, not wacky but rude - uses humour to molest women. quite disrespectable. funny initially but soon wears very thin with sexual innuendo throughout the evening. Further,the food was poor. I had sardines which must have been in the freezer for months and a pizza which was only adequate. not recommended. There are plenty other restaurants nearby of vastly superior quality

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Scarpetta also viewed

 

Been to La Scarpetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Scarpetta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.