We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for a relaxing week” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Markella Studios & Garden Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Limni Keri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Markella Studios & Garden Suites
Save
You added Markella Studios & Garden Suites to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Limni Keriou, Limni Keri 29100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Limni Keri
Oxfordshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a relaxing week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We spent a week here at the beginning of June. It was our second visit which is unusual as we never go back to the same place twice. The studios are basic but spotlessly clean and are an excellent choice for a relaxing holiday. There are plenty of sunbeds around the pool if you just want to relax and Dimitri and Debbie are marvellous hosts - nothing is too much trouble be it a beer or a snack or information on where to eat or hire a car.
Limni Keriou is a gem. A quiet little place with half a dozen places to eat. Would particularly recommend Keri Taverna, Poseiden (at the far end of the bay) and La Bruschetta Italian restaurant which is inland and has a lovely view of the bay.
There are some good walks - inland to Keri village and the lighthouse. Debbie has written directions. We also hired a boat from Big Blue and explored some of the little coves and turtle island.
Overall a perfect place to chill that doesn't break the bank!

Room Tip: First floor rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    9
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
23
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I, as did Martin, (a previous reviewer) spent a week at the Markella Studios in May and would say his views were almost the same as mine. The only difference would be that I did not, after the first few seconds use, find the shower or curtain to be a problem. All can be overcome.
The cleanliness of the rooms, swimming pool, bar area and grounds could not be faulted. Thank you Lena for your great efforts along with a wonderful smile and the 'good morning' greeting. You do however need a bit of lubricant on those cycle brakes. No need for an alarm. Just wait for Lena turning up to a screeching halt at 8am. It's ok, the dawn chorus earlier had put me in a dream world so I needed something to bring me too.
The hospitality of Dimitri and Debbie is second to none. Thank you both for a fantastic week. Always attentive. Always on hand.
The only problem I did find was do I want a coffee or a beer. Hmmm that's a tough one.
The quiet area of Keri Lake was just what was needed. Bars and restaurants down by the small jetty were so welcoming and good value. The 10 minute walk down to the sea was inter dispersed with kalimera's or a Yassas to/from every local that passed by or were sitting outside the supermarkets or the wonderful cake shop. Hmmm ok it's a coffee this time along with a little cake. Well I say little that's what I told them when I got home.
The Markella Studios. A great location. A great place to relax if that's what you want. Great area for walking. Dimitri will help organise a car if you wish to go off and investigate this wonderful Island.
Again thank you Dimitri, Debbie and Lena for a wonderful weeks leisure and pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We spent a week at the Markella Studios in May '13.

The studios are clean, light and airy with comfy beds and perfectly adequate for a Greek island holiday. Our studio had a balcony that faced the small road that runs past the studios and so it is possible to hear some road noise however the windows and patio doors are of a high standard and we were not disturbed by the small amount of traffic. I've read reviews that some people were disturbed by dogs and cockerels - again, you can hear them (and the odd owl and cat fight) but I don't understand how one could be prevented from sleeping?! We found the noises of the night quite relaxing!

Lena, the friendly maid cleaned the rooms daily and the bedding and towels were changed mid-week. We found this perfectly adequate.

The room has a safe and aircon although in May, we didn't need the aircon. The studio we had was also shielded from the sun by some attractive vegetation around the patio so I suspect the room never gets unbearably hot. If it does, there's the aircon.
There's a small hob with some pots and pans and a fridge. Personally, we don't go on holiday to cook and the excellent tavernas nearby were a far better option than cooking.

Our only gripe with the room was the shower.
The bathroom was clean and we never had any hot water issues. It's typically Greek so very simple. The shower cubicle has an oversized curtain than gathers in the shower tray and generally gets in the way. The curtain itself hangs on a wobbly rail. It is what it is but with a little effort, it could be improved dramatically - new shower screen/shorter curtain that fits a solid rail for example. There's no hook to hang the shower head onto either so you need to hold the showed over you with one hand. The toilet cistern is also a little too large for the room and doesn't quite fit in the space.
All that said, the water was always available, hot and with decent pressure and as I said, the bathroom was kept clean by Lena.

The rest of the property is great (which makes the shower situation stand out more) There's a lovely pool that is regularly cleaned by Dimitri and Lena and plenty of sun loungers with plastic full length cushions. The pool area is surrounded by beautiful gardens with some nice plants and trees so it's very colourful. This area too is regularly swept and kept clean and tidy. We saw a vast array of butterflies and the swallows were having fun skimming the pool for insects and a drink.

There's also a pool bar with a good selection of soft drinks, beers (served in frosted glasses) and spirits as well as tea and coffee. You can also get snacks here although we never had any.
The pool bar is a great place for some sociable drinks in the evening or a coffee in the morning.

Limni Keri is a great little marina with 6 or 7 tavernas, a couple of bakeries, a few small supermarkets, boat trips and boat hire and scuba diving. It's a pleasant 10-15 minute stroll from Markella.
We hired a boat to drive ourselves which was fun. Word of warning, beware how much fuel you will use and ask the boat hire staff to prove what you've used by observing the before and after fuel levels.

Finally, much is written in other reviews about Debbie and Dimitri. They're both excellent hosts and very hospitable, always available to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. They run the Markella extremely well and are both good fun.

The only thing that prevents me giving this a 5 star rating is the shower situation although it definitely didn't spoil our holiday in any way.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We had a wonderful relaxing holiday at the Markella Studios and we will definitely be returning. The rooms are clean and air conditioned and well positioned for a peaceful holiday while being in easy walking distance of the beach and excellent tavernas.
I felt completely at home and the children loved every minute of it. The pool is clean, lovely and very peaceful and Debbie and Dimitris could not do enough to make sure our holiday was special.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We had a wondeful and relaxing stay at Markella Aparthotel (actual name is Markella Studios and Villa Apartments to clear up any confusion when looking for their website).

Bed was comfy, room was clean and perfectly adequate, decent sized pool which was also clean. Location was perfect: quiet (apart from the wildlife) but only a 10 minute walk to the seafront which had the excellent Keri Taverna

Finally Debbi and Dmitri are great hosts, always willing to help out and give advice. I don't normally go back to the same place on holiday, but I'd definitely consider another holiday here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a family run establishment, with definitely that personal touch! Nothing was too much trouble. My apartment was very well equipt, air conditioned, serviced regularly with beautiful views. Lovely swimming pool with no shortage of sunbeds and large parasols. There is a snack bar/bar which serves drinks and delicious snacks including home made mousaka and Greek Salads. It has a lovely atmosphere, is open until midnight and is just the place for a night cap at the end of a lovely day.
The resort of Keri is 10 minutes walk away and is stunning,with a handful of upmarket tavernas,serving the best in Greek cuisine, but certainly not over priced, a couple of bars (no Irish bars to be seen) and two or three small supermarkets. The resort in my opinion is the most picturesque on the island.
A totally relaxing experience, in a wonderful location, welcoming and caring management and staff, Greece at it's best... will return!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Have just got back from Markella this was our 4th visit, and we have booked again to go in August. Debbie Dimitri Kristina and the staff make us so welcome, that we just love to go back. The hotel is set in beautiful gardens, with a large pool. It is so quite and peaceful and is the ideal place to chill out. The rooms are spotless, linen and towels changed regularly and rooms cleaned at regular intervals, by Lena who is always smiling. We feel relaxed the moment Dimitri picks us up from the Airport, he gives us all the news and gossip on the journey to the hotel. The beach, bars and restaurants are only a short walk away, with a real traditional greek village atmosphere. While we were there, we had a visit to their other hotel the Keri Village Hotel, this is truely fantastic place set in the hills, the views and setting are spectacular, with an enormous pool a childs pool and play area, the meal we had was really good and the staff made us more than welcome, this could be and option for the future. Our family are coming back again with us this August, they came last year and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Markella Studios & Garden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Markella Studios & Garden Suites

Address: Limni Keriou, Limni Keri 29100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Limni Keri
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Limni Keri
Hotel Class:3 star — Markella Studios & Garden Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Markella Studios And Garden Suites
Markella Studios & Garden Hotel Limni Keri
Markella Studios & Garden Suites Zakynthos/Limni Keri, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Markella Studios & Garden Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.